We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #17 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Southern hospitality at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our three night stay at Planter's Inn could not have been better. The hotel is well located in the historic district close to the river, right next door to a great restaurant, "The Olde Pink House" and within easy walking distance to most points in the historic district. Our room was well decorated and a comfortable size. The hotel offered a complimentary buffet breakfast which included grits, pastries, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices and hot tea and coffee. It also had a turn down service at night, with a chocolate on the pillow and a wine and cheese party each weekeday evening. Wifi was also complimentary and a computer was offered in the lobby for guest use. Best of all was the staff who were helpful, friendly, and accomodating. We wished we were in Savannah longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    957
    487
    126
    43
    28
See reviews for
218
924
58
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel - staff very accommodating, lovely ladies serving breakfast made us very welcome. Room was fantastic; nicely furnished with very comfortable queen beds, plenty of space and great bathroom. Cheese & wine reception, cookies at night, and free wifi (that can be picked up from the square) were also appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I was really disappointed and unhappy with my stay in Planters Inn the Thanksgiving of 2012. One week before my arrival, I called and reserved a room with two beds through Internet. Before reserving the room, I called Planters Inn to make sure that I will have two twin beds in the room not a queen bed. They told me I just had to make it clear under comments and I did that. We got to the room and we noticed that there was two tissues in the trash in the bathroom, an used soap and an used towel next to the sink. I mentioned that to the bell guy and the person in the front desk. Although I didn't like it, I didn't think much about and I went to have dinner. Upon our return, I saw that also the trash bin in the bedroom was FULL OF TRASH. We started to think that that room had simple not been cleaned and we complained about it. At that point we were wondering if the sheets had been changed. The person in the front desk told us that they thought that the sheets were cleaned and the cleaning lady just forgot to take the trash out. As I told them, if they were not 100% sure that was not good enough for me. I started talking to the person on the front desk on the phone. He said that there were no other room with two beds and he gave me two choices: 1. We will move to a room with a queen bed and he will bring a rolling bed and 2: he will come to the room and make the bed with new sheets. I didn't like any of the two choices. I was not paying $300 to be in a dirty room nor to be in a uncomfortable bed. At this point, I said I wanted to talk to the manager or the person in charge for emergencies. The person in the front desk told me that he was the only person I could talk to. After some delivering, I asked him to give us two individual rooms and he accepted. That was not the best choice for us since we were sharing toiletries and we wanted to be in the same room.

When I entered the new room I saw that on the bed there were two candies, an hotel evaluation and a welcome letter all of which WERE NOT in room 310. I then realized that the staff almost made me sleep in dirty sheets. Although the next day they gave us a nice room with two queen beds, I have to say that I have never in my whole life had such a bad experience in a hotel. I am sure that I was assigned a dirty room, it could happen that a cleaning lady forget the trash but I doubt she will used a soap and leave it behind along with a dirty towel.

I wrote an email to the manager telling him my experience 10 days ago and I never got a response, not an apology.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked 3 rooms at this lovely inn, and all 5 in our party enjoyed our stay. Rooms are large and nicely furnished and decorated; all was clean; water pressure was good; and we had no issues with street noise. The view is not good unless you have a park-view room; the other rooms all look out at an ugly parking garage. But the location of this inn is terrific for seeing the historic district sights, the staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, and the wine and cheese social hour was fun. The lobby area is comfortable and pretty; the breakfast room on the mezzanine is well organized, and the breakfast made most of our group happy (one of our party must avoid eggs, butter, cheese and all but non-fat milk, and so there was no protein this person could eat, but this is just a comment for others with dietary restructions, not a complaint.) I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Planters Inn again, and hope to do so on my next Savannah visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a true representation of Savannah. Great hotel, great food, great people. Don't forget to buy their set of Savannah glasses.....make for a great present. They have valet service and a great breakfast. Unfortunately, we were not able to make the wine event they have each night. They also have a restaurant next door the Olde Pink House....if you don't go you would have missed the best meal you ever would have eaten.

Room Tip: keep the fan on....some of the rooms are next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great place to stay and walk to all tourist sites. Bike rental also close by and a great way to sight see.
Hotel a bit tired but rooms were well maintained.
Staff did not reflect the general southern hospitality we experienced elsewhere. Accommodating but just that.

Room Tip: All rooms face a parking structure so not much choice but higher in the hotel is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a nice sunny room with decent sized bathroom. Hotel was central. Staff was very friendly. Was surprised when I received a knock on the door to see if I wanted water or anything. The wine and cheese in the evening was a nice touch. Continental breakfast had everything I wanted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.