We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #9 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

You can't beat this location for visiting the Historic District of Savannah! We parked our car and walked to most of the places we wanted to see. We also took a trolley tour to see sights further away and since their stop is right by the hotel it was very convenient! The staff was so friendly and accommodating!The breakfast was the typical Hampton breakfast but there seemed to be more choices. We really enjoyed the "real" fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries) the first day, as opposed to the usual mixed fruit that doesn't really taste "fresh". We felt the $20 a day charge for valet parking was a bit steep. But being able to walk everywhere and not having to worry about or pay for parking sort of changed our minds, especially since the room rate seemed reasonable for the location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Scaresdale54:

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. I see that you had great interaction with our terrific staff, and that you enjoyed your time in Savannah. We have many improvements coming down the pipe line that will make your stay even better. I hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    324
    82
    35
    6
See reviews for
233
445
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leitchfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with the best location in the Historic District! The rooms were very nice and beds really comfortable with clean, crisp sheets and duvets. We loved seeing the view of the ships on the river from our 6th floor window. The view from the rooftop pool area is spectacular at night! The very best thing about this hotel is the staff. From the valet to the front desk to the breakfast staff to the GM, we had the red carpet rolled out for us. The staff was the epitome of southern hospitality! We are planning to make this an annual trip to Savannah every fall and we would never think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear JNC101:

Thank you so much!

We all appreciate the extremely nice the extremely nice things that you had to say about our hotel. We truly pride ourselves on customer service and guest satisfaction. When we are able to make lasting memories for our guest it really does bring a smile to our faces. Thank you so much for your loyalty and we hope to see you soon!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I'd give this hotel a 5 or 6... I was quite surprised by how shabby this Hampton Inn was. We stay in Hampton Inns all the time, but unfortunately this isn't one of the nicer ones... The room was clean, but dated. The doors to all the rooms look beat up, and our carpet had seen better days. There was a wet spot when we arrived that had not dried yet. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, though. I don't have any real complaints, just kind of disappointed because there are much nicer hotels we've stayed at here in Savannah, and I will definitely book one of them next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear WeeGypsy:

Thank you taking the time to write us this review. It provides with valuable feedback that we take to heart, which allows us to improve on our product. Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at our property. We are planning to replace all room doors in the next few months so maybe next time when you come to Savannah, the small things you mentioned will be taken care of. I really hope we can accommodate you in the future.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything about this hotel was exceptional: the staff, accomodations, complimentary breakfast, check-in/check out...No complaints whatsoever - would definitely stay again. Southern hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Laura C:

Thank you! Your recognition of the staff really affirms what the culture is at our hotel. We really are dedicated to delivering great customer service along with the optimal consistency that you expect from the Hampton brand. I really hope we get another opportunity to serve you and your family.

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

this hotel has a great location, good variety of food for the free breakfast, friendly helpful staff
great amenities. the room was clean and comfortable. would definitely stay there again. the
price was reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Memere41:

Our staff is excellent and we loved having you stay with us. We really look forward to your return!

Best regards,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very clean and wonderful location. Staff is very polite. A terrific choice. Only suggestions are to: (a) expand the fitness room equipment and fix the pieces that are broken; and (2) change the toiletries from the current tiny bottles that are made of such stiff plastic that you can barely squeeze anything out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you jkeltz:

We look forward to seeing you in two weeks. The staff will still be just as you remembered and the breakfast will still be yummy.

Sincerely,
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We always stay at Hampton Inns and this was another great place to stay. Clean, comfortable, great location, reasonable prices, VERY friendly staff! Pay the $20.00 bucks to valet park your car, forget about it and enjoy Savannah! Breakfast was good and they have a bag breakfast if you want something to go. STAY HERE!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you Scott R:

I am so happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and thank you for the loyalty to our property. We work very hard to make sure you have everything you need and more. The breakfast bags are indeed a very nice touch.

I hope to see you soon!

Leonard Massey
lmassey@princebush.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.