We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, shame about the service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice room, shame about the service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was lovely, although the entire window looked out onto a multi level parking garage. The bathroom was lovely and large if somewhat dimly lit. However, there were a number of issues which marred our stay. One was the 40 minute wait my husband had in our double parked car for valet parking - I think the hotel was particularly busy with guests checking in for a wedding but... if you know that's the case, maybe have more than one valet? We then ordered a room service breakfast which was completely inedible and had clearly been lying around for some time - lukewarm coffee etc and only arriving after 3 separate calls to reception when it was late. They at least refunded us the room service charge but this was a disappointment. It's a shame - I think if the hotel had not been so very busy or if the reception staff had been empowered to make things right rather than just appearing out of their depth this could have been a nice stay. Lovely city but would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    521
    136
    46
    33
See reviews for
236
984
62
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

an expensive hotel that did not deliver the goods in my opinion.
Breakfast juice served in a plastic beaker, in a windowless room with not enough tables
for the number of residents when I was there.There was no residents lounge, I was told to go outside and sit in the square when I wanted some fresh air, the lobby was not an option as it was too small and can be busy. the cheese and wine reception would have been nice had there been a spare chair for me. the location is good, the staff are charming but for the money charged it
does not represent good value. The only historic thing about this hotel is the facade and the lobby every thing else is bog standard middle of the road hotel. Its a pity really, a few changes is all that is needed to make this a really pleasing place to stay, that or bring down your prices

Room Tip: As far as I could see none of the rooms have a view, mine overlooked a multi story car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Unqualified recommendations for this hotel. From the first cordial, welcoming greeting from Sam before we ever got out of the car to the excellent and prompt check-in handled by Pam (whom I'd caught off-guard with a very late reservation only the night before), coupled with the very well-appointed rooms and the lovely, varied Continental breakfast on the mezzanine, the Planters Inn is a must. Very centrally located (including right next door to one of the beat restaurants in Savannah - The Old Pink House), it exceeds epectations all the way 'round.
Request a room on Reynolds Square...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Planter's Inn for a week on our wedding anniversary. We have nothing but positive things to say about our experience. Our room was the basic queen so we thought it would probably be relatively small since this was an older hotel and that had been our experience with most other historic hotels...However, it was very spacious and beautiful. The bathroom was especially nice with double sink and a great shower. We were greeted with a bottle of Champagne for our wedding anniversary which was such a wonderful gesture we did not expect at all. We had requested an uppper room and were given a room on top level so it was very quiet and we could see over the parking garage to Savannah. We were brought fresh ice every day, housekeeping was great... and the wine and cheese in the lobby every evening was wonderful !
The car Valet service was great, very efficient, and very much worth the daily charge..all of the valets were like hotel consierges...they were very accomodating and helpful. They gladly gave us directions and ideas for restaurants and activities. Tom gave us a great suggestion to visit Jen's pub and we enjoyed it very much. The young man on am shift gave us many directions which helped a great deal, especially on the best route up to Charleston. The hotel is within walking distance of all the best pubs and restaurants, including Lady and Son's,Churchhills, Cotton Exchange, etc.. We would highly recommend Planter's Inn to our family and friends and if we ever return to Savannah we will definetly stay there again. Our thanks goes out to all the staff for giving us such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper levels, 5 or 6...you will be high enough to see over the parking garage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have only positive views of this hotel. The room was bright and cheerful. The front desk service was crisp and effective. Daily cheese tray and a glass of wine in the lobby is a pleasant touch and enjoyable after a day of walking all over Savannah, a most beautiful city. Also the hotel is located on one of the historic squares for which Savannah is famous, a most convenient location from which to explore the city. All good!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the square...I didn't, so my view was of the 4 or 5 story city parking ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed at the Planters Inn for two rainy days in February 2013. Had a room overlooking Reynolds Square-it was fantastic! The four poster bed was high off the floor and very comfortable. The expanded continental breakfast (included in the room rate) was tasty and filling-a good way to start the day. The hotel is centrally located. It was our base for two days of walking in the historic district. Many restaurants, museums, and squares were all within easy walking distance from the inn. We look forward to returning to the Planters Inn in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Reynolds square cost a bit more but are larger and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a betterr place to stay! Historic building completely updated with modern comforts, but without changing it's historical appeal! Attention to detail in mouldings and furnishings. Gorgeous flowers and cold strawberry water avaiable in lobby at all hours. Wine and cheese in the evening, buffet breakfast in the morning and warm cookies late at night were all delicious! Bellmen were always at the ready with sightseeing tips, and Karen helped with trips and restaurant recommendations! The beds were comfortable and the rooms kept clean by a helpful and couteous staff! Location within walking distance of everything in town!

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable. No balconies anywhere is town, but no views either. Nice big windows with ade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.