We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Savannah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Ormond Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great base in Savannah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the location is terrific--walking distance to everything, which is key, because Savannah is a very walkable city. That's why the valet parking is very nice, because once you arrive, you really want to just put your car away until it's time to leave. Rooms are average Hampton Inn, which is to say clean and familiar, the staff is very helpful (thanks for the great dinner reservation, The Pink House was terrific) and overall, this hotel proves that Hampton does leisure travel well, too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments of Hampton!
We are all very proud to be members of the Hampton family and take pride in our guests experience. I will pass this along to the staff!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    359
    86
    40
    7
See reviews for
265
512
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to Savannah for a wedding, which was on Tybee Island. The hotel is in the Historic District, near River Street. We enjoyed great restaurants in the area, nice shops, watched the huge barges going up and down the river. The staff was very accommodating. There were 10 of us in 5 rooms, and we all met in the lobby in the evenings to socialize. One night we sent out for pizza, and all sat in the lobby at a table. It was pouring rain outside, and the staff had towels ready for guests that got caught in the rain. They couldn't have been nicer! Great place for a group, or family to stay! They also put us all on the same floor, which made it nice. We were on the 5th floor, with a view of the river. We would definitely stay there again! They have valet parking, and had the car waiting each time we wanted to go out. Also, the free hot breakfast was super!

Room Tip: The view from the upper floors is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much!
This is the kind of experience that we aim to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you for expressing this to our viewers, and we all appreciate your loyalty!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We used points for this stay, so I can't comment on the value too much, but we've stayed in a lot of Hamptons so I have a lot to compare it to. I'll start with the good. The location is great, across from River Street and within walking distance of everything! The staff was great as well. The housekeeping staff especially, every time we passed them in the hallway, they always said hello and have a nice day, and they meant it! The rooftop pool is small but it's a very cool space, with restrooms and vending machines up there. Breakfast is a normal Hampton Inn breakfast. The lobby is beautiful, and gives the impression of an upscale hotel. Unfortunately the rooms themselves don't really match that. It was average, clean enough, but I am really picky and noticed things like mold on the grout in the shower, dust in the corners of the room, streaks on the window. But nothing gross. It was definitely clean enough that a normal person wouldn't complain. There was also a musty smell in the room, but it got better as we ran the A/C. Also a note on the "Historic View" rooms, it's kind of a waste. Between the size & style of the windows, and the trees, you don't see anything. We had a larger window at a Hampton in NYC(a city known for small rooms/windows). Bottom line is I would stay here again, because it's clean enough, location can't be beat, and the staff is great!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks!
Thank you for pointing out the small things in your review. This is how the hotel improves on the guests experience. With your feedback, we will take it the next level.

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just across from the river and within walking distance to most everything. Hotel was great, the room spacious, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Less than a block to a nice par, where we listened musicians in the evening. They had valet parking or you could use the parking garage across the street. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. The staff here is great and we all love pleasing our guests. Thank you for giving us chance and we all look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is smack in the historic district. Everything is within walking distance. My wife and I walked everywhere and enjoyed ourselves very much. We were on the 4th floor or so, and our room faced the river, but you couldn't really see much because of all the other buildings in the way. Once in a while a huge barge would float by and you could see the top of it rolling through and it was amazing.

The rooftop pool area is great, although it closed too early for us to enjoy it as we were out til passed 9pm every night. Still, it's a great view of the city up there.

One incident that occurred that was a bit stressful is I booked the hotel by phone and they gave me a special promotional rate. I had to pay for 3 nights up front with no cancellation/no refunds which was around $480. The problem was when I arrived, they took my credit card for incidentals and when I checked out 3 days later, they CHARGED ME AGAIN!

So I was out nearly $900 for a 3 night stay! It took about an hour to sort it out and I wouldn't have known at all except that I happened to check my bank account that morning. The hotel finally straightened most of it out, but it still took a day or so to get the money back into my account and was a hassle at the time. So if you book online or over the phone, be very careful when you arrive that they don't double-charge you at check-in or check-out.

Also, they charge $20-25 or so for parking, but there's a parking garage across the street that charges a lot less and seems relatively safe. We parked there and saved a bundle over the weekend.

One of the main tour buses has a stop right next to the hotel which is very convenient as well.

Oh and breakfast is PHENOMENAL. They have eggs, hash browns, bacon, etc along with all the typical "continental breakfast" stuff (coffee, pastries, cereal etc). They even had Krispy Kreme donuts two of the mornings!

Room Tip: If you can, get a room that faces the river. You won't see much, but it's still kind of cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you writing this awesome review!

I apologize for the inconvenience concerning the double charge. This was a hotel error and a very unsual occurrance. The valet is a flat fee of $20, but is unlimited in and out access, which guarentees a parking space. As visitors of Savannah know, parking in the city garage is not guarenteed due to the filling regulary on weekends. I really look forward to your return, and having another opportunity to serve you.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

1 min walk to Riverstreet with lots of venues, 8 min walk to city Market! Trolley stop close. Breakfast staff, lobby staff, all here to make sure we were satisfied. We had a problem with "smells" in our first room, which turned out to be a musty ironing board. The staff was quick to get us a new room so they could remedy the problem! The location is perfect, price was perfect...rooftop pool relaxing. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you!
We are all happy to here that you will be back. I will pass your gracious words along to the breakfast and lobby staff members. I am also happy to here about how quickly the staff was able to resolve your problem, and that you enjoyed your entire stay!

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

One overnight stay and the service was excellent, we were able to check in early, nice room, good breakfast. Valet is $20 (too pricy for us), so we got a visitors' pass from the city of Savannah instead for $7. This Hampton Inn was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. I am pleased to here that we were able to accommodate you on your short visit to the area, and that the hotel's service was excellent. We all hope to see you in the furure.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.