We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mostly great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in July. The location is great, right on one of the park squares and just two blocks back from the riverfront. It's also just a few steps away from the Pink House, which is one of our favorite restaurants in Savannah. We parked the car for the weekend and walked everywhere. As a boutique hotel, it's a nice middle ground between a generic chain hotel and a full on B&B. Our room had one queen bed and it was nice and spacious - I'd rather have that than be crowded out with two doubles. One wall was full of windows - three in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. The hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour and a continental breakfast, but we didn't partake in those. The staff was nice - friendly and prompt - so overall we had a great experience.

The one big flaw, unfortunately, is the open, multi-story parking garage right next door. It spoils the view all the way up to the sixth floor, where we were, and it bounces a lot of noise around because it's mostly open air rather than enclosed. We were okay overall but things did get a little hairy on Saturday night when the weekend partiers headed back to their cars and had to race around the structure with their stereos blasting. At that point the garage acts as a big amplifier directed at the hotel next door. If on the rooms were on the other side of the building...but none of them are. The windows on the other side are all bricked over, so no rooms there.

Overall the place is very nice and I hate to knock it. We had a good time and we don't regret staying there, but I wouldn't feel drawn to go back - next time we're in Savannah we'll try someplace new.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    520
    136
    46
    33
See reviews for
236
983
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby with 20 foot ceilings and amazing moldings you know you are in a special place. We have stayed at this and over and over again and love it every time. The great breakfast, the cleanliness & beauty of the rooms, the wine and cheese at 5:30 PM, the homemade cookies at night, the great location makes it so special. Located two blocks
from the river and two blocks from the main shopping street the Planters Inn is perfect. The rooms are attractively furnished in antiques style furniture including fourposter beds and beautiful window treatments. You will love it. By the way, fresh flowers sitting at the elevator every time we've stayed. Oh and a person playing the piano during the wine and cheese event. We have stayed at
other hotels and bed and breakfast inns in Savannah but for the value and what you get this is the best. I hope they continue their fine work.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Although I only stayed for one night the rooms were comfortable, the place was clean, and staff was very nice. It was very conveniently located with in walking distance of River street. I did stump them when I asked if there was only one thing in Savannah that was a must see if you only had a few hours in town what would it be. No one could give me a definitive answer. Can't falt them for that there is just so much to experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After staying at the inn with some friends, my feelings are quite mixed. The room was smaller than expected but very clean and the amenities were very nice. The wine and cheese hour is excellent but the included breakfast left me unsatisfied and wishing for more variety. If you are staying at the inn, ask for Tom if ever in need of something, a wonderful bellhop who will go out of his way to meet any need you may have. I have never had such excellent customer service in all my travels! Conversely, Shane, their night concierge, was found to be drinking every night, openly drinking Stella's while on shift and using the lobby to flirt with women, guests or friends is unknown to me. We had an incident at the hotel, unrelated to the inn itself, and had to call the police. The police talked to Shane and then reported to us his witness statement was useless because he was "obviously drunk". After the police left, Shane returned from the back office, opening a new Stella and offering us one because he had more. I am appalled this kind of behavior is supported by the owner and management and warn any future customers of Shane's poor customer service and unprofessional behavior. Overall, the rooms are nice and comfortable, the bellhops are excellent, but the night staff needs some adjustments if I were to feel comfortable staying at Planters Inn again. If the night doorman is drunk every night, I worry about the quality of safety he can offer me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived at 11am the woman at the front desk was able to check us in early. She was helpful and friendly. We parked in the garage next door not knowing they had a daily rate with the hotels valet. They took care of everything for us. They even allowed us to keep the car in the garage after we checked out so we could explore Savannah one more time at no additional cost. The pillows and mattress in our room 603 were hard and very uncomfortable. Plus our room was right in front of the elevator so we heard the ringing. 8am the next morning we heard 2 housekeepers who seemed to be arguing or speaking very loudly right in front of our room. Breakfast was good but bigger plates are needed. Hard to gather what you want on 4 small bread plates. Overall, location is great and the valet is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I booked with Planters because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I am so glad I did. Everyone on staff was fantastic. However, Colby stood out. He was extremely tentative and more then willing to assist us with anything.
The wine and cheese reception was fantastic. The room was wonderful; clean and comfortable.
Planters is in the middle of everything, park your car and you can walk anywhere.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a room by the parking garage. Not the prettiest view, but we didn't hear anything all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice hotel. Got a much better rate by booking through a site that hid the actual hotel until booked. We saved roughly $100 total for a two night stay. Great location, very good continental breakfast with some hot choices as well as fresh fruit. Wine and cheese with live piano music was a nice touch each evening. Great staff and service a short walk to the river front, bar area on congress street and city market. If you can walk a mile you can get just about everywhere. Most things are closer to half that far. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No pool or spa. Valet parking is 15 a day but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.