We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #11 of 112 hotels in Savannah
New England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Loved the historical district Savannah, this hotel is in a great location, with views of the river.
Upon check in we were upset because the room they gave us was totally small. Fine for one person but not two. Very disappointed with that. But on the bright side they did get us another room but we had to wait one night which turned out fine. The front desk staff was very pleasant, Joy and Erica were lovely friendly girls and tried to be helpful always. We never had to move our car because we walked everywhere. It is $20 a day valet parking, which we didn't care for.
The breakfast buffet was fine, what you would expect. The rooms were clean, and if you were on the run in the morning and didn't have time for breakfast they offered brown bag breakfasts on the run ...at the front desk. One thing that was a pain was the very very slow elevator! But this hotel was within close distance to the River Walk and just about everywhere was easy walking. And of course with the beautiful Savannah weather you don't mind walking. Also we had rain one night and enjoyed sittine in the dining area where they have long windows, almost like being outside with the glass between you, and playing cards and enjoying the complimentary tea, coffee and hot cocoa that was always down in the lobby. That and the homemade cookies at night was an added touch of southern hospitality. As for the Trolley Bus tours, I will write another review, we didn't think that was even worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure your booking a bigger room unless you want to sleep in a closet sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    613
    338
    84
    37
    7
See reviews for
249
470
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, Nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location, two blocks to the river and two blocks to the market square ... all within a quick walk. A quick thirty minute run from I95 puts in the center of activity, easy and quick access. Once in Savannah everything is literally within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall this hotel was very nice. It's in a good location -close to the riverfront shops and restaurants. The view from the pool was good for pictures and was private. We were a little disappointed that parking wasn't free or at least a little less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cream Ridge, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I will only stay at Hampton Inns because of their cleanliness, included the fresh duvet with each visit and the complimentary breakfast. The staff at each Hampton Inn we stay is so very helpful and polite. We never stay anywhere but a Hampton on all of our trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a great hotel perfectly located in Historic Savannah. Anything you could want is within walking distance. Staff was excellent and the rooms were immaculate. We did not have breakfast there, so I can't comment on it.

Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you sir,
It is awesome to hear that you enjoyed another great visit to the Hampton. it is always a pleasure to serve you, and i look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived quite late at night but were given a very good welcome from the reception staff. We were a bit concerned about traffic noise as our room was on the ground floor, but didn't hear a thing. The breakfast was really great and it was good to have free wifi. In all absolutely nothing to complain about but everything to praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonard M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank for your gracious review. We continually strive to make everyones experience as good as yours. Maybe next time I can meet you in person!

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed here several times. It is well kept, friendly staff, free wifi, free breakfast, and convenient for walking Savannah's historic district. If you don't want to pay for valet parking, there is a parking garage across the street (my last visit I parked the car Friday evening and drove off Sunday at 2:00 - total cost was $13.00).

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Savannah
#7 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#12 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.