We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #48 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The view was fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at this property for my birthday vacation. From the moment my friend and I stepped onto the property we were greeted by a very pleasant and helpful bell person. The front desk was very attentive and the whole staff very knowledgeable of thr area. The food recommendations were great. My room was clean and the balcony was very nice. I was able to sit there in the early morning hours without bothering my friend and read. I was also able to watch the fireworks without going downstairs. The hotel is located on the river,so I was able to go right outsidae the hotel and read while watching the boats and yachts go by. The location of the hotel is so convient if you want to walk to the shops on the riverfront. We didn't have to worry about paying for parking or taking a cab. The staff was the best. We spoke with the hotel engineer and he was delightful. We had just a bit of a problem the last night of our stay ,but the hotel staff as well as the General Manager were very prompt in handling the situation. I was impressed by the prompt attention and the concern for what we had to say. I look forward to staying here again and again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful stay!

It is always a pleasure to hear our guests describe their visits, from start to finish, with the excitement apparent in your review.

Our staff is welcoming in the truest sense of the phrase "southern hospitality". We take great pride in our associates and pass on every compliment at our weekly staff meeting.

In addition, thank you for your comment about our General Manager. He just joined us here and we are grateful to have him.

Our location is superb with easy access to many shops and restaurants and to have a room with a balcony provides for a "birds eye" view of the Savannah River. So glad you enjoyed your reading time.

Again, thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    365
    207
    98
    59
See reviews for
210
338
32
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed staying in Savannah recently for a business trip. The marriott is in a good location, however there where a few things that where aggravating. Like no fridge in the room, we had to ask for one, never had to do that before especially in 6 star hotel. The wifi was 12.95 per day and when we finally got it comped, it wouldn't stay on for any great length of time. That was Very Aggravating!!

On a more positive note, the staff was extremely kind. Always accommodating, especially 2 bel hops, Wilshauna (I think is the way you spell it) and Lexi. Both went out of their way to help us. Thank you ladies!!!

Our view was wonderful!! We had a balcony room overlooking the atrium, but beyond that you could see the river. We enjoyed watching the boats come in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

It is always wonderful to know that our associates have provided excellent service and your comments will be passed on to both Wilnesha and Lexi. In addition, they will attend a monthly luncheon hosted for employees who are applauded by our guests.

Although we do not have refrigerators in all rooms as you stated, they are available upon request. However it is always helpful to hear guest comments so we can review and improve our services.

Unfortunately we were in the process of changing internet companies to improve speed and efficiency during your stay and I apologize for your difficulties.

Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has an excellent location with easy access to everything in Savannah. The view of river was excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The parking was convenient. The beds were very comfortable
helpful

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Service at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit.

It is always a pleasure to hear our guests have enjoyed their accommodations, in particular our comfortable beds.

Being right on the water offers our guests a "birds eye" view of the giant container ships and pleasure craft traveling down the river. Often there are dolphins playing in the waves, which delights people of all ages.

We take great pride in our staff and their southern hospitality and your comments will be shared at our next staff meeting.

Again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights for business. Room had city view with balcony. Have stayed here before and was again pleased although at some point they will need to freshen up the interior and add common room amenities like fridge (you have to ask for one) and safe (not available). Wish the water taxi ran later than 6:30 pm because it really makes it easy to get down to center of river street. The parking fee is a bit much. The staff however are exceptional.

Room Tip: balcony's are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
We appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay.

We value our guest's opinions and thank you for your comment on in-room refrigerators. Also, although we do not have safes in guest rooms, they are available at our front desk on a complimentary basis.

The hotel has no control over the water taxi service, but we can certainly pass your observation on to the proper personnel.

To hear our staff is exceptional is a sign that we offering our guests 100% guest satisfaction and true southern hospitality which is our ultimate goal.

Again, thank you for your comments about the hotel and area services. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mims, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a dealer meeting in August. I thought the staff was super nice but I'm from florida so most southern states are pleasant. The room was nice and we had plenty of room. I enjoyed our stay here and would be happy to return in the future. There was an odd event occuring on our floor though. There were lots of fans set up to blow in the hallway. I'm not sure if there was no a/c working or what but it was just not something I normally see at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay.

It is always wonderful to hear that our southern hospitality stands out, as we strive to provide that, in addition to 100% customer satisfaction for all of our guests.

We take great pride in our spacious facilities, as well as our comfortable guest rooms and excellent river front location.

It was a pleasure to hear that your recent trip was a success and that should future plans bring you to Savannah, you intend on returning to our beautiful hotel.

Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk County, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went to Savannah on a long weekend getaway " a girls weekend" this last Columbus Day weekend" The Marriott riverfront was the perfect place to be if you want to be able to access restaurants,transportation or just to take long beautiful strolls,day or night along the waterfront or on river walk ,where all the fun touristy shops and restaurants are!

The concierge at the Marriott was a wealth of information and booked private ghost tours and great eating reservations for us! He also booked us an on/off trolley that enabled us to tour all the fun spots in the city getting off and on at many places that were on our to do list! That trolley originated in short walking distance from the Hotel.

The restaurant at the hotel was perfect for Breakfasts everyday ,great service and the staff in the hotel were all professional friendly and generally helpful!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view, the inside rooms have a balcony that overlooks the lobby (typical Marriott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your wonderful "girls weekend" here at the Marriott Savannah Riverfront!

It is always a pleasure when visitors experience the great staff and service we offer, in addition to finding our location so perfect for walking, touring and enjoying all Historic Downtown Savannah has to offer.

Our concierge is a wealth of information and to hear about your experience, did a fantastic job helping you enjoy your time with us.

We certainly hope should your travels bring you back to our beautiful city, we will have the pleasure of serving you again.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The hotel is in a great location on the river with a fabulous view of the ships going in and out of the port. There are several really good restaurants within walking distance. The balconies attached to the rooms overlooking the atrium and nice, so you feel you are outside on the river without dealing with the heat and humidity during the summer.

We have stayed there several times and will go back again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
It was a pleasure to hear that you had another excellent visit with us!

Our location is fantastic, not only for the beautiful view of the Savannah River, but for easy access to Historic River Street and Downtown Savannah.

It is always gratifying to hear our guests satisfaction and intent to return to our property.

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay and thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.