We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #11 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Historic District during our February vacation, and I've never been to a hotel that went above & beyond my expectations this much. Everything about our stay was perfection!

The staff was great and always willing to answer a question or make a recommendation. The hotel itself is beautifully renovated- great new decor that's modern yet historic, with an inviting lobby and a nice rooftop pool deck. We asked the front desk for a nice view and they delivered; we loved the top floor, corner room with a nice river view. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was very helpful for our three-night stay, and the room has fantastic built-ins that make it feel even more spacious. I also have to say the breakfast here was better than any hotel breakfast buffet I've had. The food was fresh with a good variety, and a meal in their sunny breakfast room was the perfect way to start our days.

We returned our rental car so I have no opinion about the parking ($15/night for valet sounds very reasonable in a city), but each time we entered or left the hotel we were greeted with a smile by the valets. I never saw any trace of the rudeness others may have experienced.

The location really can't be beat. You won't regret staying here- this Hampton has the perfect combination of great design, history, friendly staff, and convenience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    379
    94
    40
    8
See reviews for
283
550
34
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I was so impressed with this Hampton Inn...location, staff, breakfast, accommodations, , etc. From the moment we called to make a last minute reservation (we were literally on our way to the hotel), we were treated to the best possible service. We asked for a "good view" and we were given the best view in the house - overlooking the river. Mary, the concierge, seemed genuinely happy to see us each time we visited her desk and was most helpful by suggesting "must see" places during our all too brief stay. The breakfast was top-notch and warm chocolate chip cookies were waiting for us every afternoon. The front desk staff and bellmen/valets were very friendly and always willing to assist. The tour bus stop was right outside the front door...making it super easy to get around town when we didn't feel like walking. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

When we arrived to check in your front desk people highly recommended we use the hotels Valet parking service since parking was pretty rare in the area they said. We tried 4 times over 2 days to use the valet, but each time it was super slow, the workers (except 1 nice young lady who was black) had horrible attitudes and when we gave up (after being screamed at by them) and parked in a lot across the street we found the valets in the parking deck, talking on their phone, hanging out and holding tons of car keys- this happened every time we went to retrieve our self parked car. The promised wait time was 10 minutes for valet service, we were told to call from our room and the car will be ready when you get downstairs. Each time we called and asked for our car, then went downstairs in 10 minutes only to be asked the same info from the valet and a even longer than 10 minute wait from that point. It is acceptable when things back up, but each time we were the only customer needing our car! The valets were very unfriendly and very unprofessional. We ended up haying the $15.00 per day valet fee, as well as self parking fees due to the valets incompetence. The housekeeping and food service folks were very nice and helpful, but the petite black front desk girl had an attitude and looked you up and down every time you approached her desk, then blew you off when you asked any questions. We stay at Hampton Inns all over the country, and frankly, this was the worse one for front desk and valet service. We were impressed with the gal who handled the breakfast buffet each day and the nice man who served cocktails in the evenings. And all the housekeepers were super friendly and helpful. The rooms doors were very heavy and slammed quite loudly if you did not hold the door, which = disturbed sleep!! I give you a 7 out of 10 just because some of the other workers were so nice they made up for the ones who were not!

* My ratings for this hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010 via mobile

Charge for parking. Very intrusive. Will not let you park your own car. They insist in taking your keys and parking across the street. Rude ft. Desk staff

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

You could easily mistake the lobby and room decor of this Hampton Inn for a Marriott or Hilton. Elegant woods and tasteful decorations are a major surprise and are very pleasing. Underground valet parking ($15) is a bonus as this Inn is within the Historic District and most attractions are an easy walk from the front door. Mary Hurn is the congenial concierge who seems to know everything worth knowing about Savannah. She is fun to just sit down with and chat. A true delight. If you are anywhere near Savannah, a side trip to this hotel may be the highlight of your visit to South Georgia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I stayed at the Hampton Inn over Valentine's Day weekend with my boyfriend and our experience couldn't have been better! From the moment we arrived at the hotel and got up to our room (7th floor with a view of the river!) we knew we had picked the right one.

It was a beautifully decorated hotel with an elegant and spacious lobby. The free continental breakfast was a huge plus and open until 10:00 AM. The 24/7 tea and coffee and cookies in the lobby were little touches that made our stay that much more special.

The service was outstanding. One night I wanted to surprise my boyfriend by ordering a bottle of champagne to our room. I called the concierge and asked if they could bring up a bottle of champagne from the bar downstairs. The front desk clerk told me the bar had already closed but would call the hotel across the street and ask if they had any champagne bottles available. Turns out they did and since it was Valentine's Day weekend the bottle was on the house! 10 minutes later the front desk clerk was at our door delivering the tasty champagne. It was such a surprising treat.

The location was exceptional! The price of our room reflected how convenient everything was from the hotel but it was definitely worth it. In 2 minutes you could be walking along river street and enjoy the restaurants and bars. We were also located about a minute from the Olde Pink House which was a splurge but absolutely delicious!

Thank you so much for your amazing service and genuine southern hospitality! We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We were really impressed with your hotel. Very clean, fantastic service--felt so comfortable from the moment we walked in. Front desk people excellent--Michelle, Lavernita, others when we checked in. Breakfast included, 24/7 coffee and tea, internet in lobby, chocolate chip cookies in the evening everything clean and welcoming. Location across from Factors Walk and being on the main street for restaurants was tremendous. Price was great too. Room was good--didn't know there would be microwave, fridge, coffee maker in the room--and they were accessible but not tacky like some places. Made my day!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.