We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average bar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge

McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge
21 East McDonough Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)
912 233 6136
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 786 Restaurants in Savannah
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Evans, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Average bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our waitress was very friendly, however the bartender couldn't even make the simplest drink without messing it up (there's no gin in a cosmo). It is nothing special, but there is a haunted history with the upper level worth learning about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    22
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Come for the Irish atmosphere, but skip the food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We started our evening ghost tour at this pub. Beer was good, service was good, ghost tour was great. Just go for drinks. The food could be a lot better.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Bar with that neighborhood feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Celebrated there after a friends wedding and felt right at home. Even had the opportunity to meet some great local folks and have enjoyed the continued friendship.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place! Awesome Locals and good vibes..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had a great time here just hanging by the brew for a few right before our blue orb tour on Halloween!! I met travel agent who is a local and she just charmed out of our minds with her perks and secrets and we met a nice a Couple Philly!! good vibes! and great bar spot away from the tourist traps!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They have Guiness & a cool atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stopped here on the boos & brews ghost tour. Has a nice laid back vibe. Good place to grab a beer and hang out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McDonough's Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.