We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but forget the comfort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
River Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Dalton, Georgia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location but forget the comfort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We went to Savannah this month (Jan 2013) this was our first time going there and I had always wanted to go. We were there Fri-Sun and I left with a OK feeling about the trip. I actually have more fun in Gatlinburg Tennessee which is 3 hours closer to my house lol
The hotel is right on the river as are a few more hotels but that was the cheapest price for the location. Bay street is the next street behind and those were be the next closet. Any way, The hotel staff was nice, helpful and funny. The hotel is suppose to be haunted especially the 3rd floor. We never seen anything but did her strange bumps in the night. Who knows???? We were suppose to get a river view and got total opposite. We got the street view on the other side of the hotel, but did have a small balcony, very small and shared with the room beside you, weird! The rooms was on the top (5th) floor and very small. You get that rustic Savannah feel with the rooms because they hotel is a old cotton mill redone. Which I like that rustic feel. I will advise you to bring your own pillow and maybe egg crate throw down (over top) of mattress mat. The beds are horrible!!!! We slept terribly all weekend. Our backs were killing us and we tossed and turned. Very hard cheap beds. I almost fell twice in the shower. Be careful stepping in because our tub was like ice it was so slick. The tv remote barely worked, thinking batteries was needed. There wasn't a hair dryer in our room, they had to go and look for one in another room which took a good 20 mins. I basically forgot mine by accident. The hall carpet could use cleaning BIG TIME. You have to use room door keys to also operate the elevators which at times didn't work and you would have to keep trying them. very aggravating. Fresh coffee every morning which my boyfriend loved that. You can actually go up on the top of the hotel by stairs with a better view if you want. We happened up on that. No one told us. That was neat to watch the huge ships go by. I hope I don't sound picky because I certainly am not. But for $149 a night I expected more. I hope this was of help to anyone.

Room Tip: There is not pool or at least I didn't see one. Not sure about how good the room service was be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    226
    85
    77
    52
See reviews for
103
391
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We chose the River Street Inn because it is downtown and allowed for easy walking to most sites of interest. We asked and received a river view room because we like to see ships. The rooms are small, especially when you ask for a refrigerator because they are found only in rooms with two beds. That seems unnecessary, but that's the way it is. If you are used to staying in large hotel rooms, this may not suit you, but I chose the location and historic value above size. Contrary to several reviews, the staff was always pleasant and accommodating. Note that parking is about a block away and costs $10 per day. I expected that so there was no problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We wanted a taste of historic Savannah and thought we found it here. We were very wrong. Where was the southern hospitality? Where was the customer service? Not here we discovered! Staff was rude and unwilling and uncaring to address our concerns and needs. What ever you do...don't occupy a river view room (at a higher price) unless you are a night owl and don't mind the noise from the bars below. I'm talking 2:30 am!!! The rooms were ok but not stellar for $200.00/night and there was no lounge, breakfast area or point of gathering. Our experience was very disappointing and would not recommenf anyone staying here. Certainly no bang for the buck!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love historic places! Love antique's, love to visit and stay in quality, historic Inn's - this is NOT one of them. First of all, the front desk staff needs a quick tutorial in customer service. They need to be reminded that they are there to serve us during our stay there. My room was not clean, picked up, yes; clean, no. Colleagues of mine, found a dead roach, lying on his back in their room and he was there for the entire three night stay. Great housekeeping service, huh? The floor boards were coming loose, the linens had holes in them, the wallpaper and bed spreads were dated. Carpet in the rooms and in the common areas such as the hallways was worn and threadbare. The wine and cheese reception consisted of piped in 80's music and one choice or red/white wine with some cheese cubes and crackers. Overall, this Historic Inn needs to close down for a bit and get a major overhaul! At $179.00 per night - horrible value! They don't even have irons and ironing boards in each room.

Room Tip: A few rooms have jetted tubs and fireplaces but ask for a fireplace WITHOUT a roach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotha, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights of our 39 honeymoon week here.We had a wonderful room with a little balcony where we enjoyed watching the big ships go by. The staff was great and when my wife left her coat in the room they promptly UPS it to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location to the river and shops. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was so musty smelling we left a day early because I couldn't breath. Should have expected it because of the age and area of the Inn. Would not recommend for anyone wanted a quiet room or if you have a sensitivity to mold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Called and talked to a funny, helpful guy and got a room. Checked in, parked and went to the room and its the sweet! River view, balcony, top floor, close as could be to things, so me and my wife walked back down and booked it for the next day.
Passing thru, went to spending the night, to spending two nights. Lol.

We're random some times!! But seriously.....only thing, if I have b#@$ about something, I like puffy pillows and/or a lot of them too sleep with and there's where a wittle thin.
A huge cargo ship just past by our window/door and was so cool looking and very quiet. Never seen one that close before.
If you here in Savannah stay at this inn or hotel. It's well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is located in a building that was a pre-Civil War cotton warehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.