We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Minimalist Chic in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Included!
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Savannah
Lexington, SC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Trendy Minimalist Chic in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very attractive décor in this boutique hotel. Friendly and helpful personnel. The pool, which is outside, is still under construction. Liked the feel of the inner courtyard very much, which has a variety of seating: white wire chairs and attractive tree stump accent tables, patio umbrellas, couches and lounges, very nicely done. The room was a nice size and attractively furnished. The beds were super comfortable with luxurious bedding. I wish there was additional storage in the sink area to put our cosmetic and toiletry bags. The armoire (beautiful) in the room came complete with a yoga mat, nice touch. Even though we faced the street, it was very quiet. We were ideally located right across from the park and entry down to the Riverfront. Very convenient. Street parking around the hotel, however is a bit difficult, but you can always pay the doormen to park it for you. The description of the hotel said that they had free bike use for their guests, yet they only owned 1 bike ... what's up with that??? Glad to see they had a happy hour in the lobby, free wine (white and red), but with cheap tortilla chip hors d'oeuvres not a worthy item to serve ... how about an assortment of cheeses instead?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    29
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
52
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the get-go this gorgeous little buzzy boutique hotel got it right.

As you enter into the lobby you'll be totally wowed by the gorgeous, in vogue interiors & attention to detail every which way you turn. To top it off all the staff we encountered were friendly, courteous & totally accommodating. Our room was nothing short of gorgeous. Minimalist, beautiful decor & furniture & a lovely outlook over the courtyard which was strung with relaxed summer evening fairy lights adding to a carefree, relaxed ambiance. The one detail I noticed that didn't entirely line up to the room was the bathroom. The water pressure & temperature seemed to be lacking, the decor felt a bit tired already & there was a hint of a sulphur scent lingering.

The afternoon drinks -synonymous with kimpton hotels - in the courtyard was wonderful. We met two groups of people, one couple whom we hung out with during our visit to savannah which really enhanced our stay. Thank you kimpton for fostering these low key, relaxed social gatherings!

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Camnicsydney- Thank you so much for the sensational review! It is always a blast to see that guests made new acquaintances during our hosted "Social Hour"! Hopefully y'all will be joining each other again in the Secret Garden for years to come. In regards to the bathroom facilities, I do apologize that it did not live up to the standards of the rest of the property. We do have our chief engineer looking into any and all water pressure/temperature issues. Please feel free to reach out to me if you'd like to discuss further at 912-238-1200. Once again, thank you so much for the fabulous review! Please feel free to come and see us again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful hotel! Prime location near riverfront and easy walk to a variety of restaurants and shops . The pool was not finished and this was a bit disappointing. Very pet friendly and beautiful secret garden area. The wine served during wine hour was cheap and the appetizer (complimentary ) was lack luster but overall nice rooms. I overheard the valet arguing with each other about who had the last customer etc. and some very unprofessional comments (profanity )were made. For the price the valet staff should exhibit more tact.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Brice is a hip hotel amongst the Savannah squares. Our room was comfortable, with a clean, modern feel. Fortunately old school Southern hospitality didn't get lost in the translation. Everyone from the front door on was uniformly friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. The Brice is located in the northeast corner of Savannah's historic district. It's a bit farther from the center than, say, the Holiday Inn Express, but walking around Savannah is half the fun. They also have a bike you can borrow, which is great, but there was only one. (Hint, hint, Brice, y'all need to get a few more!) For the price of a generic chain hotel, we had a special lodging experience in one of the most beautiful cities in the U.S.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with entry from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Blueridgebiker- Thank you for the tremendous words from your stay at the Brice! We loved the kind words you had regarding the staff, as they take great pride in showing guests what true southern hospitality is all about. In regards to the bicycles, I do apologize that we only had one available during your stay. We are in the process of getting a whole fleet, so be ready for some biking next time you're here! Please come back and see us anytime you'd like. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been staying in Savannah for over 11 years visiting from Hilton Head Island quite often with my wife. Our stay at the Brice in the Premium King Suite, Room 325, did not live up to our perceived expectation that Kimpton properties our premium boutique hotels. The room's decor was transitional 60's modern chic with many cheap elements that were meant to be appeal to the senses but were nothing but ordinary and out of place. The Brice misses the mark in four areas: 1) The lighting is the room is CFL bright white, think bright workshop fluorescent! There is nothing colder or romantic about this type of lighting in a hotel room. I felt as if I was staying in a utility closet with brights lights! 2) The living room or parlor area of the suite lacked any source to play music. The front desk indicated I could move the iHome radio from the bedroom if I wanted to play music. The manager further commented the hotel just doesn't have enough outlets in these rooms to accommodate additional equipment. That comment was confusing since the hotel is undergoing a multimillion dollar renovation attempting to appeal to an upper middle class demographic! A premium suite should have a Bose radio or equivalent for guest entertainment to help soften the coldness of the room 3) The Brice could take a lesson from some of the other hotels in the city (The Andaz) by offering complimentary nonalcoholic beverages in the room. I want a boutique and special feeling at a property that touts itself as one of the best loved boutique hotels with a passion for making it personal. 4) The location is not the best. It is on the outskirts of the historic district. For the aforementioned reasons I can't suggest the Brice. It is essentially an ordinary hotel with boutique pricing. The Brice should rethink its boutique concept so it can actually appeal to its targeted market in Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice, small place to stay while in Savannah that is pet friendly. The hotel was very clean and the room was very nicely decorated with a big couch and rocking chair. The staff was also very nice. There is a beautiful park across the street and a nice restaurant inside the hotel that made a great breakfast. The only thing we didn't like about this hotel and prevented me from giving it 5 stars was no free wi-fi. After staying at several hotels on my 2 week vacation/drive from NYC to Key West was this was the only hotel that did not offer free wi-fi. They should at least offer it free on 1 or 2 devices like other high end hotels we stayed at. Also, my husband lost his Ducati sunglasses after valeting our car there. He insists he had them in the front of the car where he always keeps them and realized they were gone when he went to put them on after we drove away. I really do hope that one of the valets there didn't take them and that my husband just lost them as the valets there were very nice and friendly young men. However, our overall experience was nice and we would definitely stay here again if we ever revisit Savannah.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Nikkichikk- Thank you for the sublime review from your recent stay at the Brice! We sincerely appreciate the kind words regarding the staff and property. In regards to the wi-fi, we do offer complimentary wi-fi when you sign up for our Kimpton Karma rewards program, and I do apologize that this was not properly expressed to you upon check-in. I have spoken with my valet team regarding the lost sunglasses, and unfortunately we have not found any sunglasses. We will definitely keep our eyes open though, so please don't hesitate to give us a ring. Thank you again for the review, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

To start this review, I have to preface that I am a Kimpton Kharma member which means I try very hard to stay at Kimpton hotels if the price is right. This hotel is a welcome addition to Savannah. I should say a welcome and much needed addition. The interior is funky ( as most Kimptons will be) but also very comfortable. I love the white book spines used as decorations in the lobby. The rooms are well insulated which is great since we were located on side facing Bay Street. We only heard the fog horn on the freighter in the morning but it was kind of comforting considering we moved to SC from the California coast.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Arlene F- Thank you so much for the awesome review! It was wonderful to see that you appreciate the funkiness that we here at the Brice try to emulate! Please don't hesitate to look us up again next time you're in Savannah, and thanks again for the kind words. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#10 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#11 Family Hotel in Savannah
#33 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel is a sophisticated, new addition to historic Savannah. This four–star, boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia is located on Washington Square near the River District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry Inn Savannah Ga
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.