We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge

McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge
21 East McDonough Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912 233 6136
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 772 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great atmosphere, highly recommend you try it out! Service was fast and the staff/patrons were very friendly. We made a few stops during our stay for a quick drink...and a to go cup!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    33
    17
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A wee bit of the old world...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great atmosphere....great beer selection..Fantastic wings.

Stay away from the crab soup...everything else I have had was very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Great Neighborhood Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We actually had Christmas dinner here as there were very few restaurants open on Christmas day. We returned later for drinks in the evening. Very friendly atmosphere, good food (both the official buffet) and typical bar food later. The patrons were of all ages. The service was great. It is within the historic district and definitely worth a stop if you'd like a drink among friendly people.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xenaht2000
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“haunted! but great place to grab a to-go beer and walk around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stopped here on our tour and our tour guide told us about the first owner who had a 'ripley's style museum' upstairs of several oddities...he showed us a picture of a picture of a ghost in the bar!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk far away unless you have a sense of humor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We wanted a quick bite before going to the stunning Savannah Theatre. Well this place does not know quick. The male bartender is slow he could not catch a cold. Furthermore he does not know how to make drinks. A martini should have more than a thimbleful in the glass. The pianist, that is a stretch, was diabolical and her voice is best kept to the shower. My beer was awful so I changed to wine, which is hard to mess up. My husband had a burger, which was underdone, not good. The fries were great though. They were preparing for a work holiday party and I feel so sorry for the manager who was trying to keep it together with chaos all around her. She is the only redeeming factor. I hope she finds a place that appreciates her. I believe the owner was at the end of the bar watching the chaos and did nothing to assist except complain it was cold, which it was NOT!!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.