We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   I-95 & SR 204 East Ex. 94, 16 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
1 review
“vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

clean and comfortable beds it was affordable price and hotel was well kept also Nice, brand new property. Everything was great! Guest services representatives were professional, and the breakfast was good. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: near by midtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Denise S.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always a pleasure to get from our guest.

The Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway was totally renovated in December 2012 and we are glad that you approve of the changes.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    37
    11
    13
See reviews for
107
91
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The stay was decent. Two reasons this establishment gets a rating this high is due to it being one of the newer hotels in the area and one key staff person who greeted us at the front desk upon checking in. Otherwise, I would not consider this hotel. The remaining staff, particularly the morning crew, are horrible, inconsiderate, rude and lazy. The room was ordinary and clean at first glance. However, there were some unpleasant discoveries looking under the hood. I would like to take credit for noticing the inept staff, but to everyone's credit reading this post, it was the key staff person who gave us the scoop on the remaining staff. We thought she was joking, but nope it was true and we witnessed firsthand.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the first floor. Very noisy and the indoor pool and spa is located between t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Colby L.

Thank you so much for your comments. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was anything less than 100% satisfactory.

Since your comments we are in the process of re-training our staff on all areas of their job duties and responsibilities in order to ensure that our guest enjoy their stay with us.

We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the worst Country Inn we stayed at. We often have pleasant stays at this brand so I booked it for an overnight as we drove to Florida. Insde it doesn't even look like other Country Inns - there is no open staircase off the lobby. The stairs are concrete behind a door that is hard to open. The room was large but a mix of old and new. The popcorn ceilings and walls were ugly but the furniture and lamps were modern. The room had an odd smell about it that was unpleasant. The bathroom had a stained toilet, one end of the tub was on an incline. It needs a rehab. The pull out bed was right next to the A/C unit so whoever slept there froze. The beds were ok. Breakfast was dismal. The hot water for tea was lukewarm. I never saw soggy sausages before. The french toast looked equally soggy. The mini muffin saved my stomach. There other hotels in that area, I will choose another next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ariele A.

Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate hearing from our guest about their visits with us. I am disappointed that your stay with not satistactory.

We are in the process of making a number os changes at the hotel in addition to more staff training.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 children on our drive down to Florida. We purchased a room via Priceline and were able to check-in without a hitch. In fact, the front desk was staffed with wonderful, friendly young folks who were very helpful. We were given a room on the first floor, not far from the elevators and the pool. Our room didn't have any negative smells like I've seen some others mention here. It smelled clean and was pleasant. I was worried about being so close to the elevators due to how loud rooms by the elevator often are at hotels, but that wasn't even a problem at all. There was some noise from pool traffic (not from the actual pool itself, but people walking down the hall to get there) but that subsided by 8p-ish and was no big deal for us.

As noted by others, the pool is definitely smaller than it looks in some of the photos. But it was clean and the size was fine for swimming around and for the kids to play. You can't do laps, but it's a decent recreational pool. The kids enjoyed it, but I was really looking forward to the hot tub... Unfortunately it was more like a "cool tub!" It was lukewarm, at best. (Clean, but definitely not hot!) That's the only part of our stay here that could have been better.

Otherwise, we had a really nice stay here. We almost always select hotels that offer free breakfast since we have three HUNGRY teenage-ish boys! :) This free breakfast buffet was a really good one: make-your-own belgian waffle station, eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal, yogurt. Nothing gourmet, but tasty. It definitely beat hitting a greasy ole Hardee's or McD's on the way out of town! The staff did a great job at keeping items replenished and maintaining a clean appearance in the dining area. One of them actually introduced herself to us and told us that we should just let her know if there was anything we needed. At other hotels, it's often difficult to even find nearby staff and the food tends to be a little picked-over and pathetic... but not here!

Most of all, we were really WOWed by the service. They were great here and we'd definitely stay again on our way through town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Spcialgirl,

Thank you so much for letting us knowing about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We are trying to figure out what is going on with the temperature in the hot tub and we think we have finally found the problem and it's being repaired this coming week.

We are looking forwrd to see you and your family again in the future,

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in a row, and it really was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The room was very clean, had a nice smell, and was in excellent condition. The front desk person was Quincy, who was very friendly and helpful. The pool and spa was indoor and very nice. The food selection at breakfast was good as well. We were very impressed to see the workers proactive with what was needed. VERY IMPRESSED all around. Will definitely stay here again. = )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear RBvacationer,

Wow!! Thank you so much for the great reviews. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certainly looking forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Great location for an overnight stay in our way to fl. Located off of 95. Customer service was wonderful had a problem with our room and without hesitation they gave us a new room which was fine with me. And as i was checking out thr manager then gave me 5000 reward points for my inconvenience. Rooms where clean and the breakfast was decent i have had better. We have decided the next time we go to fl this is where we are going to stay as a halfway point.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear flochis,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and we are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

We are also glad to hear that our manager was able to resolve any situation you had.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel because I purchased a Groupon. The room was very good overall! However, the walls are very thin so you hear a lot of noise. There is a "balcony" on the second floor that overlooks the lobby. It is pretty but if your room is nearby you hear all of the lobby noise. Request a room near the middle or rear of the hotel to avoid hearing that noise!

The housekeeping closet is near the elevators, too. That is another reason to avoid rooms near the elevator! The cleaning crew will certainly keep you awake with all of their chatter and banter. You also get to hear every conversation guests are having as they get off the elevator.

We arrived around midnight and check-in was uneventful. They were completely sold out (due to the Groupon I assume). The staff was helpful but not very professional. Hence all of the laughter and talking we heard all morning while trying to sleep in. Housekeeping was at our door at 9:30 a m. Why? We weren't checking out until the following day. My children were still asleep because they had a long night.

I would stay here again for the Groupon price but would not pay full price. There is a Hampton Inn next door that would get my business if I has to stay in the area again.

In summary, a nice, clean place overall but still a ways to go to compete with hotels nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Trudy234,

Thank you for letting us hear about your recent visit wih us.

I apologize for all of the inconveniences your experienced during your stay with us.

We are in the process of more thorough trainging with our staff in regards to noise complaints as making sure they understand to keep their voices down when in the hallways and at the frotn desk.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway

Address: I-95 & SR 204 East Ex. 94, 16 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Savannah
#24 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Country Inn & Suites Hotel in SavannahWith a convenient location just off I-95 and services designed for a productive stay, the brand-new 100% non-smoking facility Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway Hotel is the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. Our Savannah, GA hotel's guests can take advantage of free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a complimentary breakfast buffet and on-site facilities like a Fitness Center and Business Center. Each of our Savannah hotel rooms features a microwave, a refrigerator and modern furnishings for guests' comfort. Plan your stay today and experience one of the best hotels in Savannah, Georgia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Savannah Hotel Savannah
Clarion Inn And Suites Savannah
Clarion Hotel Savannah
Clarion Savannah
Savannah Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Savannah Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.