We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct
Ranked #15 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel in an old building on Reynolds Square in the centre of Savannah. It's easy to find and well located for the Historic district and the riverfront area. The valet parking is easy and efficient. The reception / lobby area is impressive with high ceilings, grand piano, mahogany furniture and paintings. We arrived at 11.00am and the room wasn't ready but we were able to check-in, store the cases and have the car parked. The valet suggested where to go first in Savannah. The reception staff helped us when we were doing a tour of the city and they phoned to see if the mini-bus was on it's way. Between 5.30 -7.30 pm at this hotel they offer free wine, cheese, biscuits and nibbles which is nice and very popular. Our room was nice with a four poster bed and views across the Historic district to numerous churches. The bathroom was adequate with a good shower. There was a coffee making machine, free water and sweets before bed. Breakfast is available and included,- continental style,- with juice, coffee, yogurt, bananas, bagels, eggs, muffins and French toast. As we were leaving more fruit was arriving,- grapefruit and strawberries. This is a comfortable, well located hotel for seeing the historic district of Savannah.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    555
    146
    51
    36
See reviews for
249
1,061
69
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed Aug 21 and enjoyed a standard queen room . It was very clean and roomy and met out expectations. The staff was great and very accomodating. My only complaint is the soft mattress they provide on their beautiful 4 poster beds. My husband is 200 lbs and I am 120 lbs.
The bed did sink in the middle and made for an uncomfortable night. If you require a firm mattress I would look elsewhere. There were many reviews about their soft mattresses on tripadvisor before I booked and when I called they assured me the owner would not allow bad mattresses in his hotel and they had been changed out. This wasn't the case in our room. We loved the hotel, wish they had better beds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I came to Savannah for the first time and stayed at the Planters Inn. It was a pleasant choice! The staff here is very friendly, accommodating, and makes you feel welcome. Our room was comfortable and clean. At night they offer wine and cheese and have someone playing piano. It really set the tone for our nice evenings out. The location is right downtown and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and nightlife. We did the valet parking and it made it super easy. Unless heading outside of the city you won't need the car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Everyone was so helpful and willing to help to make our stay the best posible. The wine reception in the lobby the first night was wonderful. We had dinner at the Pink House and had left our umbrella in the car, it was raining very hard the bell hop went out to the car and retreived our umbrella and rain gear so we would not get wet walking next door to our dinner reservations. The breakfast was wonderful. Overall it was a very nice place to stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is a keeper. Clean, attractive, excellent location within walking distance of all downtown attractions & restaurants. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and will go out of my way to stay there again. The evening wine reception and morning breakfast both very nice. I do wish there was an ice machine available to guests so that getting ice did not involve calling the desk and having it delivered, but do understand that there are space limitations in an older inn. It was raining for our stay and of course I had left my umbrella in the car - the front desk had loaners available for the guests and this was very appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

For a return visit to lovely Savannah after several years we chose the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square. So happy we did. Excellent location, easy walking distance to Bay Street, City Market, and other sights in the historic district. Located on lovely Reynolds Square where it was so pleasant to sit on a park bench in the evening after dinner listening to a classical violinist play beneath the statue of John Wesley. The staff at the Planters Inn were all very friendly and helpful, especially Sam, one of the bellmen. The rooms were quiet and clean, comfortably furnished. Some nice touches: it was so nice after a hot, steamy (it was August in Savannah after all) walk around the city to come into the hotel and enjoy a cup of cold lime/lemon/strawberry-flavored water in the lobby; wine and cheese also served in the lobby late afternoon and warm cookies in the evening. It would be nice to have a breakfast room with windows; it felt a little claustrophobic and food offerings were just ordinary, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I shared a couple of nights at the Planter's Inn on our first visit to Savannah. We'll stay no other place...and I'm not easily impressed. The Inn really enhanced our vacation to this wonderful town...we are planning a return visit during the Winter.

Room Tip: Staying here you don't need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.