We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, yes. Enjoyable, NO” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
River Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
Irmo, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historic, yes. Enjoyable, NO”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We wanted a taste of historic Savannah and thought we found it here. We were very wrong. Where was the southern hospitality? Where was the customer service? Not here we discovered! Staff was rude and unwilling and uncaring to address our concerns and needs. What ever you do...don't occupy a river view room (at a higher price) unless you are a night owl and don't mind the noise from the bars below. I'm talking 2:30 am!!! The rooms were ok but not stellar for $200.00/night and there was no lounge, breakfast area or point of gathering. Our experience was very disappointing and would not recommenf anyone staying here. Certainly no bang for the buck!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    214
    82
    72
    50
See reviews for
97
368
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I love historic places! Love antique's, love to visit and stay in quality, historic Inn's - this is NOT one of them. First of all, the front desk staff needs a quick tutorial in customer service. They need to be reminded that they are there to serve us during our stay there. My room was not clean, picked up, yes; clean, no. Colleagues of mine, found a dead roach, lying on his back in their room and he was there for the entire three night stay. Great housekeeping service, huh? The floor boards were coming loose, the linens had holes in them, the wallpaper and bed spreads were dated. Carpet in the rooms and in the common areas such as the hallways was worn and threadbare. The wine and cheese reception consisted of piped in 80's music and one choice or red/white wine with some cheese cubes and crackers. Overall, this Historic Inn needs to close down for a bit and get a major overhaul! At $179.00 per night - horrible value! They don't even have irons and ironing boards in each room.

Room Tip: A few rooms have jetted tubs and fireplaces but ask for a fireplace WITHOUT a roach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotha, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights of our 39 honeymoon week here.We had a wonderful room with a little balcony where we enjoyed watching the big ships go by. The staff was great and when my wife left her coat in the room they promptly UPS it to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location to the river and shops. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was so musty smelling we left a day early because I couldn't breath. Should have expected it because of the age and area of the Inn. Would not recommend for anyone wanted a quiet room or if you have a sensitivity to mold.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Called and talked to a funny, helpful guy and got a room. Checked in, parked and went to the room and its the sweet! River view, balcony, top floor, close as could be to things, so me and my wife walked back down and booked it for the next day.
Passing thru, went to spending the night, to spending two nights. Lol.

We're random some times!! But seriously.....only thing, if I have b#@$ about something, I like puffy pillows and/or a lot of them too sleep with and there's where a wittle thin.
A huge cargo ship just past by our window/door and was so cool looking and very quiet. Never seen one that close before.
If you here in Savannah stay at this inn or hotel. It's well worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at the River Street Inn twice. Our room has always been large and the view of the river great. We looked at some other places that were more in the middle of the city but they don't really compare. The room was large with nice wooden floors. There was a little balcony so you could look up and down the river. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. There are several nice restaurants nearby. The only negative is the noise from the places on River Street. It goes away by eleven in the evening.

Room Tip: We have always been in a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the historic and boutique characteristics. While it is both, in architecture and decor, it was not as comfortable as I had hoped. Hard flat pillows, less than ideal water pressure, and layout brought its marks down a notch. I understand that the buildings limitations make it difficult to be designed in a certain way, but I found it rather inconvenient to have to go up to the 4th floor to go down the hall to a different elevator to get to my room on the (other half of the) 3rd floor. They did, however, provide a nice complimentary wine and cheese hour nightly in the tavern, where you can sit in rocking chairs in the porch and people-watch. I would probably try a different hotel next time I come to savannah. The location is good, if you want to be right on the waterfront.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is located in a building that was a pre-Civil War cotton warehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.