We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
River Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Whitsett NC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

We booked the River Street Inn for a long weekend because of their Paula Deen package and location on the riverfront. My husband and I travel extensively. The stay at this inn was wonderful. The room was very nice and well appointed. The only downside was lighting. The hotel needs to put in higher wattage bulbs in the lights. We had heard reports about unfriendly staff. Everyone we encountered was super nice and very helpful. The location of this hotel is very good. We parked our car on Thursday and didn't move it until we left. Parking is in a city garage across the street. Breakfast at Huey's was very good. The afternoon wine and snacks were also great. We were able to go out on the porch and watch the river and street below. Turndown service was a nice treat. We had a queen room facing the river. Because of the age of the building, you do have some noise in the early evening. It did end by 9:00 at night. The packages the Inn offers are very good deals. I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Liked — Location and historical atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    214
    82
    72
    50
See reviews for
97
368
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

Excellent stay there.
Very clean rooms, beautiful decor.
Jacuzzi tub after all the walking was a lifesaver.
Stan, the night manager, was excellent, very knowledgeable and more than willing to help.
I would recommend staying on the river side of the inn.
The city side can get a little noisy from the big trucks on Bay St.
Will return again this fall.
The only change that could be made is that for the price of the rooms a small continental breakfast would be nice.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Well first, upon arrival someone at the front desk was being told off by I guess the manager (a man) about some computer error (and profanity was used). Then my girlfriend wanted a balcony view which we booked, but didn't get. The room that we finally received was small and had a damp smell to it. On my way to the waterfront in the elevator, I happened upon the same man who I thought was the manager, and really politely told him about our disappointment so far. He just nodded his head, kind of smiled at me and said, "well, I don't handle that" and walked off. It was just a mistake to stay here and I hope this helps others to make a better choice.

  • Liked — Savannah was beautiful, the hotel was the worst.
  • Disliked — The Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

Great location. My boyfriend and I stayed at the Riverstreet Inn for a weekend, last year. It is an older hotel with modern touches. The room we stayed at had 2 very comfortable queen beds, high ceilings, non-working fireplace, large windows and a balcony overlooking Riverstreet. The only negative I would say was that the room key (card) we were given rarely worked and this was very frustrated considering you had to have a key to use the elevator and gain access to the hotel from the street. The staff was friendly but busy. I would stay here again for the great location.

  • Liked — The great location
  • Disliked — The room key(card) rarely working
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

We had a little trouble finding the hotel since the lobby entrance is on Bay Street (we drove down River Street a couple of times first). Boy - was it worth the trouble!

Our room (5th floor with a balcony looking out on the river) was gorgeous - and huge! It had a 4-poster, king-sized bed. The furnishings were very comfortable and attractive. The bathroom was also big. And, as part of the turn down service, decadent chocolate/nut clusters!

We had breakfast every morning at Huey's and it was wonderful. We loved sitting by the open doors while eating. The food was delicious at breakfast and dinner.

Because we had a river view and there are two restaurants under the windows, we heard lots of street sounds and music until about 10:00. It didn't bother us - just added to the atmosphere.

The location is great - just a few blocks from the Market and historic district. One day, we picked up a trolley on River Street. The other days, we walked every where.

If we ever go back to Savannah, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BG KY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

The River Street Inn is in a wonderful location.Very historic and right on the river and river st. The rooms were very nice and tastfully decorated .Our problem was comfort. The bed was terrible. It was like sleeping on a board.Also, every morning of our stay we were awaken by very loud conversations by the staff outside our door. When we brought this to the front desks attetion they could have cared less.For a $240 a nite you expect more. Keep the hotel and change the staff.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the River Street Inn. This inn was the perfect location for our visit to Savannah. Our room had a queen bed and a sitting area with large windows that overlooked the river. The room had all the ameniities expected in this class of hotel, was clean, and well decorated with antiques. Check-in and out was efficient and the staff very helpful. The concierge services acquired taxis and tours for us, often on the spur of the moment!
Heuy's was great for breakfasts. We highly recommend Vic's on the Water for lunch, cocktails, or dinner. It is conveniently located right next door to the inn. Olde Pink House (restaurant we enjoyed) is located two blocks away and like most attractions is within walking distance.
I would also highly recommend Elizabeth on 37th for a romantic and elegant dinner (but that is another review :-).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is located in a building that was a pre-Civil War cotton warehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.