We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Savannah Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Desoto Savannah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Desoto Savannah to your Saves list
Hilton Desoto Savannah
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 E. Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Package
Ranked #46 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Full of Savannah Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

One thing I love about this hotel is how, for a large high-rise hotel, it really captures the charm of Savannah and has a "Grand Old Hotel" kind of feel about. The rooms are updated and clean. Service is friendly and down to earth. And it's in a good, quiet location in the middle of Savannah. I definitely feel at home here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies...request a corner room with a balcony overlooking the bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Kerryboat - Thanks for the great review! As we like to say we are in the heart of Savannah with Madison Square right out the back door! Beautiful green space and Forsyth Park just a short walk from there. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your many returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    372
    198
    130
    62
See reviews for
213
405
40
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This review is late, as I was remiss in writing one last June when I stayed at the Desoto Hilton in Savannah-- since I have benefitted from others' reviews on trip advisor, I thought I should reciprocate. This hotel was a wonderfull place to stay. It's in a great location-- in the heart of the Historic District. We walked to many of the sites I wanted to see. If you want the Old Town Trolley, the stop is on the side of the hotel across the street. Very close. The rooms are clean, the staff was friendly and efficient, the elevators were fast, and the beds were very comfortable. Some reviews mentioned that the rooms needed updating-- depends on one's taste, I guess. I found the room to be charming and adequate. If you're a 'Midnight . . . ' fan you can walk to many of the book's locations including Clary's where the food is delicious. You can also walk to the BEAUTIFUL St. John the Baptist Catholic Church and Lafayette Square. When I go back to Savannah, the Desoto Hilton is where I'll stay!

Room Tip: I was told to get a corner room with balcony for best view-- I didn't. Next time I'll ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
JRBlum67- Thank you for the kind review, if you like the old South and an older facility with nice enhancements we are your place in the heart of Savannah not by the river! Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

don't know about staying here, but we always make time and effort to eat at the lunch buffet here. $12.95 for seniors. fresh salads, several meats, fantastic desserts, drink, etc. It's fancy without being uncomfortable. Good service. In a city where food is overpriced and often small servings, we enjoyed the hilton buffet, once again. It's almost the same as it was a few yers ago. that's always a concern, but although it did have the middle bar gone, it was till sufficient and tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Emptywallet - thanks for the feedback, nothing like fresh fried chicken and biscuits! Thanks for returning and we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to stay somewhere nice for our last night in Savannah after our beach wedding on Tybee. We were assigned a room with two double beds that was dirty everywhere walls, ceilings and bathroom. When we called down and asked for another room we were told there were not any other rooms, then called back a few minutes later saying we could get another room if we paid more for a king (we booked via the Internet). When I went to get the keys and told them in further detail about the room we were offered a free dessert and still paid for the "upgrade." The second room, though not as shabby, was not much better. It was loud (you could hear everything outside) and when showering if your neighbor flushed, you were scalded. Not a great experience. By far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in Savannah.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
HRgirl0105 - Sorry your stay wasn't all you expected. We certainly try to make sure all experiences are good ones. We will certainly review procedures and make sure what you are specifying is addressed, my apologies and also congratulations!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Lunch was terriffic for $13.95 a person. Very good selection of piping hot food and a dessert bar.

Room Tip: Make sure you do the lunch buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Star V - Thanks for the positive feedback and come back and see us for Mother's day brunch!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Ideally positioned in mid town about a 15 minute walk from the river. The lobby is very impressive. We had a room on high floor at end/side of hotel overlooking the cathedral, stunning view, room very clean and well serviced. Reception staff are excellent. The dining room lacks a little atmosphere, The breakfast and service were very good but the room is not inviting so we did not have dinner there. Pool area pleasant and we usually spent an hour or 2 there at end of days touring.
Savannah is a beautiful city and well worth a visit, take the trolley ride, you can get on and off at any stop and there are some baeutiful houses/buildings to see and visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
NGS44 - Thanks for the great feedback and for staying in the hostess city! I couldn't agree more on the beauty of it all! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff City, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Most importantly, the room was clean.The beds were very comfortable. The coffee was excellent. The staff was very nice and went out of their way to be helpful. I had my doubts about the location since I had always stayed on Bay Street before, but these accomodations have become so expensive that I decided to try somewhere else. Actually, I prefer the central location of the Hilton DeSoto and it was much quieter than the Bay Street location. I would like to have seen a microwave/refrigerator combo in the room. Yes, you do have to pay an extra $18 per night for valet parking, but the room was so reasonable that it was still a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kbrockway, General Manager at Hilton Desoto Savannah, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Charjean - Thanks for the great feedback, we are working on putting in refrigerators but only in our corner king rooms which are larger and can handle a refrigerator, there is a small upcharge for this room as it is larger and has a patio, give that a try next time you come in and thanks for giving us a try and for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Desoto Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Desoto Savannah

Address: 15 E. Liberty Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown , Historic District - North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Savannah
#31 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Desoto Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Desoto Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Savannah Desoto Hotel Savannah
Hilton Hotel Savannah Desoto
Savannah Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Desoto Savannah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.