We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms nice, but far from the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Statesboro, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rooms nice, but far from the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stay here once a year for a conference and I don't mind it being so far down Bay Street. If you don't mind walking, and I mean REALLY walking (which is fine a few months of the year) then no problem, otherwise you have to drive and try to find parking which is notoriously rare and expensive in the Hostess City. Since I am (almost) local, I don't mind because I have a few places I like to park, but walking this walk in late spring, summer or what we call fall can be tortuous. I don't typically eat at the tourist restaurants on that end, but would be fine for a visitor to SAV. Rooms are nice, hotel is quiet, staff is friendly. The onsite restaurant Blue is just OK and expensive, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Third floor has fewer rooms because of open atrium, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    334
    185
    92
    52
See reviews for
190
300
32
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We only could stay 1 night. The Hotel is clean . Every staff member spoke to us like they knew us. Breakfast bar plenty of food and very good. Self park is $ 18.00 Dollars a day, you can milk it for 2 days if not very late in the day they don't check the date on the ticket. Internet is NOT FREE!!! You must pay extea for it !! All in all very GOOD place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of River St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Marriott Riverfront in Savannah GA was an excellent hotel and has the perfect location. We were at the very end of the river walk, which is perfect as you are close enough to walk to all of the restaurants in the area but don't have all the traffic. From our hotel room we could view the river and watch the ships coming in to port. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again if I was in Savannah.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There's a lot to do around the hotel. It's just a few minute walk from everything on River Street and there are lots of restaurants in the area. Unfortunately, it was horrible weather the whole time we were there, so we didn't get to utilize the river walk.

All of the hotel staff is nice and accommodating. I had good interactions with all of them.

The only bad things I have to say is that the air conditioner made a loud screeching sound the first night, and the view from my room was an empty lot and an air conditioner.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the parking lot or roof top of the first floor. The river view room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to all of the River Street shops and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The stop for the free shuttle (DOT) around the historic district is a short walk away. I stayed here several years ago and the rooms have all been redecorated and updated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

No sooner did my wife and I check in, when we walked out on our balcony and spotted a dolphin playing in the river below. We watched it for a few minutes as it put on a show. So began our weekend stay at this great hotel. We can not relate to the negative reviews as every part of our stay was outstanding.
Our first encounter was with Mitch who was well versed in customer service and helped us with our bags. He also suggested restaurants and attractions in the area. Our room was on the concierge level and as you have read, had a balcony overlooking the river with views in both directions. Several large ships sailed by during our stay and they were fun to watch.
The location was perfect with an easy walk to River Street and The Pirate House Restaurant. Our room was clean and good sized with a refrigerator. Our bed was very comfortable and we were well satisfied. We recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Room 856 is great! Go for a River View with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary (2/15-2/17). The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was ok - didn't love the water pressure from the shower and there was a slight musty smell. We didn't get a room with a balcony like we thought, but it was fine. The staff was great, very helpful! The location of the hotel is fine. You're not in the historic district, but it's walkable or you can take advantage of the free bus service. Being on the river walk was fine for us. Overall, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher up the room the better the view. Rooms that face the river or the city are better than ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.