We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and price that you can't beat!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #10 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location and price that you can't beat!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

1 min walk to Riverstreet with lots of venues, 8 min walk to city Market! Trolley stop close. Breakfast staff, lobby staff, all here to make sure we were satisfied. We had a problem with "smells" in our first room, which turned out to be a musty ironing board. The staff was quick to get us a new room so they could remedy the problem! The location is perfect, price was perfect...rooftop pool relaxing. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you!
We are all happy to here that you will be back. I will pass your gracious words along to the breakfast and lobby staff members. I am also happy to here about how quickly the staff was able to resolve your problem, and that you enjoyed your entire stay!

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    423
    105
    43
    9
See reviews for
321
628
35
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

One overnight stay and the service was excellent, we were able to check in early, nice room, good breakfast. Valet is $20 (too pricy for us), so we got a visitors' pass from the city of Savannah instead for $7. This Hampton Inn was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for this nice review. I am pleased to here that we were able to accommodate you on your short visit to the area, and that the hotel's service was excellent. We all hope to see you in the furure.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights everyone who works here was very nice and very helpful. Hotel was clean, very comfortable it is in a great location right across from the river,drop off and on location for trolley in front of hotel and very short walking distance to city mall. Valet parking attendants were quick,nice and informative would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much!
Your review represents what we are all about (Hamptonality). Thank you from everyone at the Hampton.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for 1 night on our way home to Florida from NC. First time for a Hilton brand. We have always stayed at Hyatt brands so did not know what to expect. We had a great experience. What made it fantastic was the Team Members we encountered. You can have the worst hotel but if the Associates make you feel at home then nothing else matters. Beverly in Housekeeping was so friendly. She made me feel like I have known her for years. I was very happy with the breakfast also. It was fresh and hot and the ladies working in there were very attentive. I did not get their names I wish I would have. The location was great!!!! Parking tip was good also, park in the city garage. Our room was on the 2nd floor but did face the river. On our next visit I hope we will get the same river side view but a higher floor. Trees may have made our room a little dark. The room was very comfortable though. No complaint there. We tried to see sunrise from the rooftop pool but the pool did not open until 7am and the sun would have been up by then. We were up at 6am to check. We will definately stay here again. Home is where the heart is and if your associates have heart they make it home. They certainly did. You can't teach that. It was a short visit, next time I hope to make it a longer one. Savannah is such an enchanting city. I loved it. Did not get to see enough but love the southern hospitality and the beautiful city of Savannah.

Room Tip: I am sure higher floors have a better view and park in the city garage accross the street unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wow!
Thank you for giving Hampton a chance! I am so pleased to here that we impressed you during your first stay with a Hilton property. We pride ourselves on delivering the best guests experience of any focus service brand. We all appreciate the recognition and the opportunity to serve you. See you soon!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a typical Hampton Inn in a great location for exploring the city of Savannah. It is located directly across the street from the RiverWalk which offers numerous shops and restaurants. It is just a few blocks from the City Market which also offers shopping and dining options. The rooms are typical of a Hampton Inn and the Lobby area is nicely restored. The breakfast offerings are the same basics as other Hampton Inns we have stayed at but it is convenient. It would be nice for them to make iced water available to guests in the lobby during the HOT summer months. My children enjoyed snacking in the fresh fruit available in the lobby as we came and went throughout the day and upon, request one evening, we were provided with a bottle of water. The only real downside to this hotel is the $20/night valet parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks,
It is always great to hear from our guests, and these reviews never get old. We all look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Loved it! The room was in excellent condition upon our arrival, the bed very nicely made and inviting! We were able to view the 4th of July fireworks from our hotel room which overlooked the Savannah River front without leaving our room! We had 1st class seats!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the fireworks from the hotel. One of the purks about staying here is that our location is the absolute best, and the roof top pool provides excellent scenery for fireworks and a general view of the historic Savannah. Thank you for writing this wonderful review.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonifay, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was nervous about choosing a hotel on our last minute trip to Savannah. We picked well! This Hampton Inn was right across the street from the RiverWalk, and of course right in the middle of beautiful, historic downtown! They booked our room, allowed us to check in early...and gave us a view upgrade at no additional cost. Our room was clean with great perk's: fridge, microwave, coffee maker....nice and cold with a great view over Bay Street and the River. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and nice....the phone was ringing off the hook, people were coming in asking questions and they were helping people get their rooms, all with a smile and never missing a beat. I love the location of this hotel and you cant beat the price! Did.I mention the great breakfast or the pool on the roof?? :)

Room Tip: Get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you!
I will personally pass this along to front desk staff. They work really hard with a very high volume guest request and taking reservations. I happy to hear that we were able to upgrade you at no cost. I really look forward to your return, and serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#6 Business Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#12 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.