We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Scott Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Scott Inn to your Saves list
Fort Scott Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 State St., First and State Street, Fort Scott, KS 66701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Scott
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

me and my mother stayed here its right across the street from her doctor and the price fit into our fixed budget come stay here its amazing people are nice rooms are clean and comfortable location is awsome and quiet first time having to stay here but not dissapointed

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    6
    7
    10
See reviews for
9
7
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clear Lake Iowa USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling thru. We wanted to be close to town to go thru the shops and see the fort. The Inn looks fine from the outside and the lobby. I asked upon check in if they had any upgraded rooms , and the desk clerk said yes. He put us in a room just down from the lobby. In the hallways, the wall paper is ripped off the walls in places. Our room was not updated, it was very tired with an old mattress, dirty chairs, and an old bedspread. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling down, not the plaster, but the paper that covers the sheet rock. There was a 2 ft. square section that was torn and hanging. The bathroom was very grubby. The security lock on the door was broken off. They have a continental breakfast there which we did not choose to eat, it wasnt very appealing.
It was rainy out, we did get a nights sleep and watched the flat screen t v. Any port in the storm, but we would not choose to stay here again. The front desk clerks were very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Scott hotels

Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

After a full day of riding in the wind, I was looking for a place to land. I would have passed this place up except I saw the lower rooms. Upon going inside I found the check-in area to be pretty clean. The lady at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. The price was reasonable compared with other motels I've stayed. I found the room clean. It had a fridge and microwave. The wifi worked very well. It is close to the historic uptown area, which is great since I put a lock on the scooter when it gets parked. The room was missing the TV remote which the front desk was quick to remedy. The room was overall clean. The bed was comfortable. Plenty of hot water. The A/C worked well and was quiet. They also provide shampoo. They do have a continental breakfast. There is a TV in the breakfast room. Overall a good experience. Scooter at the door, right next to uptown and fort. Good walk, good history.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Licking, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are not looking for a "5 Star Hotel" but a nice reasonable priced night stay this will do. The rooms were clean and nice size, bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet room. The front desk personal was very friendly and helpful,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The current owners said they just took over from the previous owners..Iif that the case then the other owners must have been REALLY terrible.

Because of my job i was place here. (I guess it shows how much they think about me).
If you ever wanted to know how an WWE wrestling canvas feel? Just sleep on one of their beds. And if they put you in an outside room and pray that they don't, that's a whole different story. First, you might want to buy a can of Hot Shot for the flies and spiders that come in the room from under the door. The crack was so big I had to put one of the four towels that they give down there. Outdated rooms, one working ice machine and you have to go upstairs to it.

The breakfast is piss-poor at best. And for the price they charge you could drive to Nevada or Pittsburg for a better room. I could go on but you get the picture.

There's no better way to put this....This hotel should be shut down and be used as a Military target for training.

Room Tip: Kerep driving...Don't look back .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family and I just spent 5 days at the Fort Scott Inn, In Fort Scott Kansas. It was AWESOME. Alex, Keri and the rest of the staff were excellent. We had a family reunion in the area and there were several other patrons occupying the facility, however we were treated as if we were the only families there. The rooms were clean, the staff was pleasant, the water was hot and our stay was wonderful. Thank you for making our reunion such a success. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

As in previous reviews the hot water worked in my room so did the ac. No towels in had to go to front desk for them. No HBO even though was on channel selection in room. Remote control needed new batteries. Remote did not work without shaking first. Room was clean and bed was ok. Slept well. I would go back but would not recommend to friends or family. Price is a little high since the breakfast cereal was stale. I ate the fruit nothing else. Over just meeds a little more tlc for customers

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Scott Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Scott Inn

Address: 101 State St., First and State Street, Fort Scott, KS 66701
Location: United States > Kansas > Fort Scott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Fort Scott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Scott Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fort Scott Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Scott Hotel Fort Scott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Scott Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.