We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of traffic noise!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Included!
Ranked #17 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beware of traffic noise!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is situated on one of the busiest roads in Savannah and all the queen/queen suites face the road. We were assigned one of these rooms and could not believe how noisy it was. The windows are not double/triple glazed .
We asked to move but as we were a family of 5 , we could only be accommodated in this room type. I suggested they give us 2 rooms in the quiet part but the fuss the hotel made about doing this was disappointing. Eventually, it was agreed but this was a bad start to our holiday and had taken over an hour to sort.
The standard rooms were fine with good air con but the hotel is quite a distance from the "main" part and we did encounter a lot of homeless and weirdos!
Hotel tried to charge us extra at check out for the other room so again took a while to sort.

Room Tip: Do not get a main road (E Bay street) facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful boutique hotel in a great location, literally a stone's throw from River Street. The staff is amazing. Even though we had booked our room through Hotwire at a reduced rate, we were treated like royalty. I mentioned that my wife and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary when we checked in, and they gave us a complementary upgrade to an absolutely amazing King Suite. As if that weren't enough, we came home from a night out on the town to find a handwritten card offering congratulations along with two pieces of cheesecake and a bottle of wine. This was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first stay at The Brice. The room was inviting and comfortable and the beds made us want to go out and buy new mattresses for our home! The people on the staff we spoke with were kind and helpful. The food (breakfast) at the restaurant was fabulous. There are plenty of squares closeby and we didn't have to walk far at all to get to the places we wanted to go.

The only downside to staying here was the ridiculous cost of valet parking. On-street parking is hard to come by and the management knows it. I don't care how competitive the price is, $25 per night is too much.

We may not stay here the next time we're in town, but only because we like to try new places. I would recommend the Brice to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Co-hosted a meeting at The Brice. Very nice meeting room with above average decor and wonderful food. Staff was professional, timely, accommodating, and respectful. I would use this hotel again from a meeting. While I didn't spend the night in the hotel I will add - - staff looked sharp! Very southern charm in seersucker and bow ties. Lobby area was a bit small (I viewed the set up for afternoon wine) but if the weather is good there is an excellent outdoor courtyard enclosed on 4 sides by the hotel. Very nice outdoor space. Don't let the exterior of the hotel fool you - - it doesn't look like much because the building started life as a Coca-Cola bottling plant. But, inside is soothing white on white decor with modern touches and nice art.

Room Tip: Join Klimpton frequent traveler program (for free) and you get free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What they did to the inside of this hotel was amazing! The Brice is a refurbished hotel. We found it on one of the discount websites and had never stayed at this hotel chain before. At first, we were nervous. The exterior looks like an old office building. You could tell that the hotel was refurbished (old ice machines) as you walked to your room, but they did a lovely job. They spared no expense. Our room was incredibly spacious and though the hotel was refurbished, they went out with the old and in with the new. The room is spotless, with a contemporary design (but not over the top). The pillows were fluffy and the bed-side table was packed with power/charging outlets including USB. The A/C worked great.

This place is clean, clean, clean. There are nice little touches in design features (such as great pillows and bathroom setup). There are robes and a yoga mat. We had a HUGE room (we were in 321). Reception was friendly and helpful. There were lots of kids and pets and so it was a very welcoming environment. The pool was not open, so we cannot comment. They had a lovely courtyard and a very popular restaurant (but we did not eat there). They have a wine reception in the pm (but we missed it by a few minutes when we checked in). They have juice and coffee in the morning. The water pressure was fine and there are two shower heads (one stationary and one hand-held), which is a nice touch.

Some tips/reflections: The hotel entrance is on Houston Street, so don't look for a big entrance on East Bay.

We were a bit disappointed that the valet did not acknowledge us when we pulled up. We were dragging bags out of our car and had to walk up and interrupt chit chat for assistance. Parking is $24 for valet, but they indicated nothing was in the immediate area for alternatives except meters. While there are public hotels, this is at the far end of East Bay and it was about 97 degrees, so we opted for valet. The guys were very friendly when interacting.

You have to sort of look for the front desk. Just a note, you have to walk past the restaurant and take a left. We arrived at about 6:30pm and we were weaving through a very loud restaurant crowd waiting for their tables trying to find it. We walked into a main room, and it is tucked away on the left.

