We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking Only $12
Ranked #17 of 112 hotels in Savannah
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First let me say that I am a loyal Kimpton member. This hotel lived up to the name. We reserved a Premier King. The room was not very large but of adequate size.The bed was too large for the size of the room. The tub was the size of a small pool, almost too large to relax in. The bar and restaurant were nice. The hotel was beautifully decorated but the layout was confusing and inconvenient. In order to get to our room, we had to go through several doors and down an outside hallway.
This said, I have to say that this hotel does not belong in Savannah. It is too modern. We could have been in any large city, so much so that we changed hotels for out last night so that we could fully experience Savannah's charm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here based on the fact it was a Kimpton hotel, even though it was brand new. It needs time to mature. The punch list, missing surrounds on sprinkler heads, etc. has not been completed. The service was spotty at best. The assistant GM did what she could, but they still are sort of the gang that can't shoot straight yet. I think they will get it squared away, but it is not there yet.
Also, if you are looking for a place that is traditional, this is not it. The room decor is distinctly modern and spare, which is not my style.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We were really excited that priceline was able to secure this hotel for us. We called ahead & asked logistical questions (how much is held on our cc, bed selection, etc). We were travelling for our anniversary as we've done almost every year. We were checking in and the employee says that they have to hold 75 PER night on the card. Which equates to 225 for our 3 night stay. These are things that should not only be outlined on priceline (especially after booking the hotel, these details matter). Additionally, I wasn't advised as to this hold when I called and asked, I was only advised that the 25 /nt for parking would be charged to the card. We did somethING diff this year. We brought only one card pre loaded w the amount of money we'd planned to spend (in an effort to stay on budget and not over spend on our outings and stay). I budgeted for the 75 parking fees but NOT the additional. So this amount was taken off of our spending money. We were not happy. The person checking us in could care a less about our dilemma. To top it all off, the person checking us in announced "so you booked your room with priceline so loud tht everyone around us heard (rude). One lady even asked how much Id paid for the room.
The room: the room was just ok. Sure, nicely decorated. But more like "lipstick on a pig". The bathroom was so tiny you couldn't open the door while siting on the potty. The tub was filthy. Literally, the rub was dirty and looked old. They advertise that if you've left something g at home to ask and they'll have it brought to you. Right before midnight, we called down for towels, wash cloths and soap. They were delivered on 3 different trips to our room over the next 30 mins.
By this point, we were aggravated. Frustrated. And decided the next time we visit the area we will stick with either the Hyatt or Bohemian where we were treated like guests & there were no surprises. Also, you get an actual key upon check in for the mini bar. The room also has a snack bar on the desk where they sell their snickers for a whopping 5 bucks. Also, not a tourist hotel as most guests are dressy. Just wasn't a relaxing experience. We spent a lot of time making sure we weren't getting charged for some thing we shouldn't be only to get home and realize that we were charged for water and snacks that we refused to even touch. Next time we'll stick to our tried and true hotels on river street. This hotel is nothung like the others in the area and that's certainly not a good thing.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is doing great. They have some bugs to work out but the hotel is nice. Our room was in great shape and the people were very friendly. Wish we would have known the pool was not open yet but the staffs friendliness more than made up for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First, I have to say that the hotel is beautiful, clean and modern. There is a great modern library atmosphere right when when you walk into the hotel.

We stayed in a room that had two queen beds and it was great. The room wasn't cramped, the beds were very comfortable, and vanity outside the bathroom had a makeup mirror. Also the rooms have an umbrella for you to use during your stay. I have to say that I loved the gray, white and green tones of the room. We had a room that overlooked the courtyard which was nice, but unfortunately we were on the 1st floor and felt like people could see in if we were to leave the curtains open. The only real negatives we had was that the armoire/closet still smelled like paint and the pool was under construction.

The staff is great from the valet to front desk. All were very friendly and willing to help you however they could.

The hotel is located on the far east side of downtown area, but it is still within walking distance of most places you want to go to (if it's not too hot out!!!).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Boyfriend and I went to this hotel bidding from Priceline, was pleasantly please with how CLEAN and oh so comfy the beds were! The staff was incredible and they all seem to be super friendly and knowledgeable about the hotel and the surroundings. And they were so accommodating to trying to help you to get to anywhere you would like to go or know about the area! They go out of their way here, parking is so convienent and east with the valet. The Restaurant on site was amazing also, perfect for breakfast. The only one thing about this hotel is they are fairly new, so just make sure you remind them perhaps for the in room service menu to be picked up. I think they are still getting organized but we were not there to knit pick! WE WERE THERE TO HAVE FUN And relax and we are going back in just two weeks this time for a week now because 4 days was not long enough! this place rocks by far! MUST GO!... BEAUTIFUL TOO!

Room Tip: the standard room was just beautiful. Was not disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
audrey m- Thank you thank you thank you! I love seeing awesome reviews like these!!! All the comments made me proud to work for this company and especially this property!! We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future!!! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited 9-12July. Hotel is clearly new, which explains their rating. Once more people visit this place it WILL rise. Valet was super. Check in was quick. Public areas decor was VERY creative and well done. Room was super clean, nice toiletries, beds were REALLY comfortable. The outdoor area in the middle of the hotel was way cool and very comfortable. Every server we had was great. The restaurant is "northern" Italian, aka no red sauce. Food was good to great, I just prefer southern Italian. All the flatbreads were very good (I tried them all). Maid service was efficient. I wholeheartedly recommend the Brice. Easy walk to all of Bay st., SCAD, etc. Also the manager's reception from 5pm-6pm was quite nice: Good wines for free!

Room Tip: The wifi is free if you sign up for their loyalty program. It was painless and free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross P, Front Office Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
RTWin80days2008- Thanks for the excellent review! I wish I had time to comment on every awesome thing you said.....but I'd be here for days! Thanks again for the spectacular words, and we look forward to hosting you again!!! PS- I prefer southern Italian too. Don't tell anyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#15 Family Hotel in Savannah
#29 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#32 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel is a sophisticated, new addition to historic Savannah. This four–star, boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia is located on Washington Square near the River District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mulberry Inn Savannah Ga
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.