We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet & well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Reserve Directly
Ranked #16 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet & well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We only had two nights in Savannah and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Planters Inn. The Inn is beautiful and unique, We were very happy we chose it -it has the "flavor" of Savannah, something you can't say about the larger chains. It was clean, comfortable and nicely appointed, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is great, you are in the Historic District but close to the waterfront and City Market. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast too, which went way beyond your typical Continental breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    930
    482
    123
    43
    28
See reviews for
208
909
56
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MERRITT ISLAND
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Everything about the Planter's Inn is 5 stars!!!! The staff was so accomodating to all our needs. The rooms were beautiful and very clean. They even had a bottle of champagne waiting in my sister and her husband's room because it was their 40th anniversary. The wine social made for a very nice way to start the evening. I would definitely stay there again!!! My compliments to Mr. Marc Friday, the general manager, for a job well done!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Planter’s Inn for 5 nights in June. Other reviewers have already mentioned the hotel’s qualities: the great location, the beautiful décor, the comfortable rooms, and the attentive service. I join in all those accolades and will add another. Right before we went to Savannah, our doctor put my wife and I on a restricted diet. (Yes, we went to Savannah but couldn’t eat at any of the restaurants. We have to go back, of course.) We took along the pre-packaged meals as part of the diet, but unfortunately the hotel doesn’t have a microwave available to the public. However, the hotel staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. The front desk sent people up every day to heat up our meals and bring them back. In fact, after the first couple of days they started to bring up a room service cart to make it more convenient for us. While the Planter’s Inn may be a bit more expensive than some of the other downtown Savannah hotels, it is definitively worth it for this level of service. Thanks for making it a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Planters Inn is in a great location in the historic district. The rooms are small but very nice and very clean. Our room overlooked Reynolds Square and we loved it. Over the holiday weekend it was nice and quiet but after that the workman started drilling early which was a bit of a disturbance but nothing awful. Breakfast was good and the wine and cheese reception was okay, although not friendly.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Hotel has an excellent location. Just a few minutes from River Street where there are many restaurants and shops. Also a short walk from Paula Deen's restaurant as well as many historic sites and attractions. The rooms are not huge but there was ample space for the two of us. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. There was wine and cheese served in the lobby every evening. Hotel has an excellent continental breakfast. Ice was routinely brought to our room every evening. Concierge and rest of the staff were extremely helpful. Very good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake geneva, fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Savannah is one of my favorite places to visit & I go there often. I've stayed in a different location each time, but now I've finally found the best! Planters Inn was everything a southern inn should be. It was clean, beautiful (inside & out), friendly staff, professional attitude, and truely a southern jewel! Thanks for the great visit!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

With hundreds of Savannah lodging choices, I needed a little luck to select "the right" place to stay during my mother/daughter trip. Fortune was on my side. As always, I turned to Trip Advisor to help make my decision and thank goodness I did! The three-night stay at Planters Inn proved to be an excellent selection and true value!
A lousy day of cancelled flights resulted in late Savannah arrival. It was comforting to be greeted at the Planters Inn with the fragrance of warm fresh cookies and the hospitality of Bellman Cronaur and the gracious young man at the front desk (from SMU). Both made us feel welcomed and relieved that we had selected and arrived at the Planters Inn.
Our upgraded room was lovely with two queen four poster beds. The nicely decorated room was spacious and pristine. Breakfast was included, as was wine and cheese in the evening and those fragrant late night cookies!
An additional bonus-- as we found during our stay--the Planters Inn location is great! So close to everything! The hotel is on Reynolds Square next door to The Pink House--a must for all Savannah travelers (shrimp and grits to die for!) Room service can be ordered from The Pink House/Planters Tavern--and I am still kicking myself that we did not take advantage by ordering more shrimp and grits!
I especially would like to compliment the front desk staff. Andrea was wonderful to assist with tour recommendations and reservations. At the last minute, we opted to attend "The Beat Goes On" a Savannah Theater production that delights! Andrea made reservations for us AND to our surprise, presented us with coupons to present at will-call.
I am usually a bed and breakfast traveler. The Planters Inn is small hotel offering the comfortable feel of a B&B without the intimate pressures you sometime find at much smaller B&B's. I could not be more pleased with our accomodations at the Planters Inn.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
#7 Business Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.