We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #11 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a trip for my buddies 40th Birthday party. This hotel is right in the middle of everything. River Street is a stairway away. I paid $15 a night extra for the view (worth it to me) of River Street and the Live Oaks, I'd rather see them than an alley. My buddy didn't pay it and still got the view, luck of the draw I guess. This is a nice place with good amenities.

I would like to say a "thank you" to Gregory. I forgot my dress shirts, shorts, and my wife's dress in our closet upon checkout. We called after driving 1 1/2 hours away and he got them and is shipping them to us. You can't beat the service. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Great news!
I will pass your kind words along to Gregory. He will be happy to see this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    616
    342
    84
    38
    7
See reviews for
252
472
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beltsville, md
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I were more than pleased when we stayed at Hampton Inn in Savannah after staying with them in Charleston, NC. They kept their promise -- the room was clean, bright, fresh, roomy, clean linen and a view of the river [that was a request]. The view was simply beautiful. We were in walking distance to multiple shops, restaurants, fantastic ice cream shop about 2blks. away, and musical sounds.
Michelle and her staff was on point with suggestions, always pleasant and professional.
If you're looking for a clean, "in the midst" of the action, at a reasonable price, this is the place.

Room Tip: A higher floor with the river view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The roof top pool has a wonderful view of the historic district and the river. Hope to see you again.

Suncerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholson, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Rooms are spacious and clean. The bed is extremely comfortable. Location is perfect - close to River Street and City Market. Valet parking is convenient, you can park in the city parking garage for less. The pool on the roof top is awesome! Definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on Bay Street have a better view of the River the beautiful mossy trees - go as high as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for this awesome feedback! We hope to see you soon.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location. Across the street from the riverfront with shopping and restaurants. Valet parking very expensive. Second night I parked in city lot next door for a fraction of the cost. Huge updated spotless bed and bath. On a busy street but no traffic sounds. Staff friendly, helpful. Usual free breakfast. Had to eat in the room as I never scored a seat in dining area. I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We apologize for not having enough seating in the breakfast area. We will certainly address this issue. Thank you for taking the time to write this outstanding review and giving us great feedback about your experience.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently stayed here while on way home from military duty. I travel many times a year. This hotel is in a great location and easy to access. The hotel is very clean and the staff is excellent. Definately a place to stay if in Savannah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Perfect!
Thank you for staying with us and your loyally to Hampton. I look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We opted out of the valet parking and parked across the street at the city parking garage for WAY cheaper! The front desk staff were very friendly and hospitable each time we came in or left. The room was very clean and nice, I loved the duvet cover (very comfy). There were chocolate chip cookies in the lobby that were 'to die for' the night of our arrival and we were disappointed to not see them for the duration of our stay! Wish we could've enjoyed the roof top pool, but it rained our entire weekend. We were very pleased with the convenience of the hotel location. We walked everywhere except our one trip to Tybee. Our complaint: 1. there never seemed to be enough breakfast for the amount of guest, seating was always a problem at breakfast time, the ladies putting the food out were not very polite and there was always a long line since people were waiting for food to be brought out. 2. the elevator was very slow and the right one seemed to be the only one ever in use since staff use the one to the left. there was always a lot of people waiting for the elevator, so much that sometimes you had to forgo and wait for it to cycle back down. not cool.

Room Tip: A room with a view of Bay Street would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your important feedback!
We will address the issue concerning more seating in the breakfast area. I'm so sorry that there wasn't enough. We hopefully will have more seating before your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This Hampton Inn was wonderful. Carol at the front desk was very helpful and efficient. She went above and beyond for us. We took a cab from the airport to the wrong Hampton Inn! It was also in the Historic District. Make sure you tell the East Bay St!!!! The Bay St location was perfect for us. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted, shopping, great food and the Trolley!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you!
I will let Carol know that she made a wonderful impression and impact on your stay. We all look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;