We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A friend and I came down for a weekend in Savannah and we were very happy with Planter's Inn. The staff was super helpful and charming. The room lovely. We were right across from the parking lot and on Friday night it was a bit noisy with some thumping on a loose metal plate. It was probably a one time event, because Saturday night it was quiet. But on our next visit (and we will definitely come back and stay in Planters Inn) we will try for a room not facing the parking lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    495
    128
    43
    29
See reviews for
224
943
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Pros- Tom and the other valet working were friendly and helpful. They offered suggestions for dinner, gave directions and always had a smile on their faces. The lobby was pretty and inviting. Our room had a nice patio, stocked coffee/tea/water, good bath products. They also did turn down service every night bringing chocolate and ice to your room. Most of staff seemed friendly. They suprised us with a bottle of champagne for our Anniversary in our room on the first night. They offered wine and cheese reception and light breakfast. Close to riverwalk and other locations in the Historic District.

Cons-The smell of the hallway on the fifth floor. I tend to have a strong sense of smell so i didn't want to complain but even my husband who is "scent challanged" and another guest on the floor mentioned it. Smelled musty or of mildew, it rained the day we arrived so maybe thats why? It was an over powering smell as soon as you opened your room door. I didn't bother to say anything because our room was right next to elevator and I wasn't in the hall for long. The bed in our room was pretty saggy. We rolled into the middle of it together every night. (on a good note, it made me wake up early and enjoy more of the city) The front desk during registration seemed dismissive and unfriendly. She didn't mention anything about the wine and cheese or the breakfast. We only learned about it the next day when we came in during the reception. Tipping was expected at both the wine reception and breakfast. Didn't feel like I needed to complain about something because overall I was having a good vacation but feel like there are some simple things that Planters Inn could do to make this a better destination!

Room Tip: I selected a room facing the square with a balcony on the 5th floor to avoid other reviwers complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burden Lake, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This inn, despite my husband being ill with an ear infection, added to the fun of our stay in Savannah. Great staff, very nice rooms if not huge, enjoyable wine and cheese reception most evenings, good breakfast and reasonable off season rates. We walked everywhere. We parked in the public lot next door for two nights for $12 instead of the valet at the hotel that is $15 per night. Either way we never needed to get into the car. We enjoyed the old Pink restaurant next door, but there were so many wonderful choices for food within a few blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for 201,301,401,501... to get a view of the front square..otherwise the parking garage is your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Near Historic area. Would have liked to spent more time...was traveling home to NY and just stopped for a quick look. Staff was very helpful and would recommend this good location. Pink House restaurant next door was good. (also absolutely perfect weather)

Room Tip: Ask for a view ...ours was of a parking garage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice hotel with a friendly staff and a great location. The Hotel is in the historic district within short walking distance of the riverfront, The afternoon wine and cheese gathering is fun and the free breakfast is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Planters Inn. Absloute convenience for a tourist for sight seeing, great room and the beds are unbelievable with their style and great comfort. We really appreciated the extras, like ice and bed turn down which made it a very special stay. I would definitely recommend this classy accommodation to anyone. For those interested in such things, we both experienced a "guest" in the room - though it was in different ways and definitely not frightening!

Ross

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square on our way to and from Florida this past holiday season and were quite taken with the friendliness of the staff, convenient location in the middle of the historic district, and comfortable rooms. The staff was very particularly attentive and provided us with excellent service. We particularly liked the wine and cheese hour which included piano music and some interesting exchanges with the staff and other residents, the ease and efficiency of the valet parking, and the historic lore surrounding the building. The location was perfect......a couple of blocks off the main waterfront road and next to an excellent restaurant. Our stays here were two high points of holiday travels. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.