We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Patrick's Day Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Savannah Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Savannah Midtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5710 White Bluff Road, Savannah, GA 31405 (Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Avon Lake, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“St. Patrick's Day Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked our room at the Residence Inn Savannah Midtown all the way back in August 2011 in anticipation of our first visit to Savannah on St. Patrick's Day. We asked the hotel staff at that time if there would be transportation available down to the River Walk and the parade festivities as we were aware parking would be a nightmare. We were told a shuttle would be available to guests. Imagine our surprise when we arrived 3/16/12 and were told the shuttle would be $20 per person!! The shuttle bus was provided by Old Savannah Tours. The shuttle drivers were very patient and accomodating but the schedule for pickups and dropoffs was very frustrating. A shuttle would appear to drop folks off, but despite being told the shuttles would pick up every 30 to 45 minutes at designated hotels, riders were not permitted on the shuttles and we often waited much longer for a pickup than what was advertised. The Residence Inn was clean and well managed. Staff was friendly and professional. There is a lovely open courtyard with a fire pit, chairs and tables in a center area. Unfortunately, our room was on the first floor looking out into the courtyard. As you can imagine with the St. Patrick's Day crowd, the courtyard was party central all night 3/16/12 and 3/17/12. We got very little sleep with the loud talking, laughing and carrying on. I think the management should warn those with first floor rooms near the courtyard about the all night partying. If it is a problem for guests, possibly a room on the far side of the hotel could be offered. Another option is to close the courtyard at 2:30a.m. and folks could move the party inside to the beautiful TV area off of the lobby. If those ideas are not possible, maybe free earplugs should be placed in those rooms closest to the courtyard. We loved Savannah and really enjoyed the parade. We would definitely stay at the Residence Inn Midtown again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    47
    17
    15
    6
See reviews for
48
40
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hiram, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over St. Patty's weekend. At first we were bummed that we could not get a hotel in the historic district for the weekend but as soon as we checked in we were no longer disappointed! This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at that called the room about ten minutes after we checked in to see if there was anything we needed and to ask how we liked the room. The room we great. I loved that the shower and toilet were in a separate room from the sink and vanity. The front desk also provided us with phone numbers to 4 different cab companies. We will for sure stay at Residence Inn again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Cal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Whenever possible our family stays at a Residence Inn. Our experiences are alway positive, including this stay. Rooms are comfortable, nicely laid out, and well kept. Food is excellent.
(you have to try the homemade chocolate chip cookies !)

The staff is top notch, very friendly and customer service oriented. Always ready to assist with a smile. The location is close to shopping and restaurants. If you are considering between this location and the Residence Inn in the Historic District be aware that this location is a quick trip to the historic district and the cost is a LOT less than the the Historic District location...with FREE parking.

My only concern is that there are only two washers and dryers for the entire building. Not too convenient if many are trying to do their laundry.

Sending out high compliments to the young lady at the front desk who is expecting. I do not recall her name. She is a shining star :)

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor room. I could tell when the room above us was occupied. Not horrible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was probably the best Marriott we have ever stayed at!! We stayed 5 nights in a 2 bedroom unit. We have never experienced hospitality the way we experienced it here!! This is the only place we have ever stayed where housekeeping left us a note thanking us for the tip we left!!!
We saved a ton of money by eating one big meal out early in the afternoon and eating at the nightly reception (lightly) at night. There was a young lady at night (I am embarrassed to say we didn't get her name) who was so great....she brought us our food, drinks, and kept asking if there was anything she could get us. She was a true sweetheart.
All the staff was exceptional. Now I know the true meaning of "southern hospitality".
The hotel was located in a very nice area, right near a shopping plaza, a Fresh Market store, and only about 4 miles from the historic district of Savannah. It's very conveniently located to everything you may want to do!
We loved it there and highly recommend it to everyone!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We recently stayed twice at this Residence Inn, while driving to and from Florida just after Christmas. I had also read some slightly negative comments before our arrival, but honestly, this is a lovely place! We are regular Residence Inn users, and this hotel had been recently renovated. Our studio room was spacious and great bright decor and very clean. We enjoyed the managers special on both nights, with light and delicious meals.
First night we had bratwurst in a bun with beans, salad and all the beer and wine you wanted.
Second visit we had leek and potato soup with tea biscuits and salad and again, all the drinks you waned. It was lovely to save on dinner for those 2 nights!

There is NO noise from the road to speak of. And the airforce base across the road was extremely quiet when we were there. Actually we would have loved to have seen helicopters flying around! Another big plus was that we just drove down the road this hotel was on and went straight into the historic district. Very easy to get to.

I would give this particular hotel high marks!

Room Tip: If booking a studio room, ask for a room with 2 windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Stayed for a week and was very pleased. Nice spacious room.Good breakfast with several options including waffles.Complimentary managers light evening meals during the week were a nice treat..tacos. chilli.pasta.All workets were very nice and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Eustis, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My family & I stayed here overnight en route to Sarasota, FL. Our guestroom had 2 bedrooms, fireplace, full kitchen. The rooms were clean, decor modern yet functional. Perfect for traveling with children. The rooms are very spacious. They offer a reception in the evening. Which is a good idea, problem is.. They kept running out of food. Not within hours. Minutes, literally. If you plan to enjoy the reception be downstairs NLT 5:30 and sit there and wait. Breakfast is a crowded time also. I must admit they have a wonderful menu. I guess that's why the food go so quickly. When my family and I PCS to Savannah, we'll more than likely stay here again. It would be nice if they offered full size bars of soap in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Get a room as close as possible to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Savannah Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Savannah Midtown

Address: 5710 White Bluff Road, Savannah, GA 31405
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Avalon/Oglethorpe Mall Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#41 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Savannah Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Savannah Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Savannah Midtown Hotel Savannah
Savannah Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Savannah Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.