We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catching up with an old friend - Planters Inn on Reynolds Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Planters Inn on Reynolds Square to your Saves list
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save
Ranked #16 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Port Huron, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Catching up with an old friend - Planters Inn on Reynolds Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

After a 10-year absence, we had the opportunity to visit Savannah. In the past, Planters Inn had always been our place to stay, so we booked a standard room for two nights. We arrived in Savannah super early and decided to head to the hotel to stow our bags if we couldn’t check in. The front desk representative, housekeeping and bell staff quickly worked together to get us in a room immediately. Room 206 has a gracious Southern inspired décor, large bathroom, and comfortable bed. The Planters Inn is a giant rectangle and only the ‘short side’ faces the square. The rest of the hotel and yes most of the rooms, face the nearby parking garage. The garage isn’t great to look at, but it’s quiet.

The hotel’s services are what we like best. From the more than above average continental breakfast, to daily wine and cheese reception and nightly turn down with ice delivery, the Planters Inn seems focused on welcoming each and every guest.


Check out went as smoothly as it possibly could at 10:00am on a Sunday. Valet parking is at the garage across the street. During the height of check out, quite a log jamof guests waiting for their car can occur. Please pack your patience and head out to the curb to enjoy 5 more minutes in lovely Reynolds Square. The hotel staff really hustles to get each car as quickly as possible from the garage to the front of the hotel (no small feat I am sure with all the one way streets). As we got closer to the time we needed to return to the airport we returned to the front desk and explained the situation. An employee behind the desk immediately grabbed our keys and got the car. Southern Hospitality indeed.

  • Liked — The services and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    521
    136
    46
    33
See reviews for
236
984
62
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

I've spent half my adult life in hotels and could easily write boring complaints about nearly any of them. I travel without an expectation for perfection.

I'll visit Savannah in February and have a great time without being even slightly concerned about my treatment at The Planter's Inn. They’re no different than any hotel management -open to any reasonable requests and resolutions when things go wrong. It's their business to please. You just need to exploit their vulnerability to a genuine smile.

However, I might complain to Mayor Johnson about really wet weather or if Paula Deen doesn't fry my chicken herself.

RossCove

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed at the Planter's Inn for 4 nights this January. The room was very nice. It had a 4 poster bed, nice bathroom and southern "charm." Great location to access everything. The staff were very helpful. We loved Savannah and when we return, we will stay here. Only recommendation I would make is to do a little bit more cleaning.

  • Liked — location and friendly people
  • Disliked — No soda machines
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aewright24
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

I loved the fact that the Planter's Inn was so close to everything. I went to Savannah with my boyfriend, and since we are both college students, we didnt have much money to spend on the hotel. After lots of research we chose Planter's Inn for its location, its price, and for the appeal. Its very cute on the outside. If you are claustrophobic you may not like the rooms, they are pretty tight, but they do have all the amenities you need.

The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact that it was kind of old. The bed creaked, the elevator kind of creeped me out, but other than that, its very reasonable for the price. Parking was an issue though, but a very small one.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — its kind of old, parking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, FL
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We read through all the mixed reviews here but decided to give The Planter's Inn a shot anyway. First, it's located right on one of the squares just a hop from River Street and a few blocks from City Market. You can walk to everything from here.

The hotel maintains the historic district charm in the lobby and in the rooms. Every amenity we needed was there but we could never get a decent wireless signal in our room or the lobby. The staff was very nice and accomodating. We ran into what I believe was the hotel maintenance guy in the elevator every day and he asked us every day if everything in our room was ok. The evening cookies are fantastic!

Parking isn't bad at all. On the weekends, you can park on the streets for free. We parked right around the corner on Broughton St. During the week, you have to feed the meters or park in a garage. We parked in the garage right next to the hotel for $10. And when I say right next, I mean right next. When you look out the window of your room, you see the garage. It's a shame such a nice hotel with a little higher price has such an ugly view. To create a positive, we parked on the same floor of the garage and was able to keep an eye on our car very easily. Speaking of parking, I'm not sure where the "complimentary" part of the valet service comes from. It costs $11.95 a day to use the valet who just parks your car in the $10 garage. We never used the valet but had an $11.95 charge on our bill for the first night. I brought it to the hotel's attention when we checked out and they simply removed it, no fuss.

Overall, Savannah is a beautiful city and the historic district is great. The Planter's Inn makes you feel like you're experiencing the history and we really enjoyed our stay.

P.S. We ate at the Pink House restaraunt next door and the food was fantastic! Their specialty is a flounder dish that was deeeeeelicious.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Poor wireless internet connectivity
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

My wife and I decided to make a long weekend in Savannah- we were looking for a spot not too far from Rochester NY to relax after my heavy travel months of September and October. This was a "throw the dart at the map" kind of trip- we booked this hotel after some internet searching.
After we booked it- I checked this site out and noticed quite a few mixed reviews- but we kept our plans. We are glad we did- the city was fabulous and the Inn was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, hard to understand some of the reviewer's comments otherwise. The view of the parking garage was not the greatest, but who had time to notice? Location was great- easy walking to everything but not on the main drags. Rooms had nice touches. A great spot for couples like us.
All-in-all, one of the best weekend trips and hotel stays we have had in our 20+ years together!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

This is a great location and we had a wonderful time. The Planters Inn is located in the historical part of the city. One block away from the busy waterfront but quiet. Reynolds Square is right across the street from the hotel.

The hotel room was large and the full bath was spotless.

The hotel breakfast started our mornings with a choice of coffee/tea, eggs, cereal, pastry, toast, muffins, bagels and more. In the early evening (5:30 to 7:30 PM) free wine, cheese and crackers. After the wine and cheese, we would go shopping and dining on the water front, two blocks from the hotel.

We hope to return next year.

  • Liked — Quality and size of the room
  • Disliked — View of the parking garage.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Planters Inn on Reynolds Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn on Reynolds Square

Address: 29 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Planters Inn on Reynolds Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
To sleep in the epicenter of the city's beautiful historic district, book some time here, on Reynolds Square. The Planters Inn offers elegant rooms, great service, and a jovial wine and cheese reception where people linger each afternoon. For a view, ask about one of the rooms overlooking Reynolds Square Park. Better yet, step outside the inn and get lost among the azaleas and architecture. Just make it back for your dose of wine and cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Planters Inn on Reynolds Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Inn On Reynolds Square Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel Savannah
Planters Hotel On Reynolds Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Planters Inn on Reynolds Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.