We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed out stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hampton.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District
201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early Save up to 15%
Ranked #13 of 111 hotels in Savannah
jasper, ga
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed out stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Its location was convenient to River St. and the rest of historic district. The beds were wonderful. The rooms were large. The variety at breakfast was a nice treat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardM560, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear from our guest. Thank you for writing this wonderful review. It always brings a smile to our faces when our guests enjoy themselves in our facility. We will continue to work hard and deliver an even better product upon your return.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager, Hampton Inn Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    299
    77
    33
    6
See reviews for
213
401
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island,ny
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4nights and it was a very pleasant experience.
The location was fantastic because you overlook the river and the local transportation is a block away. Great because my husband can't walk endlessly.
The staff was friendly and accommodating. A special thanks to Carroll at the front desk who took care of many of our questions for restaurants and cabs in an efficient and friendly manner.
The coffee was great and the newspaper was a plus.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Ask if your room gets the noise from the street. The view is better overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I would like to compliment the concierge Mary Hurn. She helped us with getting around the city, telling us about the different tours and attractions and setting up a wonderful book tour with Savannah Heritage Tours as well as a Trolley Tour. She also suggested local restaurants and must see attractions. Mary made our three day visit full and rewarding. Thank you Mary from Bill and Wendy.

The hotel was perfectly located so we were able to give up the keys to the car and not take them back again until we left. Our room was very comfortable and we had a view of River Street and the harbor. The hot breakfast was plentiful and a great way to start a day of sightseeing. Would stay there again but would choose a warmer time of the year although the azaelas were in full bloom which was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view, highest room possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I spent St. Patrick's Day weekend in Savannah. We stayed at the Hamton Inn at 201 East Bay Street. Given that this is probably the busiest events in Savannah the hotel and staff seemed to be very organized, friendly and accomodating. You really can't ask for a better location as this hotel is in a great location. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to do. The check in process starts as your pull in under the car port and are immediatly greeted by the Valet. These guys seems really enjoy their job because thet were very friendly. We immediately retrieved our bags and entered the hotel for a very speedy check-in. Again, I need to mentioned the hotel and surrounding areas were slammed with all the St. Patty's dad festivities. With the inlfux of people the hotel provided arm bracelets as a hightened security measure so the only guest of the hotel were allowed. The hotel rooms, lobby areas and breakfast areas are very nice. It has the look and feel of the historic district yet, has all the modern conviences that we enjoy. This was our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly stay there again on our next trip to Savannah. Now for St. Patricks day is Savannah it was a real hoot.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Second Floor. Not much of a view but, we didnt stay in the room much; just to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpb
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a fabulous time. Hotel was awesome, staff was awesome, and would love to stay there again. Each morning started with a newspaper, pleasant greetings from staff and a complimentary full breakfast. Even the coffee was great. And not to mention the views from the roof top pool were spectacular. Even though there was some confusion on our reservation changes, the staff did everything to correct the problems and worked very hard to keep us happy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DE
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This may be the nicest Hampton Inn that I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The location is ideal -- right in the middle of Savannah's historic district with a view out to the waterfront. The lobby is spacious and attractive, the breakfast room is airy and bright with big windows looking out onto the street. Our room on the 5th floor was lovely and had far more room than a typical Hampton Inn with a great view overlooking the water. We were there during the craziness of St. Patrick's Day weekend (who knew Savannah has one of the nation's largest parades?) and can't compliment the staff enough for their careful security and unfailing courtesy in the face of extraordinary demands and a crush of people. Great stay and would definitely recommend this to others traveling to beatuiful Savannah!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the water and above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardM560, General Manager at Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
These are the experiences that we aspire to have all of our have when they come to lodge with us. We at the Hampton strive to deliver the best customer service, the most comfortable rooms, and the absolute best staff to all our guests. Thank you for writing this review and I look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Leonard Massey
General Manager, Hampton Inn Historic District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for the St Patrick's day Parade this year. Now we used Hilton points for the 2 day stay so we can't really comment on the price, but I am glad we didn't pay the prices that were showing online for the hotel at this period.
The hotel was fine, typical Hampton Inn. Parking was across the street but that was fine - very close. The Hotel is on the edge of Old town as best I could see. Not long to restuarants etc but perhaps over a kilometre from River st. Not a problem as it is a lovely place to walk through but if you like zero walking perhaps stay more central.
We were there for St Patrick's day - avoid this time unless you have a particular interest as it just seemed an excuse for lots of drinking and partying (and we are Irish!). The hotel did their best to prevent too much partying in the hotel with a Police man permantently stationed in the lobby (I kid you not). To be fair there was a bit a noise but not a lot and to be fair to them they did their best. However I do see what another guest was saying about thin walls.
The staff were friendly throughout despite being busy.
All in all I would go back here and Savannah, but not for St Patick's day (and again we are Irish)!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel Savannah
Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District Hotel
Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District
Hampton Inn Savannah
Savannah Hampton Inn
Address: 201 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Savannah Historic District hotel is located in downtown Savannah on Bay Street with easy access to River Street. Walk to local attractions like River Street, Savannah International Trade & Convention Center, and City Market. Enjoy a swim in our rooftop outdoor pool with views of historic Savannah. Relax with our free hot breakfast every morning. Get some work done with our free high-speed internet access and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Savannah - Historic District to your Saves list