We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
We Invite You to Compare
Ranked #6 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

While driving to Savannah, we chose Marshall House at the last minute based on tripadvisor recommendations. We were able to get a king superior room on the third floor overlooking Broughton Street. We were afraid it might be a bit noisy but had no problem sleeping in an extremely comfortable bed. The room was more than large enough for an overnight stay but the bathroom might be a bit crowded if you have a lot of bathroom "stuff."

The social hour in the afternoon was a nice opportunity to meet others staying at the hotel, and enjoy a modest variety of wine, cheese and crackers. Breakfast was lovely, but if you are a big eggs and meat breakfaster, this is not your style. Instead there was a choice of two quiches, four cereals, three juices and all the other normal breakfast options. The atrium where breakfast is served is delightful. The hotel is within easy walking distances of many historical houses and museums. The staff -- parking valets, desk clerks, Neil the concierge, and the wait staff -- are truly nice, in a very genuine way.

The reviewers who failed to appreciate the creaky floors, less than square rooms and other characteristics of a well restored 19th century building are missing a lot! And we didn't get to meet a ghost, more's the pity.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    382
    74
    32
    15
See reviews for
226
768
45
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Marshall House for one night in late January 2014. The hotel was great-- in a historic building, tastefully appointed, central location, and helpful staff.

We stayed in a suite overlooking the street-- the room was large with a separate sitting room. The decor was nice, and the bathroom, which including a shower and a separate tub, was just fine. There was a communal balcony you could walk out onto from a large window, but we never ventured since it was cold. For the price, I thought it was a great room and value.

There was a wine hour in the evening with light appetizers, and we enjoyed playing checkers in the sitting area. The breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about. I had a drink one night in the adjacent bar-- the bartender was a bit eccentric, but his manhattan was great.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location, comfort, historic building, and value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Lovely historic building. Great ambiance. Comfy bed! Hotel within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and The Coffee Fox, which I need to give 5 stars next. Spur of the moment weekend getaway to savannah. Hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Room 420 quiet and private, view of the roof, though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Most of the time you never think of he small things when you travel. We were tired and we pulled right up to the hotel and from that moment on, we didnt have to life a finger. Great location, clean. priced right and the doorman could have been a tour guide. Bring cash cause the service is so good, you will want to tip everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I travel to Savannah at least once a month for work, and I always stay at the Marshall house. It is an incredibly well preserved historic building with an exceptionally service oriented staff. The rooms are not large, but are quaint, and feel more like home than any other hotel in the area. I highly recommend the Marshall House!

Room Tip: They say the third floor is haunted, but I have tried to no avail to be haunted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sauk City, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel was beyond our expectations. Great location, right in the middle of the historic district with restaurants and shops in area. Close to the squares. We did the walking tour of the squares. Great service, very helpful with suggestions and directions. Great complimentary breakfast, including juices, breads and pastries, eggs, quiche, yogurt, good coffee. We never left hungry. They also offered complimentary wine/cheese in the evening. The room was cozy and clean. A great historic hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I spent three days in Savannah and chose the Marshall House as our base of operation. The location was perfect, great for walking all around historic Savannah. The desk clerk was pleasant and gave us a great recommendation for dinner. The valets were extremely pleasant and cooperative. We enjoyed the wine and cheese in the evenings and the breakfasts in the attractive atrium. The room was nicely decorated and quite clean. The only negative was a lack of counter space in the bathroom. It was hard to shave or put on makeup. I will stay at the Marshall House again the next time I visit Savannah!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
#10 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.