We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so friendly it made up for alot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marshall House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marshall House to your Saves list
Marshall House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% Off + FREE Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Savannah
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“so friendly it made up for alot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Checking in was great,as Charles the front desk guy was super friendly and warm. He took care of every need and question and helped guide us to some great destinations. The bellhops were all so friendly and generally the whole staff had a smile on their faces! The room size was a little lacking but was in keeping with the historic theme.

Room Tip: Stay on the Main street side of the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    359
    70
    32
    15
See reviews for
217
708
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marshall House this past Thanksgiving holiday and loved it! The rooms are small but very quaint. The bed was increadible and we loved sinking into after long days of walking around the city. The free breakfast was a nice way to start out each day and the free wine and cheese was a great way to start off very entertaining evenings! The staff were wonderful, they even helped us make dinner and ghost tour reservations!

The location is great for just leaving the car in the garage and enjoying strolling through the city squares. We cannot wait to return to Savannah and enjoy another great stay at the Marshall House!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my second time in Savannah. I had previously stayed at another B&B run by the same parent company. Both were very nice places, just a different feel to them. The Marshall House has more of a motel feel than a small B&B, which works just fine for us. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was small, but we weren't in our room very much anyway. Bed was very comfortable. Location was perfect to walk to everything. We parked our car in the ramp right behind the hotel. We purchased a visitor parking pass while we were there, which saved us money on the parking. Breakfast was nothing special, but it was nice to have that included. It's nice to stay in a historic landmark rather than a chain hotel when you are in a beautiful city like Savannah!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at The Marshall House. The rates are very reasonable and our room was very quaint. It is definitely smaller than modern hotel rooms, but nicely appointed. Our bathroom had a claw foot tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We only ate the included breakfast one morning and it was very good. The quiche was delicious. We enjoyed the fresh lemonade in the lobby during the afternoon. The location is perfect and within walking distance of all the places you would want to go. Yes, we could hear the people in the room above us, however, this hotel is over 150 years old so that is to be expected. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I always stay at the Marshall House when I'm in Savannah! The location is perfect for walking through the parks or going to RiverWalk. Having priced other places in the vicinity, it's a great value considering the wine & cheese social and the buffet breakfast are included. There's also the historic aspect of the place - and the ghosts, though I encountered none on the last trip. There is a parking garage around the back, but if you have lots of bags, I recommend the valet parking which is worth the $15 to save your back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very quaint hotel in the middle of Old Savannah. There are many restaurants within walking distance and it is only a few blocks from the river. The rooms are small and the A/C unit is loud but we were very comfortable and would return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our daughter is a junior at SCAD so we travel to Savannah a few times a year to visit. During our first few visits to the city we stayed at a few other hotels. Once we stayed at Marshall House we never have stayed anywhere else. The location can not be beat. The rooms are great. The mattresses are so comfortable. The people who work here are delightful. The bar is nice. The restaurant is unbelievable. We just love this hotel. We never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall House

Address: 123 E Broughton St, Savannah, GA 31401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#5 Family Hotel in Savannah
#15 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Savannah's "Best Boutique Hotel 2014" by Savannah Magazine, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi, breakfast and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the 2014 Expedia Select honor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marshall House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.