We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Place to Stay in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Beautiful Place to Stay in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Planters Inn is a very beautiful hotel in the center of historic Savannah. It exemplifies Southern hospitality at its best. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and enjoyed a wonderful celebration of our country's birth. Amenities and rooms are wonderful. This is our second time staying at the Planters Inn, and although our room was beautiful, we faced the parking garage, and the noise was pretty loud throughout the night. We will definitely stay there next July but will request a room away from the parking garage.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room facing the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    597
    165
    56
    38
See reviews for
274
1,127
75
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Savannah last year and stayed at the Planters Inn and loved it so much that we decided to come back for our five year anniversary and with our 11 month old. We couldn't be any happier with our choice. I had told the front desk person we were there for our 5 year anniversary and to our surprise we had a bottle of bubbly in our room.

Aside from that theinn is located walking distance from the riverfront and near a lot of restaurants, including the Pink House, Angel's BBQ and zunzis which we saw all on the food network.

As soon as you enter you feel welcomed by the staff. They also have something in the lobby, whether its ice cold lemon water or cookies. Then in the evenings the cheese and wine add another nice touch to your stay. I hope we visit Savannah again and without a doubt we will stay at Planters inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great small hotel, in the middle of everything. Rooms well appointed, a little small but still very nice. We were treated very well, had a problem with our bed and was immediately moved to another room. Concierge Karen is incredible and helped make out stay very enjoyable. We would recommend this hotel to anyone anytime. Right next to Pink House.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for my husband's 39th birthday. We were warmly welcomed, and the hotel far exceceded our expectations. It is right on a square, only about 3 blocks from River Street, but still quiet. The view isn't spectacular, but we weren't in the room much, so it didn't matter. The housekeeping staff was efficient, and the turn-down service a bonus we had not experienced before.

The only negative (and it is a slight one) was the size of the shower head -- it was very small and hard to wash your entire body at one time.

However that did not take away from our trip or our experience and I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay for the balcony room --- at 60.00 a day, it really isn't worth it --- especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. The location is great, right on one of the park squares and just two blocks back from the riverfront. It's also just a few steps away from the Pink House, which is one of our favorite restaurants in Savannah. We parked the car for the weekend and walked everywhere. As a boutique hotel, it's a nice middle ground between a generic chain hotel and a full on B&B. Our room had one queen bed and it was nice and spacious - I'd rather have that than be crowded out with two doubles. One wall was full of windows - three in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour and a continental breakfast, but we didn't partake in those. The staff was nice - friendly and prompt - so overall we had a great experience.

The one big flaw, unfortunately, is the open, multi-story parking garage right next door. It spoils the view all the way up to the sixth floor, where we were, and it bounces a lot of noise around because it's mostly open air rather than enclosed. We were okay overall but things did get a little hairy on Saturday night when the weekend partiers headed back to their cars and had to race around the structure with their stereos blasting. At that point the garage acts as a big amplifier directed at the hotel next door. If on the rooms were on the other side of the building...but none of them are. The windows on the other side are all bricked over, so no rooms there.

Overall the place is very nice and I hate to knock it. We had a good time and we don't regret staying there, but I wouldn't feel drawn to go back - next time we're in Savannah we'll try someplace new.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby with 20 foot ceilings and amazing moldings you know you are in a special place. We have stayed at this and over and over again and love it every time. The great breakfast, the cleanliness & beauty of the rooms, the wine and cheese at 5:30 PM, the homemade cookies at night, the great location makes it so special. Located two blocks
from the river and two blocks from the main shopping street the Planters Inn is perfect. The rooms are attractively furnished in antiques style furniture including fourposter beds and beautiful window treatments. You will love it. By the way, fresh flowers sitting at the elevator every time we've stayed. Oh and a person playing the piano during the wine and cheese event. We have stayed at
other hotels and bed and breakfast inns in Savannah but for the value and what you get this is the best. I hope they continue their fine work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although I only stayed for one night the rooms were comfortable, the place was clean, and staff was very nice. It was very conveniently located with in walking distance of River street. I did stump them when I asked if there was only one thing in Savannah that was a must see if you only had a few hours in town what would it be. No one could give me a definitive answer. Can't falt them for that there is just so much to experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah-Historic District
Downtown
Marshall House
Marshall House
#6 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Savannah-Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#1 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#5 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 114 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#13 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.