We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #16 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Albany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My Mom & I stayed here and had a great experience. Everyone was very friendly and the location was perfect! Ate at the Pink House next door and it was fabulous!!! Will definitely stay here again. PS The breakfast was a nice surprise and I was able to take my Mom breakfast in bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    939
    483
    125
    43
    28
See reviews for
210
915
57
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Planters Inn is a very beautiful hotel in the center of historic Savannah. It exemplifies Southern hospitality at its best. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and enjoyed a wonderful celebration of our country's birth. Amenities and rooms are wonderful. This is our second time staying at the Planters Inn, and although our room was beautiful, we faced the parking garage, and the noise was pretty loud throughout the night. We will definitely stay there next July but will request a room away from the parking garage.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room facing the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Savannah last year and stayed at the Planters Inn and loved it so much that we decided to come back for our five year anniversary and with our 11 month old. We couldn't be any happier with our choice. I had told the front desk person we were there for our 5 year anniversary and to our surprise we had a bottle of bubbly in our room.

Aside from that theinn is located walking distance from the riverfront and near a lot of restaurants, including the Pink House, Angel's BBQ and zunzis which we saw all on the food network.

As soon as you enter you feel welcomed by the staff. They also have something in the lobby, whether its ice cold lemon water or cookies. Then in the evenings the cheese and wine add another nice touch to your stay. I hope we visit Savannah again and without a doubt we will stay at Planters inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great small hotel, in the middle of everything. Rooms well appointed, a little small but still very nice. We were treated very well, had a problem with our bed and was immediately moved to another room. Concierge Karen is incredible and helped make out stay very enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime. Right next to Pink House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for my husband's 39th birthday. We were warmly welcomed, and the hotel far exceceded our expectations. It is right on a square, only about 3 blocks from River Street, but still quiet. The view isn't spectacular, but we weren't in the room much, so it didn't matter. The housekeeping staff was efficient, and the turn-down service a bonus we had not experienced before.

The only negative (and it is a slight one) was the size of the shower head -- it was very small and hard to wash your entire body at one time.

However that did not take away from our trip or our experience and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for the balcony room --- at 60.00 a day, it really isn't worth it --- especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. The location is great, right on one of the park squares and just two blocks back from the riverfront. It's also just a few steps away from the Pink House, which is one of our favorite restaurants in Savannah. We parked the car for the weekend and walked everywhere. As a boutique hotel, it's a nice middle ground between a generic chain hotel and a full on B&B. Our room had one queen bed and it was nice and spacious - I'd rather have that than be crowded out with two doubles. One wall was full of windows - three in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour and a continental breakfast, but we didn't partake in those. The staff was nice - friendly and prompt - so overall we had a great experience.

The one big flaw, unfortunately, is the open, multi-story parking garage right next door. It spoils the view all the way up to the sixth floor, where we were, and it bounces a lot of noise around because it's mostly open air rather than enclosed. We were okay overall but things did get a little hairy on Saturday night when the weekend partiers headed back to their cars and had to race around the structure with their stereos blasting. At that point the garage acts as a big amplifier directed at the hotel next door. If on the rooms were on the other side of the building...but none of them are. The windows on the other side are all bricked over, so no rooms there.

Overall the place is very nice and I hate to knock it. We had a good time and we don't regret staying there, but I wouldn't feel drawn to go back - next time we're in Savannah we'll try someplace new.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby with 20 foot ceilings and amazing moldings you know you are in a special place. We have stayed at this and over and over again and love it every time. The great breakfast, the cleanliness & beauty of the rooms, the wine and cheese at 5:30 PM, the homemade cookies at night, the great location makes it so special. Located two blocks
from the river and two blocks from the main shopping street the Planters Inn is perfect. The rooms are attractively furnished in antiques style furniture including fourposter beds and beautiful window treatments. You will love it. By the way, fresh flowers sitting at the elevator every time we've stayed. Oh and a person playing the piano during the wine and cheese event. We have stayed at
other hotels and bed and breakfast inns in Savannah but for the value and what you get this is the best. I hope they continue their fine work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Savannah
#8 Business Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.