We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great For Us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #50 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Rome, GA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still Great For Us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I, with two of our grandchildren have just returned from five days at the Savannah Riverfront Marriott and we could not have asked for any better service.

Check-in was FANTASTIC. I walked up to the from desk and was greeted by Sydney who promptly said "Welcome back Mr. Buzz. I took care of you last year," and that she did. She has since been promoted to head of the Front Desk and they could not have picked a finer person. With Sydney working for you, nothing is left to chance and our check-in and our room were just what we wanted and she remembered the floor we liked.

The indoor pool is still fantastic, but the only "downer" was that the indoor whirlpool that was next to the pool is now a palm tree. When I questioned the staff as to what happened our favorite relaxation spot after a day of meetings, we found out that it was not ADA compliant (no lift for people who could not walk down the two steps) and it had to go. The pool is ADA compliant and has a lift if it were ever needed. The staff told me that this had happened to a number of places in Savannah.

Our room was spotless and up to date. Very comfortable beds, clean linens, spotlessly clean bathroom with all the little bottles of lotions and soaps.

If there was a negative about the room, it really wasn't with the room itself but with the wireless access point located three rooms down from us that was not working so...so much for the Ipads and data on cell phones. I worked a bit with their tech support folks who were most accommodating, but they just couldn't get a new access point there for the weekend. It really wasn't a big loss because we could use these devices in other parts of the hotel, and we did have a lap top with us that connected right up on their high speed wired network in our room. So...no foul and I guess it really got us off the devices so we could enjoy more family time when we were in the room.

Blue, their restaurant has a fantastic breakfast buffet of which we partook, and yes, we were spoiled by, not the wait staff which were just ordinary, but by Mr. Charlie who was cooking omelets and waffles to your personal specifications and the lady charged with keeping the buffet filled. By the end of the breakfast, you really had two new "best" friends who wanted to make you come back.

It's a great location and you are just a few steps from the cobblestones of River Street and all of the excitement and a few steps from the Water Taxi that will whisk you across the river to the island for meetings or to just ride to the Westin Hotel Complex.

Rather then move our car, we just took a taxi for an inexpensive ride to the happening downtown district of Savannah and the couple of dollars was well worth not having to try and find a parking space or pay $10 in a lot close to a restaurant.

The taxi ride home was a unique experience because I stopped this young college age fellow who was driving a bicycle two seater taxi and he said "sure" when I asked if he would take up back to the Marriott on the Riverfront. He told us all about himself and the areas of the city we passed through with the Spanish Moss hanging from the trees and the beautiful breezes of this southern night making it just perfect for my wife and myself. Couples, forget the horse drawn carriages and go for this bicycle taxi and you will LOVE IT.

If everyone is well, we will be back in Savannah again next June and guess where we plan to stay?

Room Tip: Ask for a Riverview if you want to enjoy the low tones of whistle of the cargo container ships comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    412
    244
    117
    75
See reviews for
259
394
33
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel several times for my husband's work. We love the ambiance, soft beds, and maid service, but were very disappointed that the pool amenities are not what they used to be. The indoor pool was freezing cold, and they have removed the hot tub. The kids swam for 10 minutes then got out with teeth chattering and crying to go back to the room. It was raining, so we could not try the outdoor pool. We ended up staying at Comfort Inn Suites the next night. Not as good of a location, but still in the historic district, a better value, super nice room, free wi-fi, free breakfast, and most importantly for the kids, a nice warm indoor pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

when we got there they took our bags to our room and parked our car. we went up to our room it was so great. it had a good size closet, a full bathroom, a spacey dresser,a good tv, good cofeee and best of all the balcony view. it was ASTONISING. the restaurant was super and the pool was big. best hotel I have been in for years.

Room Tip: balcony rooms are good high fllors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel does have a nice location on the river. When we checked in we were upgraded to a "suite". The room was horrible. There was a small window which overlooked the roof and the room was a bit shabby. The king bed was located behind a partition which had a TV mounted on it. I didn't fly to Savannah to stay in a cell. We asked the front desk for another room and we were given a room with two double beds that had a nice balcony which overlooked the river. Then I got stuck in the elevator. I knew to use the phone in the box to call for help and maintenance came and opened the door. After that - I guess they were working on the elevators- I had to walk down eight flights (with four other guests) because no elevators came to the floor.
After that little episode the elevators did work. Next, the pool area was clean but much too small for that large of a hotel and no umbrellas to sit under if you want shade. There is NO valet parking; so for $18.00 a day for parking what exactly do you get? I'm already paying to stay there. The lobby is very bare bones and the indoor pool is located in the lobby/atrium area. You can walk to the River Street shops and restaurants; but any other part of the historical district you will need a car or a cab ride. This hotel seems more suited for business travelers than a vacation. We did have services in the spa and the spa was very nice and clean. But not enough to get me to come back. The staff was pleasant and they have a nice breakfast buffet. I loved visiting Savannah, but I will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The front desk staff, particularly Brittany, is awesome. Whatever you need, they take care of it. That said, the hotel is ok but not worth the longer walk and additional expense. You can get a hotel closer to the action for less money that is just as nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were extremely impressed with the quality and comfort of this hotel. We always stay in a Marriott because of the comfort, but this one surpassed our expectation. The location is awesome as it is right at the end of River Street, giving great access to all the activities Savannah has to offer. Our room had a beautiful view of the river. The staff were wonderful, greeting you every time you enter the building as if they really are happy to see you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Mariott Riverview for 4 nights beginning on Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is located on the Savannah River and is laid out nicely. The rooms are becoming a little dated but are clean. It has an atrium much like Embassy Suites, but our river view room did not have a balcony to step out on over the river. There are a lot of local color restaurants within a walkable distance, about 2 or 3 city blocks down Front Street. I would not advise people who have difficulties walking, to do so,as the streets are paved with old cobble stones. You can get a taxi to
the Front Street festivities for about 6 dollars. This is also where the "paddle wheel" boats depart for dinner cruises. There is a daily parking fee of 18 dollars and a wireless fee of 12.00 dollars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#40 of 114 in Savannah
4.0 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.