We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #68 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We just checked in and I found HAIR IN THE SHEETS. Husband went and got another set. HAIR IN THOSE sheets also. Hair in the sink. Bathtub black with dirt. Room overall is the dirtiest I've ever stayed in and I travel frequently.
AVOID at all costs. There are 20 hotels in this one mile radius. There has got to be something better than this craphole.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Rakdoo,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences and on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with the room cleanliness. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    26
    30
    17
See reviews for
60
38
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stay at many Holiday Inn Express Hotels when traveling, this one was by far the BEST! Room was super clean, bathroom was spotless, and breakfast area was superior. The minute I walked into the door the friendly staff greeted me and treated me like gold! Not sure on Managers names (sp) but I think Allison and Vimal, were exceptional! I will be visiting this location again on upcoming trips!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear MSUC1, We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our property! I will ensure that Alison and Vimal know that they made a lasting impression.
We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stopped here on my way to Florida from Virigina.

I walked into the Lobby that evening and even though there was a "be right back" sign. I still had to wait 10 minutes for the front desk clerk to show up.

The room was clean, but obviously worn. The Jacuzzi tub was a nice touch had it not looked so worn out. The suite was great, but there were cobwebs and strange holes in the ceiling. The room really could have used a dehumidifyer. The air conditioner worked, but everything felt clammy. Here, too, I locked myself in the bedroom for the night because the rest of the hotel seemed so empty even though the lot was full. I loved the restaurants that were within walking distance.

Breakfast was OK.

The staff, however, was super friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear ThreeWeTravel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff and breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the jacuzzi condition, cleanliness and customer service. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, FL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I was traveling with my elderly handicapped mother and had a good experience with HIE in other cities, but this place is nothing like the others were. This was some very old place that has been changed into a HIE and our room was musty and damp. We had a "suite," which meant there was a front room with a door that closed, but the a/c never worked right in the front room. In the main room, I discovered in the middle of the night that the a/c drain was backing up on the carpet and I got my socks soaked (and dirty). I was not happy to deal with this in the middle of the night when just trying to use the bathroom. The water was out at least 6-8 feet from the a/c unit in the wall, so this did not just happen overnight.

Even more disconcerting is having booked a handicapped room, but this had some Jacuzzi tub thing that was nearly impossible for mom to step over. I had to help her in and out, although there was a fold down seat, rails, and a handheld shower head.

Breakfast was the typical HIE fare, but no fresh fruit and the pancake machine was broken. The hallways were hot and musty, too.

There are a dozen or more hotels at this one interchange. Skip this one.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the experience you incurred at our hotel. The hotel is older but we are constantly making upgrades to appease our guests. I hope you view this experience as isolated, and not indicative of the service we strive to provide. Our pancake machine had a part that was not working and it was on order; it is now working again. Again, I sincerely apologize and hope you give us another chance when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barefoot Bay
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stop at this HIE on our way from NJ to FL and was quite surprised. Arrived around 10pm, no reservation and asked for an available room. Was given the Priority Club Member price and registered for the room. Entered our room to find it was a suite. What a pleasant surprise, very nice stay at this hotel. Nice breakfast in the morning, eggs, sausage links, toast, bagels, cereal, etc. Good stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We are lucky you chose to stay with us during your travels on the east coast. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us while in Savannah. We want all of our guest to have the same experience as you did. The staff is committed to quality and ensuring each guest has a memorable stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The room reeked of a musty mildew odor, and another strange odor coming from the air conditioning unit. The interior look was very outdated with old furniture and fixtures which was not equivalent to the same renovated look and feel of the lobby and corridors.There was direct evidence of mildew stains around the electrical outlets and the ceiling near the window which leads me to believe there is mold in the walls. Our concern was that we and other visitors do not contract some type of respiratory or health issues related to the mold problems. In addition, the curtain valance was torn and hanging on the right hand side. The bathroom was very dirty; in which, the Jacuzzi tub had black dingy stains to the point where in order to take a shower, we had to place a towel at the base of the tub to stand on in order to not catch a foot fungus.The chrome fixtures within the tub (i.e., faucet, handle, and shower head) were rusty and very dirty. The grout and caulking within the tub walls and floor of the bathroom was also unsightly and dirty, and had a very strong smell of urine.You could visibly see yellow stains of urine droplets on the floor. Ultimately, the bathroom looked and smelled as if it had not been cleaned on several occasions or at all. The entire room gave the feeling of being in a fly-by-night motel rather than a hotel. As far as the bedding goes, we were hesitant to sleep under the sheets, so we slept in our clothes on top of the bed sheets to avoid potentially catching bed lice or anything else for that matter because the condition of the room we reserved was an overall health hazard.

Room Tip: Don't select this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the stay you encounter while in Savannah at our hotel. We have addressed all your concerns and will ensure this does not happen to any future guests. I am embarrassed that your stay was not 100% satisfactory and this is not what I want my guest to experience while staying with us. I hope to gain your loyalty back to the brand and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stay here for business travel when in Savannah. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi tub in the last room needed work. The floor of the tub was discolored and the controls were missing. Wouldn't have used it anyway. Some TLC and the hotel would be good as new. Overall it is a good place to stay 1) for business travel or 2) if traveling on I-95.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
We certainly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and hope to see you again. I will definitely address your concerns with my staff and work very hard to improve on those items. Next time you are at the hotel ask for me and I will ensure your next is even more memorable. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95

Address: 17 Gateway Boulevard East, Savannah, GA 31419
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95. Savannah Georgia is a city that overflows with 'Southern Hospitality', historic landmarks and flourishing gardens. A city you'll want to come back to time and time again! You may choose to visit the Historic District of beautiful downtown Savannah, River Street or experience the beauty of the palmy beaches of nearby Tybee Island. If shopping is your choice, almost any part of the city will meet your needs. There are the tiny antique shops and quaint boutiques of the Historic District and department stores of the Southside. When it comes to dining, Savannah has something for everyone, offering the best Southern Cuisine in the Upstate. Your choices of casual to fine dining are unlimited. We are conveniently located right off of I-95, just fifteen minutes from Savannah International Airport and the Downtown Historic Savannah / River Street. Our hotel offers spacious meeting rooms and an executive boardroom making us Southside Savannah's place to meet. All our 2 room suites, which were recently renovated, will meet the needs of the single, couple, family or wheelchair accessible traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Savannah-Conf Center @ i-95
Holiday Inn Express Savannah
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Savannah South I-95, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.