We have a door that goes to the adjacent room. We can hear the actual conversations between the couple about whether or not to do her hair again. Of course, we suspect they can hear ours as well.

The hotel is at the FAR end of East Bay Street. If you walk directly across the street, you are at River Street and it is so beautiful. It is literally a stone's throw from the river front. We walked down River Street on the way to dinner, but we took East Bay Street back. Don't do this. Just walk on the river. This hotel is a bit off from the main part of East Bay, so we walked past a stretch of vacant and rundown store fronts after a section of Bay Street where you had to fight your way through a nightclub crowd of men cat calling the women, and lots of loitering. You would never know/see this if you stick to walking on the river, which is well populated with other tourists walking up and down the river front. There was even a wedding in the beautiful park across from the hotel, so the area is very beautiful.

We can hear/feel the cars driving down our end of the hotel, but we are on the corner of East Broad Street, so only a fraction of the rooms are on this busy road. We knew we would not get a room on the side of the hotel with any view since we got it at a discount. This was true, but our room did not disappoint.

If you sign up to be a Kimpton member (free through their website), you get free wifi.

We were extremely pleased and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for any room not on Broad Street if you don't want a little vibrating and noise. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We've traveled a lot and stayed at many different hotels. So, when we booked too late to stay at the Riverside Marriott which was hosting a big ILA conference that we were in Savannah for this past week, my fiance' and I were a little skeptical because we had never stayed at a Kimpton Hotel before. I usually don't say this, but so glad we were procrastinators this time and booked late. WOW! The Brice had me as soon as I walked into the lobby. The library and the courtyard were my favorite. Simple elegance at it's best. We both feel that our experience of this conference in Savannah was much better because the hotel was smaller, more intimate and away from the noise of the other conference goers. ABSOLUTELY gorgeous! Our room was beautiful, clean and the bed was so comfortable, falling asleep was never a problem (I usually can't sleep my first night's stay at a hotel). I want mention by name Rodney, our bellman, who checked us in the first day; pleasant and helpful. And Maurice, our bellman our last day, took our things to our car upon leaving. They both went over and above to make sure we were well accommodated. Such a unique experience, from the rooms, to the restaurant to the many, many books in the library and lobby...oh, and let's not forget the seer sucker bath robes. Only one comment of advice, hurry up with the fitness center. :-) After being so spoiled at the hotel, the fitness center that is hosting your guests for workouts was disappointing and far away. But still glad you have a backup plan until yours is ready. Looking forward to our next Kimpton Hotel experience. My best, D from Wilmington, NC

Room Tip: Corner room was very spacious and great view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm writing this review from the hotel. Another stellar Kimpton property!
We stayed here during a stop on our way south. Have been in Savannah often and love the city. I waited to book the hotel because the rates seemed high. However, with the AAA discount, the rate was more approachable than many including budget chains.
But the main event is the hotel. This is a refurbished boutique property. I booked a premier king and was delighted when we were upgraded to a suite! This gave us a fabulous living room, stellar bath and a lovely, contemporary bathroom. The furnishings are al very retro comfortable with lots of good lighting and seating. The bath is amazing! Lovely tub, walk in shower and fabulous lighting, mirrors, etc. The bedroom features a canopy style bed with a very cotemporary nod. The bedding and robes are first rate and we slept extremely well. The rooms were quiet except for the street noise (our room faced East Bay). if that is an issue, ask for a room on one of the other sides where things are quiet.

The best part of the entire stay though, is the staff. From the valet, door staff, registration, housekeeping, everyone -- always smiling, polite and so very, very helpful.

We at dinner at the restaurant, and I will be reviewing this separately. The dinner was very good.

Two negatives that I would like to point out are the lack of accessible outlets in the living room area -- could not plug in my laptop there, although there is a fine spot on the desk in the bedroom; and the lack of a fan in the bathroom. There are fabulous mirrors in the bathroom, but they all fogged up and the floors get slick, so lots of the wonderful towels were needed.

I have become very fond of Kimpton properties after staying at several last summer in California. I do wish there were more of them. This is a stellar choice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#11 Business Hotel in Savannah
#13 Family Hotel in Savannah
#27 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel is a sophisticated, new addition to historic Savannah. This four–star, boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia is located on Washington Square near the River District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry Inn Savannah Ga
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.