We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planters Inn on Reynolds Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Save Saved
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Parking
Ranked #17 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Planters Inn on Reynolds Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at the Planters Inn this past Veterans Day weekend to celebrate our engagement. The Inn was beautiful and well kept. We loved the wine and cheese reception on the first night and the continental breakfast in the mornings. The turn down service was a nice touch as well. I believe we were placed in a room for guests with disabilites however this didn't bother us. This made the size of the room very spacious and we could overlook the added bars in the tub. The staff was warm and friendly from the minute we arrived with the bellman/valet, through checkout (with the exception of the gentleman who checked us in who seemed liked he was just "going through the motions" with us and got us out of the way quickly. The ladies who maintained the breakfast in the mornings showed true southern hospitality.

My only complaint (and you'll find this in other reviews) was the noise from the parking garage. Although we were blocks away from river street, after the bars closed for the evening around 3:30am, we could hear street racing along the side of the building, followed by several cars blaring their car horns for fun, and the bellman on the street yelling at them. I know there isn't much the inn can do about it, but that was the only major complaint about our stay. We were on the 4th floor.

For location (minus the parking garage), great service and a clean comfortable room, I would visit the Planters Inn on Reynolds Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and try to get away from the parking garage as much as possible. Only a handful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    965
    491
    126
    43
    29
See reviews for
220
930
59
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

November 8, 2012

Dear Marc,

Thank you for responding to my request so quickly, I do appreciate it.

Please pass along to your Owner/Manager my highest regards for his Inn and, more importantly, his people. I had been with your Inn from Friday, October 26th, with my best friend from Texas, and we had both intended to depart on Monday, October 29th (which she was able to do). However, because of Hurricane Sandy, all the flights to the Northeast (Boston, MA was mine) were cancelled. Acacia (not sure of spelling) at the front desk was most helpful in getting me a smaller room for another evening very quickly. Tom (Doorman & all-around go-to person) also put in place an airport taxi to get me to the Savannah airport on Tuesday...even though he wouldn't be working on that date! With all this in place, it enabled me to have another delightful day walking and seeing more of your beautiful city.

I do want you to know that I will promote your Inn to all my family and friends who are planning on going to Savannah...I also hope to be back again in the near future.

Again, THANK YOU for all your help and assistance.

Best regards,
Judy S. (Boston MA area)

PS: Thoroughly enjoyed the daily Wine & Cheese Happy Hour, especially with being able to relax and chat with some other patrons, listening to the piano player who was also very helpful in leading us to a few places of interest...please pass along my best wishes to both from me.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms I were in had multiple windows, quiet A/C and were quite well appointed...one on 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Planters Inn in Savannah has a problem with theft. On a recent stay (10/2/2012), I used their valet parking service. My car was broken into, ransacked, and personal items were stolen, including a lap-top computer, GPS, and cell phone. The car showed no signs of forced entry and the alarm never went off, and so I conclude that it was either deliberately or carelessly left unlocked. This was apparently not a rare occurence; the hotel manager told me that I would “probably find my discarded suitcase abandoned somewhere near my car in the garage” (which he did), and the police told me that they “have a problem” with this type of crime. The hotel refunded my room charge but took no responsibility for the theft, even though it was their employee who parked my car and had the key. Because of such negligence, I would discourage anyone from staying at the Planters Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manassas, va
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Lovely hotel in one of the most beautiful historic districts in the United States. Savannah's squares are each unique and gorgeous. The Planter's Inn is a beautiful gracious hotel with a lot of southern charm in an excellent location. The staff at this hotel are very kind, helpful and gracious. I wanted to leave my car and luggage at the hotel after check-out so I could do a little sightseeing and there was no extra charge. One sleeps like a baby in the luxurious beds. The rooms are meticulously clean. Complimentary breakfast was good. The wine and cheese in the evening was a very nice touch. Last, the valets and bell hops were very nice and went above and beyond the expected.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was just what we had wanted and hoped for. A quaint hotel with local charm and colour. The evening wine and cheese party was a wonderful touch - the hotel was even gracious enough to offer a glass of wine to our friends who were staying at another hotel. The rooms were small but that was expected. The view of the neighbouring parking garage was not great but there was little road noise to disturb our stay. Noise travelled through the walls but the other patrons seemed to realize this too and were respectful. The expanded continental breakfast wasn't that appealing to us so we stuck to simple fare such as cereal and fruit. The location was perfect for us as just about every thing we wanted to do and see was within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location - easy to get to, close proximity to all the main sights, parking garage right next door. Nestled on the corner of Reynold's Square gives it a romantic European feel. Once inside it is a touch of class mixed with a whole bunch of southern comfort. Service and cleanliness is impeccable, the room decor is what you would expect in a much pricier hotel. The "included" breakfast surpassed our expectations in many ways. The Planters Inn was the crowning jewel of a memorable stay in Savannah.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basye
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our 1st trip to Savannah and could not have picked a better hotel for a 2 night stay. Very easy to walk to waterfront, tour the historic district and walk to restaurants. Great service from entire staff, especially Marc the gen. man. and Tom the doorman. We recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: choose a room facing Reynolds Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.