We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Included!
Ranked #12 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am a Kimpton loyalist and Inner Circle member. Once again they exceeded their own reputation for service and the boutique hotel experience.

I had a suite on the 3rd floor. It was designed so beautifully! I wanted to move in on the spot. I loved overlooking the courtyard at night (I brought my chair and my wine outside on the veranda) as they have these lights strung across the property that make it magical. Ross made my stay exceptional from the first phone call giving him my number advise me when my room was ready as I was already in Savannah, to the greeting I got when I arrived and every time I saw him thereafter. My Inner Circle in-room treats were done with great humor and fun and (finally), I didnt have to identify myself as an Inner Circle member and ask for my "chefs special treat". It just arrived when I dined. Thank you so much Ross! Keep rocking the bow ties!

Room Tip: Top floor, suites overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    35
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
61
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for three nights on a "flash sale" deal.
We arrived at the wine reception which was good (for the wine!) and bad (because it was a bit busier). Initially we were put in a room which faced inside to the courtyard but I asked for a change and we were accommodated which was lovely.
Staff were lovely and friendly - the wine happy hour is lovely and we met some other guests there which made for a nice chat. The advice on where to eat was mixed (sent to a rather more touristy area on the first night) and what to do was good.
Room was lovely (a bit small but too be expected in the historic centre of Savannah) and the hotel had an overall more intimate feel than a "chain" hotel.
The pool was not ready but sign posting everywhere - frustrating!
I love staying at a Kimpton as the decor is different and snazzy and would definitely put this on the list to stay again if we visit Savannah.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces outside rather than into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is in walking distance of many great areas to explore, including the river front. The rooms were clean, and I loved the contemporary decor. My favorite thing about this hotel is the beaitiful court yard. It is the perfect place to relax with a glass of wine after a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location to stay if you want to tour the historic district of Savannah. To start off our 4 days, being a Kimpton rewards member provided us with wifi and a slight discount using the mini bar. The staff at the Brice was fantastic, beginning with Christie, Maurice and Rodney, they especially come to mind first as being top notch in their jobs. The hotel which just recently opened offered all the amenities of a five star hotel. There were just a couple things that could be done to improve what they currently have. One thing I found a bit inconvieient was trying to power up all our electronic devices. The location and number of accessible receptacles could be a bit better. One idea might be to provided a power strip near the TV's. The other item worth mentioning is the bathrooms. Traveling with another couple we both had king suites but the bathroom in our suite was pretty much not user friendly. We had a bathroom and shower in our bedroom area but the sink and mirrors etc. were in another room. Somewhat a bit cumbersome. Our friends who traveled with us had a larger bathroom, shower, jacuzzi tub, sink etc all in one area. That room was much more user friendly. I do realize the Brice was remodeled from a mulch older hotel and maybe some of things mentioned were just not able to be accomplished. Another thing that would be nice would be to have a continental breakfast, they do provide coffee and tea and a nice wine happy hour from 5 - 6 P.M. with some appy's. My mention of the breakfast only comes after viewing the amenities from other nearby hotels that do have them.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a bit more noisy. If requesting a king suite, ask for the one with the...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very environmentally conscious, and does follow environmental concerns.
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am a Kimpton member and generally love the Kimpton hotels. When I read the excellant reviews on this property I was very exited to stay here. However, it just wasn't as great as I had hoped and maybe my expectations were just too high. First the bad, when we arrived at 1 our room was not ready. No big deal. The clerk told us that he thought a room would be ready in an hour and someone would call us when it was ready. So 3 hours later at the 4 clock check in time, we went back to the hotel and the room was ready, but no one called to let us know. I also requested a coffee maker and it never did make it to our room. Our room was nice, but the bathrooms are very small. Now the good. The customer service is general is pretty good and I did like the decor of the hotel. The courtyard is lovely and once the pool is open that area should be really nice too. Overall a little disappointed, but it was still a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch L, General Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Indiana1231,

Thank you so much for choosing the Brice. I also want to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and for being a loyal Kimpton traveler!

Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests and in your case we did not and I apologize for that. We have reviewed your comments with our team to make sure they understand the importance of following through on our guest's requests.

I hope when your travels bring you back to Savannah, you will give us another chance to show you we are the Kimpton that you know and love!

Mitch Linder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Brice in October 2014 for a Bachelorette weekend. I can't say enough about the exceptional staff. From the moment we arrived, everyone bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable and unforgettable. The valets were so helpful, told great ghost stories, and helped a big group of girls with our never ending luggage with a big smile. Mo was especially awesome- he went above and beyond the call of duty. The front desk staff was warm and accommodating, and we even received an early check-in, free drink coupons, and an upgrade to a suite for one of our rooms. The hotel itself couldn't be in a better location, walking distance to everything - we only needed a cab once! The hotel is so fresh and bright- the decor is modern yet comfortable. The rooms are very large for a historic downtown hotel, clean, and plenty of amenities. The beds were HEAVENLY! Despite a little noise from the street (block w/ ear plugs or white noise), I slept like a baby. We even had the best breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and the sweetest waitress. The hotel also has a nightly wine reception and you can take the wine to go. Overall, the staff and the ambiance of the Brice hotel made our friend's Savannah Bachelorette party such a wonderful weekend and an unforgettable trip. True Southern hospitality! I would stay their again in a heartbeat if I ever find myself lucky enough to re-visit Savannah.

Room Tip: Sign up for their rewards program to receive free in-room wi-fi. We had a beautiful view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
E_TNgrl_W_NCboy- Thank you so much for the awesome review! Anytime I see the words "exceptional" "unforgettable" and "HEAVENLY" it gives me goosebumps. I'm beyond thrilled that you and your bachelorette posse enjoyed themselves to the extent that you did!! Please don't hesitate to come and see us again anytime for any occasion! Thanks again and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templepatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location. Just on the edge of the historic district and a few minutes walk from the water front.
Super clean and comfortable hotel and wonderful friendly staff. Enjoyed the breakfast and the complimentary drinks from 5 to 6 in the courtyard.
Just love Kimpton hotels!

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Ann F- Thank you so much for the fantabulastic (ok, I may have made that word up) review!! It's always rewarding to see such wonderful words, because everything that you stated is our mission at Kimpton and the Brice. Thank you so much again, and please don't hesitate to come see us again the next time you're passing through. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#9 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#10 Family Hotel in Savannah
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
#33 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel is a sophisticated, new addition to historic Savannah. This four–star, boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia is located on Washington Square near the River District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry Inn Savannah Ga
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.