We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Hampton Inn. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good and a great ammenity to have. The location was great. We were able to walk where ever we wanted to go!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you! Our breakfast team really does go above and beyond to make the breakfast experience wonderful for our guests. I will let them know how they made such a positive impact on your stay. See you soon!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    420
    105
    43
    9
See reviews for
320
625
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Rooms are clean and most of the staff is quite nice however the bed and beddings are awful. mattresses feel very springy and cheap and the sheets will pop off the upper corners when you lay on the bed. Great location to just exit out the hotel door and walk the historic district.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying away from the elevator rooms near the second floor. The duct work is shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback!! I am so happy that you found our location very accommodating for your needs. I will see if we can look into getting better protection for the noise by the elevator. I have not had any complaints in the past, however we will definitely address this now that it has come to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I visit Savannah GA at least 3 times throughout the year - Feb, July and Dec. We always stay at the Hampton Inn on Bay and Abercorn. This is the most convenient and well-kept hotel in the area. The staff is wonderful and very friendly and helpful.

We just recently visited for our 19 yr wedding anniversary. The best part of this particular trip was the horse drawn carriage ride that the concierge Carroll Inglis set up for us personally. She did a super job of getting us the timeframe we wanted as well as coordinated dinner arrangements for us at Uncle Bubba's restaurant. She went out of her way to make sure everything was set up to our satisfaction. The following day she saw me and asked specifically about the carriage ride and how we enjoyed the experience. Great personal touch and I really appreciated it.

Definitely would stay here again and recommended this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best, have the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Wow! Reviews such as these are the best! Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us. I am so happy that we have served you well throughout the years, and it is a pleasure to have you as our guest. See you again next year.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had driven 9 hours and were concerned about finding a hotel at such a late hour. Trip Advisor came through again and steered towards the last available room in this hotel. We thought the hotel had reasonable rates for its location. You can avail yourself of the valet parking if you like, but right across the street you can park for $3 a night (however, if you leave it is $3 once again to return).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

TripAdvisor is the way to go! It is great to hear that we did not disappoint you, let you down with the expectations our guest have come to expect. I hope you have another opportunity to stay with us, and the experience will be even better.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I recently took my mother on a small trip to Savannah. Her friend recommend this hotel.

Well, it was a great recommendation. The hotel meets all the requirements to be a great hotel.

The location was perfect. Everything was in walking distance and in the very popular and safe riverfront area.

That staff was super friendly and there was that warm southern hospitably you hear about. Of special note was Cathy who was the concierge. She pointed out some hidden gems that worth visiting.

The hotel was very clean and they worked very hard at this. There was always someone walking around the property cleaning.

Some of the extras they give you for free, yes free...
Coffee, hot chocolate and water all day.
Fruit like bananas and apples all day long.
Cookies at 5 pm.
Continental breakfast in the morning.

All were nice perks that made this trip really special.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are not to noisy and are worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

What awesome feedback! This is the experience we strive for all our beloved guests to have while at our property. It is great that you had the chance to take advantage of all our great amenities. Thank you for your loyalty and support, and we cannot wan't for another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee center, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great staff, perfect location, clean rooms, some noise between rooms. Stay on an upper floor to avoid street noise. Breakfast was adequate. The staff made the stay welcoming and comfortable. Rooftop pool a plus when it is warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest:

Thank you for your support. I'm happy that you got a chance to take advantage of our rooftop pool. The view is awesome! See you next time.

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed 2 nights on coldest days of the year. In town for a concert. 3 people in 2 rooms. Unable to get rooms close together. On different floors. Our room overlooked Bay St. Not much street noise [weather?], but I wear ear plugs anyway. Room was large, as was the bathroom. Only 1 sink, but lots of counter space. Other persons toilet would not shut off. When manager notified, she got 1/2 off the room rate. Lots of towels and wash cloths. Neutrogena bath products. Good shower pressure. Comforters on Queen beds. I don't like those but managed to find 1 blanket in a drawer. Feather pillows, which I also don't like, but had brought my own foam one. Heat would cut on and off. Would prefer a system where the fan can be run continuously.Usual continental breakfast. Last morning there was a large bowl of cut berries, which was a nice treat. Microwave and small frig in room. Coffee maker but no tea that I could find. Valet parking was $20/day unlimited access. City lot across the street was $13/day or $1/hour. Not unlimited access, but we just walked and left the car there for the stay.
The service throughout was "outstanding!" Everyone was super friendly and always had a greeting for you. Chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon in the lobby as well as coffee/tea, was a nice touch. Cathy, at the concierge desk, was especially helpful and friendly. 2 computers and a printer for guests use. Thought the price was a little high, but the customer service made up for it. Would probably stay again, since it is very close to all the sights.

Room Tip: Think the even # rooms face Bay St., but not much to see, due to trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hampton Guest;

Thank you posting such a detailed review. It was certainly a pleasure having you stay with us. We definitely take every review seriously, and we will work on your concerns. I ope to see you soon and have a wonderful day!

Best regards,
leonard.massey@savannahlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.