We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful property, tad noisy at times” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 111 hotels in Savannah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location, beautiful property, tad noisy at times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - it was a last minute fall back booking after our initial property didn't work out so pleased that they had room at all!

Pros:
Spacious rooms (we stayed in a 1br king suite without young son)
Free parking if you sign up for Priority Club (free to do so)
Perfect location across the street from the river (and Pirate's House restaurant - a must for young ones!)
Allow dogs (if you're so inclined)
Very courteous and friendly staff

Cons:
-Our room (253) was directly across from one of the elevator engine rooms - so any time the elevator operated, the noise was very noticeable even from the back bedroom. Fortunately the hotel was fairly quite by 1130PM during our stay but it is a very noticeable noise. Would recommend avoiding this room if you are disturbed by much noise
-Walls generally quite thin between rooms, so barking dogs, even muffled conversations from other rooms can be heard at times. Overall not a big deal for us but noticeable

Room Tip: Avoid room 253 if booking King Suites - right next to elevator engine room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    174
    52
    30
    23
See reviews for
130
239
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this room because of good reviews and location, and we enjoyed our one night stay. It may not be the newest one around, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only negatives were that I told the lady at the desk that I parked on the street, yet she gave me a parking pass and a $12 charge for parking appeared on my bill at checkout. But, they were willing to remove that charge. And, I thought for sure I read that they provided a free continental breakfast, but it was about $7 each, not free. That was unepxected and probably my mistake for not doing more research. So, for three of us, that was about $25 extra. Other than those things, it was just great and we would stay again, if there was not a free breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear tomfromal,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Mulberry Inn and enjoyed it immensely! The staff were helpful and pleasant and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The wonderful pianist and the delicious goodies in the lobby in the afternoon were a charming surprise and much appreciated after our day of sightseeing. Savannah is a beautiful walking city and one of our favorites. We will definitely return and will definitely stay at the Mulberry Inn when we do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My son and I just returned from a three night stay at the Mulberry. I have nothing but positive things to say. Clean rooms, quiet, great staff, comfortable beds. You will not go wrong by staying here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My family enjoyed the stay in the city. The hotel was clean and the employees very nice. The location is close to everything desire able in the historic district. Clean & safe area with convenient parking.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Mulberry with a group of friends for St. Patrick's Day 2013. It was our first visit to Savannah. This hotel and staff were perfect for us. We will definitely be returning to Savannah. It would've been a high-stress week when we visited, but the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable and at ease. When we asked for suggestions, they were right on. We were not disappointed in anything. Hotel was clean and all of the staff were above and beyond. We were especially appreciative of Mitchell, William and the woman in charge some evenings (sorry, we didn't get her name). LOVED this city, these people and this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Building is neat, room really nice EXCEPT if you are planning on sleeping you can FORGET IT! THE BED might as well be in the middle of a 4 lane highway (and its not even a weekend or holiday) The manager on call was not very kind !! The hotel takes dogs for a fee - mine is standing in the room because of all the noise and she is a very easy going dog! NO SLEEP TONIGHT! 3/28/2013 Do not stay here if you plan on sleeping!

They hand you a letter on checking in and I quote" If for any reason you feel you would be unable score our hotel a "10" please feel free to contact me or the manager on Duty... Your Satisfaction is Our Main Goal"
signed Mitchell A. Linder General Manager

Guess he has never spent the night in room 185!
and yes, the letter had a typo on it between unable and score.
I have been traveling from Il. to Ga for 3 days and this by far is the worst hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 185!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 22jblue,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our room.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed, noise and customer service which was unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Mulberry Inn Savannah Ga
Holiday Inn Savannah
Savannah Holiday Inn
Address: 601 East Bay Street, Corners of Bay and Houston Streets, Savannah, GA 31401 (Formerly The Mulberry Inn)
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#12 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#21 Business Hotel in Savannah
#29 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel is a sophisticated, new addition to historic Savannah. This four–star, boutique hotel in Savannah, Georgia is located on Washington Square near the River District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brice, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.