We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it really a Marriott?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #55 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Orlando
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Is it really a Marriott?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been to many Marriott Hotels around the world and this one has to be one of the most disappointing ones. Where do I start? This hotel is on the outer parts of downtown Savannah. It’s not that long of walk or ferry ride to the middle of downtown but the experience and atmosphere of downtown Savannah is not the same staying here. They also charge $19 a day for self-parking, the same price as some of the hotels in the heart of downtown. There is a public 24/7 parking lot right next to the hotel (front river side) that has parking for at least half the price. This may be beneficial if you are just parking your car for your entire stay. Also, the exit out of the hotel is not manned most of the time and the gate is left open (my room overlooked the exit). The three days we were there they had someone at the exit gate for a few hours one day checking cars. I’m not saying more but hopefully you get the idea!
Ok, now for the hotel and room. Everything seems so outdated, dirty and scratched up. I think everything has that dirty-old look because things have never been updated. Around the elevators on each floor needs some TLC. In the rooms the only thing they updated is to go to flat screen TV’s but they have them in the old entertainment centers that had the BIG old TV’s. The air condition system in each room is very loud and noisy. We had to turn it off at nights to sleep. The paint on the wall was bubbling and coming off all around the intake of the air unit. They place a lot of things on the desk in the room and leave a very small area to work. I had to remove all the things to get the desk space I needed. There was just one usable power plug at the desk.
The concierge room on the 8th floor is very small, gets crowded very fast. There is no seating at times.
The worst thing was the bathroom in our room. It had small mold spots on the walls/ceiling and had a bad locker room type smell to it. There was not much room around the sink. We had to keep some of our toiletry items on the floor. The toilet paper holder was about to fall off the wall.
So you are getting the picture that this place it not a good representation of a Marriott Hotel. If you get a great deal to stay at this hotel then do it BUT if you get a price comparable to the hotels in the heart of downtown stay there.

Room Tip: There is parking 1/2 the price next to the hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We sincerely appreciate when our guests take time to let us know about their visits.

It is through comments such as yours that we can address and resolve issues. We strive to provide 100% guest satisfaction and it seems we fell short during your stay.

Your feedback is very important and we certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you Marriott at its finest.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    334
    185
    92
    52
See reviews for
190
300
32
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a quick overnight meeting. The location of this hotel is very nice. Rooms are a bit dated and could have been a bit more tidy. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Was given an upgrade to a suite just by asking. Would recommend for a visit to Savannah

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

Our hotel is located right on the Savannah River and connected to Historic River Street via our river walk so we are a prime location for business travelers and families alike.

We try to provide excellent customer service and appreciate your comments about your guest room and upgrade to a suite by our friendly staff.

We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my family had a nice time at this hotel. We booked 2 rooms and both had water views with balconies in a great location. This is a large hotel with plenty of sitting areas in hotel and outside on terrace. This hotel is pricey with $19 a day for parking (it's not secured parking, anyone off the streets could park there), $13 for WIFI and Internet and $50 a day for hotel incidentals, so if your on a budget this hotel is not for you. Breakfast is not free at this hotel, which we had the buffet everyday that cost $16 at the Blue Restaurant located on the second floor. The breakfast was good, but a little cold, needs better heating devices for food. Online it shows they have a whirlpool, which was one of the reasons I chose this hotel, but when I got there, it was filled with dirt and plants were in it. Overall enjoyed the trip, but wish Marriott could take in consideration of giving something free to there customers, because people are on a budget and will choose price over luxury.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a outside view or a room with two double bed pay $30 extra, if not you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It is wonderful to hear when guests have a nice time at our hotel. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your riverfront rooms.

Also, thank you for your comments about the breakfast buffet. The Chef is now aware of the insufficient heating equipment, so that in the future, not only will the food taste good, but be warm as well.

I apologize for your disappointment in not having a whirlpool to enjoy. Our advertising is currently being updated.

We appreciate Input from our guests. Marriott is constantly trying to improve and enhance guest satisfaction.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel for the value. It is located right on the river front & a short walk from most restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service is excellent. The only drawback is the parking fee.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Service at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear that someone had such a wonderful experience at our hotel!

We take great pride in our staff and our service. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and except for the parking fee, you seemed very pleased with your stay.

Thank you for letting us know that our rooms were comfortable and you enjoyed the incredible riverfront view from your balcony.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was leaking water from the ceiling everywhere on the 8th floor. When you pay over 200.00 a night with a discount you should not have to pay to park also, 19.00 a day. In the booklet describing amenities it gives times whirlpool is open when we went to enjoy this we were told they don't have one the clerk says yeah everyone is kinda disappointed when we tell them so this is not a recent change. The amenities, breakfast and dessert bar for the guest on the 8th floor are not open on Fri. afternoon, Sat., and Sun. The pullout sofa bed mattress was about 2 inches thick I actually slept on the couch cushions on the floor and left earlier then planned. And the decor looked old. As you can tell by this review I will NOT be returning.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit.

It seems that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, nor did we fulfill our commitment to 100% guest satisfaction.

By providing us with feedback, you let us know what our property reveals from a guest's point of view and that is vital so that we can provide all guests with a memorable and enjoyable stay.

We welcome the opportunity to have you return to our hotel so we can show our dedication to the level of service you expect from Marriott.

Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Enjoyed our stay! Great View and very convenient to shops and restaurants. Staff was vey friendly and the place was clean. Two disappointing items, $19 a day to park AND $13 a day for WIFI. That's steep. A place like this should at least be able to provide Internet Service especially to Marriot Reward Members. No Fridge in the rooms either, but we found out after we had been there a few days, we could have asked for one and they would have provided it. Would have been nice to know this upfront. Overall we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. It is our goal to have each and every guest have a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

Thank you also for your remarks about our staff and location. We receive many compliments about our friendly staff and the convenience our riverfront hotel provides to so many attractions.

We do offer complimentary refrigerators to our guests as well as complimentary internet in our hotel lobby. We strive to accommodate all guest requests, so please do not hesitate to let us know what we can do for you if we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I decided to stay here for one night. My mom my daughter and I asked for two queen beds, we were told we can only have one king bed bc they well booked! So to help us they will give us a roll away bed! Went the roll awAy bed came it was a blow up twin size mattress and it was half way inflated so I asked that they put more air into it. They did 25 mins later flat again so obviously had a hole. So my child was suppose to sleep on the floor! Called down stairs the little manager was rude and told me that was all they had and they were so over booked they could not help me we paid $238 plus $15 parking and had to sleep on the floor although the floor was clean for that much money I expected a bed and service. I will never stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhon R, Customer Care at Marriott Savannah Riverfront, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit.

Although we are not able to guarantee room type, we strive to meet every guest's request. Unfortunately, all of our double rooms were occupied, so we were unable to give you the two queen beds you requested.

Our guests rarely encounter difficulties with our staff or equipment. Thank you for sharing your experience, as now we can take corrective measures.

We apologize if any of these issues interfered with your stay. We are continually working to enhance and improve our property, so that every guest has a wonderful experience.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.