We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great employees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8484 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31406   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Valley Cottage, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great employees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this location on our way to Florida. The location was great but the employees were outstanding. Maquita was extremely helpful withe the WIFI and checking us in. Kathy was also very helpful in getting us on the shuttle to tour Savannah (use Old Savannah Tours) and Bridget was a multi tasker. Constantly cleaning and keeping the lobby area in fine shape. The rooms, for the price was a great deal. The carpets in the room need some attention but other than that it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    152
    58
    28
    22
See reviews for
141
138
23
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel should have earned a 4 or 5, but i'm giving it a 2 and i thought about giving it a 1. I'll cut to the chase: the shower handle didn't work (or, at best, was so temperamental i couldn't get it to work). No water in the tub, no water from the shower. My wife and i got no showers during our stay. That's a fundamental flaw. It's too bad, because they do so many things right at this place: the staff is cheerful and helpful, the room was pretty, the location on Abercorn Street is convenient, the breakfast lounge looks like a restaurant, and the price is right. So much good. I would've given them a higher mark even if the tub faucet worked and the shower didn't! But a guest needs to be able to clean themself. The manager called me a week later (very good customer service, that) and insisted that they tested the shower after my complaint and were able to turn it on. Even if that's true (and i'm not convinced that it is), it still raises doubts about the hotel's choice of plumbing fixtures. I've stayed in a lot of hotels, on 4 different continents, and i realize that for some showers, you have to take the time to figure them out. I'm not against taking a few minutes to figure out how a shower works, although some would say i shouldn't have to. But if (as here) a shower resists my efforts to learn its controls, that's a serious problem.

Room Tip: Ask to test the shower before they give you the room. And later, when you take your first bath or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Average hotel. Nothing fancy. Hotel was fairly clean. Rooms compact. Staff very friendly and helpful! Heads up : walls are paper thin! Ok for an overnight stay but wouldn't recommend for more than that.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight at La Quinta Inn on a quick trip to pick up our college student for Winter Break. The inn was easily accessible to AASU, our son's school. The room was overall clean with the exception of a sticky rug in an out of the way spot. The mattress on the King sized bed was luxurious. The roll-away bed was painful, by contrast. The desk staff was excellent! I dealt with Night, Morning, and Afternoon Receptionists; each was cordial, helpful, and efficient. The place was being renovated and our room rate was a DEAL! We felt we could endure a paint smell in the halls for one night. We have reserved a room again for our January student drop-off trip. The handicapped accessibility of our room was very adequate. A shower chair was provided. We had a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What an amazing experience we had with front desk clerk Samantha. You could tell she genuinely loved working with customers. We WILL come back to this hotel, not because of anything other than what a pleasure it was to work with Samantha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Sometimes you find that special hotel that goes the extra mile to make your stay comfortable and a positive experience. We definitely found it!! We've stayed at various places (my husband and I are both retired military) that were a lot more expensive and didn't measure up to our stay at this La Quinta. No, you aren't going to find the location quiet (as far as traffic goes), but you will discover a team of caring, professional staff that goes the extra mile to make your stay a happy, stress-free one. Great place and value! Your 4-legged babies will be happy you picked here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside

Address: 8484 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31406
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Savannah
#37 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For affordable accommodations and convenient access to area attractions, come to the La Quinta Inn Savannah Southside, located just six miles south of the historic district/River Street and only half a mile from Hunter Army Base. We are pet friendly, and the front desk is open 24-hours, with fax/copy services available. A Free Bright Side BreakfastTM awaits you mornings in the lobby along with a copy of USA Today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside Hotel Savannah
La Quinta Inn And Suites Savannah Southside
La Quinta Savannah
Savannah La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Savannah Southside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.