We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Savannah Riverfront to your Saves list
Marriott Savannah Riverfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Thanks to its riverfront locaton and stunning lobby, this hotel is a very pleasant place to stay. While it is on the river walk, it is at the far east end. Most resaraunts are a 5-10 minute walk away. Staff was nice as were the rooms. You definitely won't have to sleep in a beige box. It is however a business hotel, which means they don't give anything away for free. Internet is $12.95, parking is $18, and breakfast is $18.50. All and all, the Marriott offers a nice change if you feel like staying in a more upscale chain hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the few rooms with exterior balconies overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    334
    185
    92
    52
See reviews for
190
300
32
225
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I used Marroitt points for my stay at this hotel. The staff was very good. They always asked if they could be any help. I upgraded to a suite, and it was huge. There were three of us, and we had so much room. The walk to the shops on River Street was about 5 minutes. I would stay here again. I did not eat here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Hotel is right on the river, on the eastern border of the historic district. EASY walk to River Strreet, yet just far enough away to avoid crowds/noise. Very nice staff. We booked a junior suite, which was HUGE! We did not eat at the hotel (too many restaurants within walking ditance - it's Savannah, seafood galore). Hotel Spa is wonderful!

The hotel is not five star - but it was great. Only complaint we had is that there are not enough elevators, long waits! We were there for an R&R weekend, so it really didn't bother us. But the other guests and the bellmen, they seemed very frustrated! Also, curiously...the hotel's indoor pool was in the attrium on the hotel. So - ask for a room that does not have an attrium balcony - I image that may invovle some noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

A day before we checked in, Marriot took out 50usd, so I thought it was just fine...And then by the time we checked in, they had my visa card on file as protocol I guess, it was fine with us too. But by the time, we checked out, that is when I got irked, They charged us 108usd on top of the 50usd they charged, and they also held 100usd on my visa card...Our room for one night is 0nly 95usd plus tax lets say roughly 110 total. But good thing I did my Math and checked my online statement and saw all the transactions or else, We would have paid 258usd for one night. Which is ridiculous, they do not serve free breakfast, and they charge $2 for every cup of coffee. The lady at the front desk did not even bother to check that their system already held a total of $150 from our visa card.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Savannah GA due to the towns romantic and haunted history. The Marriott offered riverfront access although the access is at the far end of the river front with shops being a good hike. The hotel offers river front views with no balcony access. The river can be viewed through panoramic windows that had the potential To be amazing. Unfortunately, the window seals were cracked creating condensation build up. You could barely see through the river view due to the fogging window.

The suites are very large and spacious, but all suites are handicap accessible creating a cramped shower. The rooms were clean, vanity space was small. although advertised on the website, in room movies were not available and premium channels non existent.

Overall the hotel was nice the atrium with balcony was really neat. The indoor pool was small and the food substandard.

The spa at the hotel was average, but the spa services excellent. I would recommend the spa massage. I would also rcommend booking your spa services in advance.

Overall- the hotel was above average if you don't have to pay full rate price. AAA, AARP and military rates are good, but do not offer the discount on suites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Throughout my stay my heating/air conditioning unit made horrible crunching noises despite several requests to get it fixed. Toilet ran for 15 minutes after every flush. Most staff was friendly and helpful but they were overshadowed by downright rude and disinterested staff members. Food was barely passable in the hotel's one and only eatery. On rainy days the hotel sprung several leaks in public spaces. The pool location (in the middle of the atrium next to the bar), made the whole level humid and unpleasant. I'll stay at another property the next time I visit Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I stayed at this property for a work conference. While many staff members were nice and helpful (some others - not so much), the hotel is run down (which ic very apparent in the rooms) and in desperate need of a renovation. Despite complaining about it, my toilet continued to leak throughout my stay, the hotel's HVAC system was inadequate for keeping the lobby, atrium and meeting areas comfortable, whatever the weather, and they are definitely understaffed in some areas. The hotel only has one restuarant and it was closed at odd times (1:00 p.m. - isn't that generally considered lunch time???). By only having one restaurant, that also means that their menu is the room service menu and since it is not particularly varied, if you are staying at this property for more than a few days for a conference, you may get very tired of the same food over and over again. The water pressure in the shower was disappointing and the bathtub is concave making it impossible to enjoy a bath should you choose to take one. Many of the rooms face the atrium with balconies overlooking the atrium area and pool. This can also get very loud if there are a lot of people in the atrium. The doors (to the hallway and rooms with connecting doors) are very thin so you can here just about everything going on in the hallway and in the next room.

The ONLY reason I rated this hotel as average rather than poor is because of the staff. As noted above, most were great and that can make a big difference when working a conference.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Savannah Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Savannah Riverfront

Address: 100 General McIntosh Boulevard, Savannah, GA 31401
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Savannah Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing hotel overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Savannah Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Savannah Riverfront Hotel Savannah
Savannah Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Savannah Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.