We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in Midtown Savannah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Lee Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #51 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable in Midtown Savannah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our first contact at the desk was Shannon: pleasant, efficient and most welcoming. In fact, the entire staff was friendly and helpful, especially Miss Beverly, the breakfast hostess. Everyone treated us like family. The hotel is an older building but updated and well maintained. Very clean inside and out. Located in a good area with easy access to and from the freeway (I-516) and easy drive (4 miles) to downtown. Plenty of free parking near our room. We will certainly use this hotel next time, too.

Room Tip: First two floors easy elevator access to outside room entry, third floor has inside corridor to room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We always enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences and are delighted when they have a great stay with us. We take pride in the people we invite to be a part of our team and are always glad to hear when we they go above and beyond.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    109
    67
    26
    25
See reviews for
145
140
10
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I booked this hotel through priceline, as I generally do with all rooms anymore. I was glad the winning bid was a Marriott property as I generally put a great amount of faith in their brand.

That said, for all this hotel didn't have going for it, they have a wonderful staff that makes up for it.

As other reviews have mentioned over and over this is a fairly old property, with small rooms, doors that open to the outside (as in outside outside), and in need of new furniture and major bedding upgrades. While I agree with all of that, in all fairness this is a 2.5 star hotel, not a signature location. It's partially my fault for expecting a silk purse from a sow's ear, and I accept that. For what it wasn't, it definitely was clean, kept up, and the breakfast exceeded my expectations, and that had everything to do with the staff. They truly did go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and well taken care of.

I think the fact that the place is getting such great reviews even from people who have so much negative to say about the property itself is very encouraging. While I personally prefer a higher hotel grade than this one offers, I would not hesitate to stay here again on a layover or during a time (like spring break) when rooms are scarce/expensive, based on the cleanliness of rooms and the level of service offered here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We always enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences and are delighted when they have a great stay with us.

We will soon be in the process of some upgrades to the property....so keep you eyes on us the next time you are in the area.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn on Lee Blvd. in Savannah and had a great time. Staff was more than welcoming and helpful. Great continental breakfast, and manager's reception was a nice perk! Rooms were adequate for tourists. Nice pool. Quiet. Shuttle picked us up at the hotel and took us to Visitor's Center. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel was well maintained for an older property. Front desk clerk from the islands was extremely nice and helpful. Exterior door entrances a la motel was unexpected. Tiny bathrooms. We check in late and checked out early. Grabbed some breakfast items to continue our trip to Florida.
Housekeeper was pleasant. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We always enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences and are delighted when they have a great stay with us.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was expecting better rooms being this is a Marriott brand hotel.

Positives- (not in any particular order)
*rooms were VERY clean (I did the Hotel Impossible inspection)
*clean parking area
*felt safe
*fresh backed cookies and lemonade upon arrival
*clean pool
*friendly staff (day and night shift)
*Nice (free) breakfast- minus the biscuits and gravy... GAK!
*reasonable price

Negatives-
*beds seemed old and were sagging terribly in the middle. Probably one of the most uncomfortable beds I've EVER slept in!
*bathrooms were like a shoebox in size
*people above us sounded like a herd of elephant walking around until 12:30am
*pool wasn't heated
*finding the ice machine was like going on a treasure hunt (YOU NEED SIGNS!)
*unstable internet connection (barely got a connection in my room)
*no microwave or fridge
*biscuits and gravy tasted horrible
*kids took over the pool
*same kids took over lobby computers for facebook
*same kids ate all the popcorn. I had to ask for fresh popcorn, then he didn't salt it.

Room Tip: STAY ON THE TOP FLOOR! Otherwise you'll hear EVERYTHING going on above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie L, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We always enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences and are delighted when they have a great stay with us.

We will soom begin some upgrades and changes to the hotel....so keep an eye on us when in the area.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Respectfully,
Laurie A. Lawrence
President of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This older Fairfield has great staff who greet you and genuinely seem to want to help. The property, whilst a little dated, is well maintained and offers great value for money in a good location.

The Manager's reception, which offered soup, salad, cheese and bread during our stay, was very welcome and the fresh cookies at reception were yummy. Breakfast was also good and we liked individual packs of cereal and a choice of waffle irons (you could make small ones). They also offered Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches and other usual items you would expect.

On past visits to Savannah we have stayed at expensive hotels in the historic district. I won't do that again but I would return to this particular Fairfield. Two nights after this stay we stayed at a new Fairfield which, although nice, felt very impersonal and it made us comment how important are the staff and the interaction with guests. The one at Lee Road, Savannah is blessed with great staff.

True the bathroom is small, but there is everything you need for a good short stay. We really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We slept one night in this hotel. Customer service was outstanding! After arriving at nearly 4am after searching endlessly for a room inthr area, we were greeted by a friendly attending. She even offered us food after noticing we were desperately looking for a bite to eat from the vending machine. Nice and simple rooms and the breakfast was better than most other hotels. Sometimes is worth it to pay a little more.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown

Address: 2 Lee Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn by Marriott Savannah Midtown is an ideal propoerty for both business and leisure travelers. Located in Savannah's midtown area guests are close to shopping, dinning and local businesses while still being only 4.5 miles from the Historic District. Our warm and friendly staff will welcome you with true Southern style. Our 130 guest rooms are comfortably appointed and include comfortable touches of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Fairfield Inn Savannah
Fairfield Savannah
Savannah Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Savannah Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.