We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Inviting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5820 White Bluff Road, Savannah, GA 31405   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent two nights at the Homewood Suites in Savannah during a recent business trip. The hotel is conveniently located in mid-town Savannah. Easy access to Hunter AAF, shopping, and restaurants. The hotel is about 5 miles from the down town historical district. This hotel has one of the better enhanced continental breakfasts and evening manager’s happy hours. The room that I had was immense with a king bed, living room, and an adequate sized kitchen. Since I was only there for two nights I did not take advantage of the kitchen. My only complaint is the facility is a series of buildings that require transiting out in the weather to get to and from the main/lobby building.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Bob H,

Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed everything we have to offer! Our breakfast and dinner are quite good and you can't beat free! We also have the most spacious suites in Savannah. Our property does give our guests a choice of interior and exterior entrance suites so we have the best of both worlds. If you have a preference next time you're here for work or relaxation, just let us know which you prefer and we will do our best to honor your request.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    102
    59
    41
    34
See reviews for
176
91
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Homewood Suites Savannah the 3rd time, this is first review. Like this place a lot. Suites are spacious, full kitchen, pantry, 2 queens in bed room, sleeper sofa in living room. 2 flat panel tv. Wood-burning fire place served us well on a cold december night. The jacuzzi is a nice treat and the outdoor pool was heated warm enough to jump in, even at a chilly 40F. Breakfast offers a good variety of warm and cold foods. There is a pavillion with a bbq in the courtyard, in summer, that is a cute place to hang out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Bpgeist,

Thanks for returning for your 3rd visit with us and sharing your experience with other travelers! We are glad you and your family enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer and especially appreciate your loyalty us! Come back soon and we will make sure we keep you happy!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in a one-bedroom unit with a king-sized bed and a fireplace on a Sunday and on New Year's evening. I have stayed in Homewood Suites all over the United States and this was the worst lodging experience I have had in the last 10 years. After the first night, I brought to the attention of a guest service manager that fact that the room telephone did not work, the room smelled musty, and the bathroom area smelled like urine. The bedroom door also closed itself. To that I would add that the room was dark, which was not helped by the fact that the living room lamp was falling apart and appeared to me to be unsafe. The GSR apologized but didn't offer to switch rooms, probably because the hotel was full. She did mention that the hotel was due for renovation, but it had been delayed. On the second night, things got worse when the toilet stopped flushing. I had rented a second room for other family members and it was better but not good. By the way, the fireplace did work, which is why I give it one star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Florida 1945,

Please accept my sincere apology for any issues you had that were not handled properly by our team. We value your business and are disappointed that you were unhappy with your visit. Please contact me directly to discuss your concerns, so we can make this right for you.

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was my first time in Savannah and really wasn't sure what to expect. I was trying to escape the cold weather up north for a few days and get away from it all. Very friendly staff, from the front desk to breakfast, dinner, housekeeping. At first I thought the location was out of the way, but the more I got in tune with Savannah it was actually a perfect launching site. Room was HUGE along with kitchen, fridge and nice welcoming gift of bottled water & cookies. Breakfast & dinners were not my favorites but they change daily and also serve beer & wine at diner. A good size outdoor pool area centrally located. Nice grounds for walking my dog and even a poopy pouch station. gazebo & grill also located on grounds. Hotel is nestled between two busy streets in Abercorn & White Bluff, but you feel like your in your only little world with the nice layout. A bit of an older hotel, & walls not soundproofed very well, but nice nonetheless. For the right price I would stay again.

Room Tip: I was in a first floor room, and I could here people upstairs running around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear BigT76er,

It sounds like you enjoyed your first visit to Savannah and we appreciate you letting us be a part of it! We're glad you enjoyed your suite and all of the free amenities and hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was excellent! Our suite was clean and very functional. The staff was friendly and efficient. We had originally been assigned a room close to the main road and requested a room closer to the office. The staff was happy to honor our request. The breakfast was excellent...freshly prepared and a great assortment of food from which to choose. The location is centrally located near midtown Savannah and convenient to shopping, dining, and downtown. We would definitely stay at this hotel again! Thanks Homewood Suites of Savannah for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sandy V,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with other travelers! We are glad you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and the convenience to all there is to do in Savannah.

We can't wait for you to come join us again on your next trip to Savannah!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The rooms were clean. We only stayed one night, and it wasn't during the week. Homewood Suites serves food at dinnertime during the week. It was difficult to find where our room was after checking in. The bedroom was very nice. The kitchen/living room was nice and useful also.
The problem was that whenever the heat turned on it blew cold air first. The breakfast was mostly good, but hard to find seating. There was a trash pail overflowing with trash when I went to dispose of my dishes. For some reason it was right beside a place to throw trash.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Teacher4VA,

Thank you for staying with during your visit to Savannah. I apologize for the difficulty you had in finding your suite. We will be renovating this year and better signage will be a part of this.

We are glad you enjoyed your clean comfortable suite and appreciate your feedback on the central A/C and heat. I have asked our maintenance team to check the thermostat so thank you for that feedback. I also apologize for the crowds at breakfast. It is a popular reason that so many guests stay with us and when everyone comes down to eat at the same time, it can get chaotic. We open our meeting rooms for our guests to use when this happens so there is plenty of seating.

Again, thanks for staying with us and I hope you will come back again soon!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pick this Hotel up and move it, clean the room a little more and it would be great. But the location is not scenic or even walkable and I would be careful not to leave valuables in your car.

I would say it was overpriced but I would not pay any amount to stay in this area again.The Staff is first class and I love the Homewood Suites Brand but I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbiemcline, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear ncTomE,

Thank you for staying with us and recognizing our team for their first class service! We are in the midtown area of Savannah and there are several restaurants, 2 grocery stores, etc. right across the street., and the mall is also just a mile away. I'm sorry that these were not pointed out to you when you checked in.

While I understand some guests prefer to be in the Historic District, we do have a lot to offer with the largest suites in Savannah, free parking, breakfast and dinner (Mon-Thur), that you can't get downtown.

I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and again thank you for your kudos!

Sincerely,

Deborah Cline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah

Address: 5820 White Bluff Road, Savannah, GA 31405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Savannah
#37 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites - Savannah is an all suite property with a choice of 1 or 2 bedroom suites. All of our suites include a separate living room with a sofa sleeper and kitchen with a full size refrigerator, 2 burner cook top, microwave, dishwasher, garbage disposal, cookware and dishes. There are 32" LCD televisions in the living room and each bedroom, iron and ironing board, USA Today newspaper and free wireless internet. Indulge in our complimentary Suite Start Breakfast which is a hot breakfast buffet with make your own waffles, and on Mondays through Thursdays we serve a complimentary Welcome Home Reception which provides a salad bar, entree and side dish, bread, beer, wine, lemonade and iced tea. We offer same day dry cleaning service or you can do your own in our guest laundry located just off our lodge. We offer a complimentary 24 hour fitness center with Precor equipment, and a free business center which has two computers with printers and a copier. We have a hot tub and our outdoor pool is heated so you can swim year round. We also have a gazebo area with two gas grills where you can cook and relax with a book. You can earn points and miles for your stay with our free Hilton Honors program, and we proudly deliver good old fashioned customer service and southern hospitality with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Savannah Hotel Savannah
Hilton Savannah
Homewood Suites Savannah
Homewood Savannah
Savannah Hilton
Savannah Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.