We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
sparta, new jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hampton Inn, and can not say enough about the excellent, friendly service. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out it was a great experience. Can not find a bad thing to say other than breakfast was a little disappointing, typical Hampton Inn breakfast. But the service was great, everyone was very friendly, great location and the pool on the rooftop was pretty cool. We had a room on the 6th floor, a corner suite and it was great. We could see the ships coming in and out and had great views of River Street. The room was clean and comfy. I can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: 6th floor corner room great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you!
I see that you were able to take advantage of our beautiful roof top pool. We also pride ourselves on great service with a wonderful smile. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    355
    85
    39
    8
See reviews for
263
498
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one weekend night to visit lovely Savannah and I have to say, this was the perfect hotel to stay at. It was within walking distance of River Street, several well known restaurants and easy access to the tourist trolleys.

The parking situation upon arrival is a nightmare. Not sure if this was because it was a Friday afternoon (beginning of the weekend) or what, but it was a total cluster. I just gave up and parked in a public parking garage that was right cross the street (the street was more pedestrian so it was more like a little walkway because there was a square directly behind the parking garage and hotel). Total cost for parking at that garage overnight (I didn't move the car because we didn't need it for anything), $11.

Once we actually parked and made it into the hotel, everything improved dramatically. The check in process was quick and friendly. It was my friend and I and they allowed us to split the cost on to two separate cards. We had a room on the 5th floor with a view of River Street. Very comfortable room, no complaints and the Air Conditioning worked great! There is a microwave and a small fridge in the room as well as a coffee maker. There is no in-room safe (as far as we could tell). There is an iron, ironing board and blow-dryer in the room.

They had snacks and refreshments downstairs in the lobby. You had a coffee/tea station and they put out fresh cookies in the afternoons. they also have a fruit basket near the elevators. You can get complimentary bottles of water from the front desk.

Breakfast the next morning was decent for an included breakfast. You had hard boiled eggs, western omelets, biscuits and sausage gravy, cereals, breads, pastries/danish and a waffle maker (2 actually).

We had a good stay in a good location and would gladly stay here again. Book early for the best rates. Anything near River Street will be pricey, but location is everything and well worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you!
Everyone at the Hampton is very appreciativeof this great review. Thank you for mentioning what great service you experienced while you were here. We all look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and can not say enough about the excellent service. The entire staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great! It's right in the middle of everything from the Riverwalk to tons of restaurants and shopping. Our room was clean and the breakfast was adequate. I would recommend putting your "Do Not Disturb" sign out the night before if you don't want to be bothered before 10 am as the maids do start cleaning early. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Great News!!
Having the best customer service is our goal, and what sets us apart from other hotels. Thank you for this wonderful review!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service and convenience at the Hampton Inn. From the valet to the front desk to Patricia at breakfast there is true southern hospitality. The rooms are clean and the bedding is very comfortable. I had a room with a viewof the bridge and Bay Rd. the location is convenient to Rivers St. I can't say enough good things about my trip to Savannah and the Hampton Inn Historic District. Try it, you will be pleased.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review. We all appreciate you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to let everyone know about your experience.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel could be more knowledgable, the breakfast is limited unless you get there early as they run out, and be ready to wait at least 5 minutes for the elevator to come to your floor. We also had to call the maintainance to have our door lock fixed as it was hanging off of the wall when we checked in. Anyone could have easily broken into our room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are very sorry for the unpleasent experience that you had at our property. This extremely uncharacteristic of what our guest experience at our propperty as other reviewers will attest. The issues you raised will be addressed and I apologize on behalf of the hotel.

Sincerely,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Can't complain about anything at this Hotel. Good rooms, nice breakfast. It's a Hampton Inn experience. The location is great, walking distance to all attraction in Savannah. There is a pool on the roof although we didn't use it - too rainy in early June.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I certainly wish that the weather was better when you were here. I am so happy to hear that you still enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for writing this wonderful review.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked this room per price and TA recommendations. I wasn't disappointed. Nice rooms. Great location. There was only one slight glich, I asked the front desk persons a couple of questions. She answered them but had to be corrected by another staff member. Better to say "I don't know but let me find out" instead of winging it and giving out misinformation. The other thing is I booked a room with a view for $10 extra and opened my window to treetops.

The lady who tends the breakfast should be commended. She was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Here's a tip: Hop on the free Dot bus. You can get off and on but we rode the whole circuit to get a sense of the area. At first, we were the only ones on it on Sunday, and after warming up,the driver basically gave us commentary on the area. Very nice. He told us about the free ferry that goes to the hotel across the river then back across. Not along ride but you get to see the riverfront from the advantage of the opposite bank

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank for your great review. I apologize for the misinformation that was given to you by one of our new hires. She is still training and may have got confused about you questions. We all look forward to your return to Savannah, and I hope we get another opprtunity to serve you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.