We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Southern Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Full Southern Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

4 nights at this inn and each was delightful as the next. A great location walking distance to everywhere.The room was large and spacious with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with plenty of clean towels and a big wash basin area for toiletries. Every evening ice was delivered and each afternoon complimentary drink were served. In the evening warm cookies were available for the guest and the staff were all warm and friendly. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    546
    140
    48
    35
See reviews for
244
1,043
67
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our first stay at Planters Inn and we were very pleased with everything about the inn. We were greeted immediately and warmly upon our arrival. In an ideal location, it appears that the building was renovated in recent years and everything about it was fresh and beautiful. Our room was more than comfortable and it was also spotless. Breakfast was simple and offered many healthy options, which we appreciated.

Our stay was short, but I would highly recommend the Planters Inn to anyone visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

What can you say about a place that is so rich in history as it is in customer service? The Hotel was top notch, the staff was equal as well. The staff was friendly and willing to help in any way possible. The room was perfect and the sounds of horses walking down the road at night just added to the ambiance. The location is ideal to enjoy all the Savannah has to offer. We will be back the next time we travel to Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

After our first stay here a year ago we didn't even consider another historict district property. Central location, convenient valet parking, comfortable room, enjoyable wine & cheese reception (except Sunday's), friendly staff and a very nice complimentary breakfast. Savannah is usually the last stop on our way home to SW Florida so we love to spend a day walking the squares. We also tend to blow the budget and go for top notch accommodations and a couple of upscale dinners. Planters Inn is on the pricey side but if your budget has room we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Planters Inn is a beautiful property with a lot of Southern charm in what is probably the best location in the historic district of Savannah. I requested a room with a king bed on a high floor, preferably overlooking Reynolds Square and that's exactly what I got. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and comfortable. The four poster bed was comfortably soft and I slept well all three nights we were there. The complimentary wine and cheese social held evenings in the Lobby was enjoyable and you could intermingle with other guests if you wanted to. The only negatives were that one of the two elevators was out of order on two of the days we were there and the breakfast room on the mezzanine was small and on two mornings we had to wait for a table to empty before we could be seated. The Olde Pink House Restaurant is right next door and we dined there two consecutive nights because it was so good.

Room Tip: I was in room 520, which was a corner room on the 5th floor, overlooking Reynolds Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Planters Inn is an attractive, charming, nicely-maintained and very clean historic district hotel with polite and helpful staff members. The tariff includes a very nice wine & cheese cocktail hour, a full breakfast on the mezzanine level, terry cloth robes, bottled water, and newspapers. I am to be a frequent Savannah visitor in the future and I will always stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators as Savannah visitors stay up late & enjoy themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location can't be beat. The price was competitive with other hotels in the Savannah historic district. The desk staff excellent, all super nice and helpful. Very friendly valets/bell staff. The wine and cheese was nice. This is an older but very well maintained hotel and as such didn't have a couple of the items you will usually find in a modern chain place. There was no re fridge in our room and ice was only available by calling the front desk. However, it arrived immediately by bell hop. The hotel has only four balcony rooms. So if you want one, you might have to book early. We had one, shared with another room, on the 5th floor overlooking Reynolds Square. So nice to sit out there. An upgrade charge, but worth it for us. The breakfast buffet was ok, similar to most hotel breakfast buffets. However, there is a great breakfast place in the same building around the corner if you want a full breakfast. Next time in Savannah, we certainly will book the Planters Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.