We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic value only” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River Street Inn to your Saves list
River Street Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Savannah B&B and Inns
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Historic value only”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel for the historic and boutique characteristics. While it is both, in architecture and decor, it was not as comfortable as I had hoped. Hard flat pillows, less than ideal water pressure, and layout brought its marks down a notch. I understand that the buildings limitations make it difficult to be designed in a certain way, but I found it rather inconvenient to have to go up to the 4th floor to go down the hall to a different elevator to get to my room on the (other half of the) 3rd floor. They did, however, provide a nice complimentary wine and cheese hour nightly in the tavern, where you can sit in rocking chairs in the porch and people-watch. I would probably try a different hotel next time I come to savannah. The location is good, if you want to be right on the waterfront.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    206
    79
    71
    49
See reviews for
92
358
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is exactly where you want to be, right on the river. Its located within walking distance to tons resturants and shopping. PLUS, its only about a five minute walk to some of the most haunted buildings in Savannah, which everyone should see, even if your only passing through.
Expect a workout on your legs also, lots of steps and cobblestone in the area, but thats what history is all about.
The Inn itself is beautiful. The staff is great, very informative, also, the food on the premises is wonderful.
All in all, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I love this historic hotel. I always feel like I've stepped back in time! It's always my first choice when I visit Savannah. I've stayed there at least 6 times & each experience has been memorable. The location is perfect for easy access to great shops, food & exploring the city. The staff is always friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early December - if it wasn't a weekend it seems that parking would have been a problem but we lucked out and got a good spot right in the back and just left the car there for the weekend. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a beautiful old brick building right in the center of everything. There is a cocktail reception each evening, we only went once but there were light snacks and drinks. Our room was very spacious, nice canopy bed, huge bathroom and a balcony that looked out on Bay street with a very nice view of the beautiful City Hall building. Every night there was a turn down service with delicious chocolates - made my day! Good value and great experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

So my dear husband chose this hotel, thinking it would be a treat to stay right on the Savannah River and watch the sights. And, indeed it would have been, had there not been 8 bars on the very first floor of the hotel, facing the river. Until about 2 am, we were serenaded by various drunks, awakened by loud and boisterous partyers, and even intimidated by a Making Memories limo, full of inebriated folks, with the song Margaritaville playing at top volume. It was so noisy (it went on for 20 minutes) that I finally got up, opened the window and asked the driver to move on. When he made no move to get his drunk passengers in the limo and move on, I told him I'd just call the police ( which I did).
So, if you sleep like the dead, stay here! If not, and you want the old savannah feeling, stay at one of the charming bed and breakfasts, off the river.
Lastly, the staff have been diffident at best. Not patient or gracious. And the pillows are awful! At this price, you'd think they would get rid of these raggedy old, flat pillows.
Spend your savannah dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Find a B and B!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in December 2012 for the weekend. We have nothing but good things to say. The inn is beautiful and puts you in the center of the action on River St. We could walk out of our room and down two flights of stairs and step directly on to River St. We stayed in a king bed city view room which was large and very nice. The bed was incredibly comfortable. They also offer a AAA discount if you are a member so don't forget to ask. The only thing that is a little annoying is the lack of parking. We were lucky enough to get a space about 40 feet from our room but if not you have to park in a garage across the street. Despite that, the inn was wonderful and we will defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, but I would not classify it as a BnB. It's staff was more friendly, they had a wine hour and had a more home like feel than your typical hotel chain, but at the end of the day I would still say it was a hotel.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a short weekend trip to Savannah. It's location is excellent, the front of the hotel is actually on the River Front walk so you are near all the bars and restaurants. The decor is interesting, super southern with big magnolia wallpaper in our room and a huge canopy style bed. Our room (just a regular one bed room on the second floor) had a nice large bathroom and even a sort of seating area with two chairs and a small table beside the bed. The bed was comfy and the linens were nice.

The only real downfall was that our room smelled slightly musty. It was kind of like nobody had used it in a while. It's actually due to the fact that you are so close to the river and it was pretty humid the weekend we stayed and the building is older so it doesn't have excellent ventilation. It's not anything the hotel can help and it did not hinder our trip at all. However, I know my sister's allergies would have gone c-r-a-z-y had she been with us and it would not have been a place she could have stayed due to this.

There is a $10 charge for parking per day and it is in a deck about two blocks away. This is typical in the historic district, but just a heads up!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 East Bay Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn that is located in a building that was a pre-Civil War cotton warehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.