We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off + FREE Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My son and his family and I stayed at the Marshall House for the wedding of my niece Megan. We are originally from Savannah, so for us coming home was very important. We were very familiar with the downtown area and enjoyed revisiting many of our favorite spots. And the wedding reception was beyond our expectations. Everything was so beautiful and tastefully done. The food was wonderful.
We enjoyed everything about our stay: a courteous and helpful staff, wonderful valets to take care of our car, great room service, all enhancing an extraordinary downtown location.
I would definitely stay there on another trip home. It is a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    359
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
217
710
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Awesome stay. EVERYONE was extremely friendly. We would go back for sure and take friends with us. Only thing, we would request a room on the second floor for the veranda. Loved it :) We did not find it haunted but we heard a few noises probably the wood floors. :) Go and enjoy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Marshall House with another couple for 3 nights during the St. Patrick's Day festivities. The location was perfect: close to shopping, dining and all the beautiful architecture of the historic district of downtown Savannah. Once your car is parked, you will enjoy walking everywhere in this beautiful city. The hotel was everything we hoped for and more. The staff are so welcoming and helpful and I can't say enough about Charles and Joseph at the front desk. Our rooms were lovely, the complimentary breakfasts were delicious, and it was a nice perk to have complimentary bottled water delivered to our rooms each day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Checked into room 405 with husband and 5 year old for two nights. Marshall House is in the perfect location near the river and within the historic district, close to shops such as Paris and Kate Spade and many great restaurants. We were drawn to the history and southern charm of this hotel from the 1850's. Our room was small but beautifully furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was in the lovely glass atrium that truly felt like old Savannah. When we checked in, the painting of the original owner, Mary Marshall, seemed to be sizing me up with a penetrating stare. When I asked about it, the friendly front desk provided me with several pages of the hotel's history as well as several pages of ghost stories! As I stayed up late reading, I heard many strange noises in the hallway outside, such as a woman walking on a wood floor and a baby crying which coincided with the stories. I was too afraid to open the door to see if anyone was actually there. I would stay there again, as the room felt welcoming....

Room Tip: The 4th floor apparently has had the most paranormal activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Loved the Marshall House! The rooms are small but that was not an issue. It was noticed more in the bathroom where there is not a lot of counter space, if any. Certainly not a deal breaker for us! The uniqueness and character of the place outweighed the size of the rooms. Staff was friendly and willing to arrange dinner reservations at the local restaurants or a pickup for the on-off trolley. Everything was so close, there was no need to get your car out of the parking garage. The wine/cheese in the evening in the comfy den made it feel more like home instead of a hotel. I recommend it highly and would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the roof on the 2nd floor. Not a good view - but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

There was a wedding on our second night in the hotel. While we appreciate the need for everyone to enjoy their nuptials, it would have been nice if the ownership had shared that a wedding was planned. We loved the proximity to the city's historic district and restaurants...the hotel was just very loud....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Many of the same comments as others reviewers--rooms are small, staff is pleasant, location is great for visiting the historic district. Water pressure is low and there is some noise from within the hotel. Our room faced the street, that noise was not as loud as I would have anticipated. Very nice public areas with newspapers, chess, and backgammon all available. I would stay here again if visiting Savannah.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.