We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms not so great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #60 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you want to hang out and party on the riverfront. It's a very easy walk from all the bars and restaurants, but removed enough that you can retreat for rest and quiet... sort of.

There is a central ground floor space, with the lobby and bar. There are multiple floors surrounding this large open space, with rooms facing it (effectively balconies around a large yard, but all indoors). If you're in one of those rooms, it can be pretty loud even at night, as guests hang out in the bar area (at least on the third floor, where we were).

The rooms had little defects - the phone didn't work in ours, some of the plugs were broken, lightbulb was out in the bathroom. Also, there was very little space to put things in the bathroom - just a tiny little counter in front of the sink, and no hooks to hang up towels. Our window looked out over a bleak painted roof. I'm sure there are rooms with gorgeous views, facing the river, but I guess you'd have to know to ask.

The breakfast buffet was not bad, but overpriced. The rates in general were higher than I'd expect for the quality of the rooms and the amenities.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that opens on the central space, if you can avoid it. Try to get a river view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We sincerely appreciate when our guests take time to let us know about their visits.

Your comments are so useful in that they help us see our property from a guest point of view. That enables us to refine and improve our hotel and its services. Thank you for your input.

It is through comments such as yours that we can address and resolve issues and because of your feedback, the proper departments have been notified and corrective action is underway.

We certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you Marriott at its finest.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    297
    155
    81
    45
See reviews for
169
253
30
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Marriott Riverfront is beautifully situated in Savannah with terrific views from the rooms facing the river. Service levels are excellent and the staff is very friendly and customer focused. The rooms are very comfortable and well kept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
How wonderful to hear that your recent stay with us was so rewarding!

We enjoy a fabulous location right on the Savannah River with amazing views of the water. Often you can see dolphins traveling by as well as the huge container ships Savannah is known for.

We also take great pride in our staff and their dedication to guest satisfaction and are pleased you found them helpful and customer focused.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, PA
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here on business for a conference by myself and loved the experience! The pool is cute, staff so nice and professional, concierge lounge was wonderful and well stocked, the rooms large and clean, and the bath items were delicious smelling bath and body brand! Bed and pillows super comfy, in room tv had wide array of channels, place had on site gym and business center. Cons included the lobby wifi...super slow and awful, (in room wifi costs $$), no hot tub in hotel, and steps needed to be climbed to enter hotel lobby and check in area! A few block walk to the river walk shops and bars and close to a free local city shuttle stop. I would stay here again and recommend it to visitors of the city! Not much to complain about (as noted) as this is a great hotel for the money!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for all the nice comments about your stay, including your enjoyment of your room, the amenities, the comfortable bed, the channel selection and the hospitality of our associates.

We apologize for the slow connection of internet you experienced. We are, at this time, addressing the issue and thank you for your feedback. It is customers such as yourself that allow us to improve and better our services.

It is always the best compliment when guests recommend our hotel to future visitors.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment I existed my cab, a courteous doorman took my bag. I found the desk clerks to be equally friendly and courteous. Although my flight arrived early, the smiling young woman found me a non-smoking room with a king sized bed. She also gave me directions to a nearby restaurant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable There was a closet with mirrored doors for storage, a flat screen tv with many channels including CNN, AMC, and Discover. The bathroom was large and had a tiled floor. The room was stocked with several large white bath towels and several wash cloths and hand towels. There was even an ironing board and iron stored in the bathroom.
On the first level is a huge atrium and a well stocked bar. This hotel has a swimming pool in the middle of the Atrium which may have been too public for some tastes.Behind the hotel is a veranda where you can sip a cool drink and watch the large ships move up and down the Savannah River. Beware of the alligators;there is a sign warning people not to feed them. Also, you can take an amazing walk along the river and then explore Bay Street which has gift shops and restaurants.
I could only find two negatives: while you can print your boarding passes for free in the business center, you have to pay to go on the internet to check your email.And this hotel has not shuttle to the airport.

All in all, The Marriott River Front in Savannah is a beautiful and luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit.

We are so pleased to hear that as soon as you arrived, you were greeted by courteous, accommodating, smiling staff. We strive to give our guests a taste of true southern hospitality and it seems that was your experience.

Also, it was wonderful to hear of your pleasure with your room,the amenities and the hotel in general.

Although we have no shuttle to the airport, we do have taxi cabs available 24 hours a day. Should your travels bring you back to our hotel, please let us know and we will secure transportation for you.

Again, we appreciate your kind words.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We arrived three hours early and jet lagged but the room was ready and reception was very helpful and efficient. We were given a lovely room overlooking the river complete with balcony. We are marriott members but I would advise upgrading to enjoy a river view. The room was spotlessly clean and decorated in typical marriott style. Bed was extremely comfortable with lovely crisp bedding. We appreciated the small fridge in the room. As marriott members we were entitled to enjoy the executive lounge and I was very impressed by the food. Still dream of the tasty white asparagus and other lovely morsels. It is small and gets overcrowded but the staff work hard to replace dishes. On the negative side, the pool was small and I wasn't tempted to go for a swim as it is overlooked by all the indoor balconies and I would have felt like a goldfish in a bowl. Waste of a pool.! The restaurant was disappointing. Poor decor, mediocre food, slow service. Wish we hadn't wasted an evening eating there when there are so many wonderful restaurants nearby. Further, parking fee is excessive. Greedy of hotels to charge when we already pay a substantial amount to stay. Overall, this is a lovely hotel in a superb location and we had a wonderful time and staff were extremely kind.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view with balcony and enjoy watching all the ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate your time in writing a review of your recent visit to our hotel.

It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your room, the bedding, the concierge lounge and the food! We get compliments often in these areas and strive to provide our guests with the comfort of home.

It seems that we fell short in the restaurant and appreciate your comments. It is guests such as you that help us improve our service as we strive to have 100% customer satisfaction.

Thank you again for your time. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This place is distinctly overpriced. The hotel itself is fairly nice, certainly not stunning, and it is very clean, although not spotless. The location is very good; there is a short (less than 5 minute) walk to be on River St and at one of the trolley stops.

However, EVERYTHING is extra. Parking is $19/day. Wi-fi is $12/day if memory serves correctly. Printing at the business center is extra, too.

The workout area is pretty nice for a hotel, but the indoor and outdoor pools were distinctly average. There is no hot tub or sauna.

Frankly, for this price range, I expect more. The rooms were a decent size, the hotel is quiet, and the beds were comfortable. But when I've stayed at comparably priced hotels they have been quite a bit nicer in virtually every respect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the input of our guests because that allows us to refine and improve our services.

Our hotel is located in a wonderful location on the Savannah River and it was good to note that you were able to enjoy the easy access to River Street and all its attractions.

Again, thank you for your time and thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Used our Marriott rewards and receives an upgrade to a Junior suite which was tastefully decorated and clean. The bedding was extremely comfortable. The hotel is located on a quite east end of the river and a short walk to the historic district. The a staff was extremely accommodating and friendly. I don't think you could have better accommodations for the price. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It was a pleasure to read your review and learn that you and your friends enjoyed your time with us!

Our guests comment often about our incredible location - right on the river, within steps of world famous Riverstreet, yet off the beaten path enough to offer a peaceful atmosphere.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your suite and our comfortable beds and that you highly recommend our property.

Thank you for your time. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.