We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay. Will definitely come back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Desoto Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Desoto Savannah to your Saves list
Hilton Desoto Savannah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E. Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi Special
Ranked #40 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Asheboro, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay. Will definitely come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay. We visited Savannah for our anniversary. The front desk staff was very pleasant and quick with our check in/out. We had a great view of the bridge and saw the fireworks from River St. The hotel is located in a great halfway spot in the historic district. Halfway between Forsyth Park and the river shops. The streets are narrow so walking is the best way to get around. We were able to walk to City Market in less than 10 minutes. Expect the hotel to be older looking structurally. There were no signs of renovation as in previous reviews. Our room was very spacious, the bed was sooo nice (king sized, memory foam-like mattress, high quality sheets and comforter, lots of pillows), and the bathroom was decorated spa-like. It was a very nice and relaxing room to have a getaway in. The only thing that was an inconvenience was the crazy underground parking lot/dungeon. You will be billed $13 a day for parking under the hotel. There are limited parking spaces which was a hassle. It's better to leave your car in the parking area and just walk everywhere. I guess that's how historic Savannah is though. There's limited parking everywhere. Other than the small parking issue, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and our stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    425
    217
    135
    64
See reviews for
235
452
45
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

This hotel was in a great location in historic downtown Savannah. Forsyth Park is a few blocks behind it and River Street is a few blocks infront of it. All the rooms have just been renovated. One of the employees there advised me that they had just finished with the renovation recently. The rooms are very nice and clean. Most have views of the city. One thing to keep in mind about this hotel is that there is a possiblity for a lot of extra charges. You have to pay $13/day to park in the parking deck there. Good breakfast buffet, but this is also charged to the room. The nightly rate is fairly low to start with for such a nice hotel. So even with extra charges it still isn't too bad. And if you like to work out, you get a free pass to a gym in downtown savannah....they won't tell you this at check-in, so you have to ask.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

After spending 3 nights in a very highly recommended bed and breakfast, we decided to spend another night in Savanna. We were not at all impressed with the b&b experience but found the Hilton Savanna DeSoto to be wonderful. The room was freshly decorated, large and had a great view of some of the historic district. The location can't be beat and the staff was great. Our only complaint: Other guests who thinks it's okay to converse in the halls of hotels!!! We will certainly visit Savanna again soon and will be staying at the Hilton Savanna DeSoto.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — still under construction-no restaurant, inconvenient front entrance
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We stayed at the Savannah DeSoto Hilton on New Year's Eve 2008/09. This is a nice Hilton in the middle of a major renovation that is doing its best to maintain a high level of service during the project. Our experience was that they are succeeding.

The directions to the hotel on Hilton's webpage are spot on accurate and we had no problems locating the hotel. We arrived about nine pm, entered the below ground parking deck only to find every single space filled, and parked a block away on the street. It was hard to tell in the dark, but it looked like a nice neighborhood, a fact confirmed in the daylight, and we had no incident with parking.

Check in was quick and efficient. I had put a request in my reservation for a high floor facing the river so we could see the fireworks at midnight, and we were assigned just such a room. As a Hilton Diamond member we also received two coupons for breakfast (until noon on New Year's Day; now someone was thinking!) and two coupons for a free drink in the bar.

The room was not enormous, but it was clean and comfortable and everything worked. There was a large picture window, and we enjoyed watching the fireworks at midnight. Our room clearly was one of the newly renovated ones, and although the bathroom was on the small side it was clearly built in the available space within the hotel's shell.

My only complaint with the DeSoto Hilton was in the bed. We were staying free on redeemed Hhonors points and had a choice between the Doubletree and Hampton Inn downtown on River Street, and the DeSoto, all requiring the same number of points. We chose the Hilton for the Serta Serenity Sleeper bed, but instead of the wonderful mattress that is like sleeping on air we had a large foam mattress that was hard as a rock. If you choose Hiltons for their bed, don't chose the DeSoto.

In the morning we went to the breakfast buffet set up in the grand ballroom, complete with a bloody Mary or Mimosa bar. The food was good and hot and all the members of the staff were cheerful and friendly. Later the concierge gave us some good sight seeing tips, including the ability to catch one of the sight seeing shuttle tours right outside the hotel. There are on-and-off privileges on the tour, so you never have to worry about finding a parking space in downtown. The tour was great for first timers to Savannah like us.

I think the restaurant is temporarily closed, although the small bar at one end of the lobby was open and there is a Starbuck's Cafe inside the lobby as well. Eventually they will build a new restaurant, a new business center and a new fitness center. The entrance way was very elegant, and the elevators were prompt.

It turned out that we had parked in a lovely neighborhood. We went for a walk through several of the city squares right behind the hotel that dot this beautiful city, winding our way back and forth on the small side streets enjoying the architecture and the Spanish moss hanging from the live oak trees. Later we cashed in our coupon for a free drink before leaving. All in all it was a lovely stay at the Hilton DeSoto.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2009

We were very impressed by our stay at the Hilton Savannah Desoto. We requested an early check-in and were able to have our room by 12:00 so we could dress for an event at 2:00. The staff was accomodating and polite throughout our entire stay. Most of the complaints given by others seem to be because of renovation noise or condition of rooms. We asked for a room on a floor away from reno and heard NO noise. The room was newly renovated. Beds were very comfortable, but they were doubles and we had 2 adults/2 kids so we were a little cramped. Room size was fine though. We had a great view and the location was awesome.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala,FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We loved this hotel. It was right in the middle of the historic district and easy to walk to everything. We also were able to buy tickets to the trolley at the hotel and catch it right outside the door. The room faced the river district and was on the 9th floor. They warned us ahead of time that they were renovating the rooms above us but we didn't hear anything. I would say the only issue was there was some traffic noise at night but other than that we had a great time. The restaurant was closed for renovation also but it was not an issue as they still had an area serving buffet breakfasts.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — noise at night
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston S.C.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hilton Desoto for just one night. Upon arriving I did not receive any help with luggage (which I needed). The staff however were all extremely accomadating. I stay in hotels alot and found all the staff to be some of the best I've found. The rooms are very nice and big. Nice desk with new large TV and very clean. The thermastat seemed to be stuck on 72 degrees which caused me to have to keep the balcony door open. Upon checking out, i went down and could not find any bellman to help with luggage again. YOU WOULD THINK THAT WITH THIS ECONOMY THERE WOULD BE PLENTY OF HELP. I did very much like this hotel however and recommend it highly when staying in Savannah.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Desoto Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Desoto Savannah

Address: 15 E. Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#36 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Desoto Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Desoto Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Savannah Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Desoto Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.