We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, but won't pass the white sock test” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off + FREE Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Kent, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, but won't pass the white sock test”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Marshall House in September 2013. The staff was absolutely fabulous! Very helpful and friendly, they greeted us by name each time we walked in the door.

The breakfast spread was very nice - they had a variety of breads and bagels, an egg dish, hot cereal, cold cereal, yogurt, fruits, pastries, biscuits and more each morning. Wine hour was so relaxing each afternoon, so nice to come back after a day of touring and relax with wine and cheese.

We had a king balcony room. The clawfoot tub was very cool, and the balcony was so relaxing. I made it a point to go out there each morning and evening and I never saw another person on it - it was very private. I made use of the wifi and took my iPad outside for a peaceful time of surfing and catching up with friends.

This being reputedly a haunted hotel, I did have an experience during the night when the bed started shaking. It kind of freaked me out but I eventually went back to sleep with no harm done. :-)

The only downside was the lax housekeeping. The first night I cut my leg shaving and got a smear of blood on the sheets. That blood was still there when I checked out four days later, so we never had our sheets changed. The room looked clean, but walking barefoot earned me black feet at the end of each night.

All in all, the location couldn't be better nor could the staff be more friendly or welcoming. I would stay here again, but I think I would be a little more insistent about cleanliness at the start.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    364
    72
    32
    15
See reviews for
219
731
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

An outstanding facility, staff was helpful and very friendly. Everything within walking distance. Awesome historic area. Bar was very comfortable and inviting. Would recommend this hotel as well as Savannah as a destination point. Breakfast was filling, variety of choices. Wine and cheese reception was a nice touch as well. Overall an extremely nice place. Just wish I could have seen a ghost or two...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated. The lobby was very comfortable and inviting. Most of the staff was pleasant and hospitable. Unfortunately we changed rooms 3 times due to the size. I understand historical buildings pose a challenge because of the size of the rooms, however the furniture was way too big for the rooms and made it too cramped. There was no space to place toiletries on in the bathroom and it was too difficult for two people to function. We ended cutting our stay short because we just couldn’t get comfortable.
Our room was #323, which had two windows, both looking straight into a parking garage.

I thought the Marshall House was beautiful and I really wanted to like it there, but unfortunately the rooms were not comfortable at all. I think it would be fine for one night, but not for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Room 323 faces a parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Marshall House for one night on a Sunday. Our room was a Queen on the top floor overlooking Broughton Street. A nice mixture of furniture in the room made it very inviting. Wine and cheese reception in the evening was a nice touch. A lot of history in this beautiful building. Conveniently located to walk the historic district from the river front to the Savannah squares. Abundant restaurants and shops with in a five minute walk. Hotel has valet parking but there are public parking garages very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryson City, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

we have been to savannah many times and stayed at different places, some ok some not so ok. we have finally found the best place to stay every time we go there. from the start Jackie took my reservation and I felt as though she was a friend. she gave me all the details that I needed and made me look forward to meeting her. upon arrival the desk clerks found her for me and she rushed to introduce herself. we had a wonderful stay, the room was beautiful and extremely clean. the entire hotel is just wonderful. the breakfasts were fresh, wholesome and delicious. the wine and cheese gatherings were so nice and all the guests were such friendly people. I unfortunately got sick the day before we were to check out, plus we had paid for tickets for the dinner cruise on the paddlewheeler. my husband informed Jackie and she told him not to worry about anything we would be credited on our card for the last day and she called and spoke to someone at the dock about the tickets and informed my husband that he could return them for a refund. she went so far beyond just an employee. what a lady. but I can honestly say all of the employees were so gracious and hospitable. also the room was so quiet at night, I never heard one noise, which is unheard of in a hotel. thank you marshall house, I will never stay elsewhere again. ginny and bobby bonnette, Bryson city, n.c.

Room Tip: we stayed on the fourth floor at the end of a hallway. I never heard a sound at night. even during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

On the way home from a road trip to Florida, we decided to take a quick look at Savannah. We chose this historic hotel because of its location and good reviews. From the welcoming valet service to the helpful concierge to the charming room - high ceilings, original wood plank flooring, comfortable bed with quality linens - we were delighted. Monday through Thursday the hotel provides complimentary wine and cheese in their lounge area - it was a nice chance to relax and talk with other guests. The best piece of advice we got was from the concierge, who could not get us a table at the Olde Pink House until 9:45 pm. Instead he suggested that we try their basement piano bar -- same menu served on first come first served basis. It was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur Springs, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Oldest hotel in Savannah. Well kept up. Extremely welcoming staff. Excellent location and good prices. Nice wine reception in the late afternoon and a good variety of breakfast selections. The staff was helpful in providing ideas for activities and restaurants and transportation. They found us a taxi when our shuttle from the Blues Festival was unavailable
.

Room Tip: The double rooms are small, but well-decorated and comfortable. Not much of a view, but we were out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#7 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.